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Connecticut Department of 
ENERGY & 
ENVIRONMENTAL  
P R O T E C T I O N  

Commercial Menhaden Fishery Possession Limit Decrease 
NOTICE 
Menhaden: 

Effective 0001 hours Friday, November 04, 2022, the directed fishery for menhaden is 
closed in Connecticut. The incidental fishery remains open with a 6,000 pound possession 
limit. 

REMINDERS  
American lobster: Fall closed season (both commercial and personal use) remains in place 
through November 28. The minimum length is 3-3/8 inches. 

American eel: No possession limit. Minimum length is 9 inches. 

Black sea bass: 5,000 pounds from trawl net; 600 pounds all other gears except lobster pots. 
Black Sea Bass License Endorsement required. Possession limit is 60 pounds from lobster pots when 
in possession of lobsters when the Lobster Management Area 6 (Long Island Sound) fishery is open, 
mandatory weekly call in requirement. Endorsement holders may not land 60 pounds of black sea 
bass from lobster pots in addition to the prevailing daily possession limit for endorsement holders. 

Bluefish: 1,200 pounds. 

Jonah crab: In the commercial fishery no Jonah crab less than 4.75 inches carapace width may be 
possessed or sold. Possession of egg bearing Jonah crabs or crabs from which the eggs have been 
removed is prohibited. Jonah crabs must also be landed whole. Landing claws only is prohibited. 
Possession of more than two loose claws per body is prohibited. The possession limit in non-trap 
fisheries is 1,000 crabs. There is no possession limit in the lobster pot fishery. (Connecticut licensing 
statutes do not allow crabs to be taken by pots other than lobster pots.) In the recreational fishery, 
there is a 50 crab daily possession limit and possession of egg bearing crabs or crabs from which 
the eggs have been removed is prohibited. There is no minimum size limit in the recreational 
fishery. 

Smooth dogfish: 500 pound possession limit. The fishery will close when 100% of the quota has 
been landed. Commercial fishermen in state waters and in possession of a valid state commercial 
fishing license can eviscerate and remove the head and all shark fins of smooth dogfish while at 
sea provided smooth dogfish make up at least 25 percent, by weight, of total catch on board at the 
time of landing. Such fishermen may retain other sharks on board provided the fins of other shark 
species remain naturally attached to the carcass through offloading. 

Spiny dogfish: 6,000 pounds. Spiny dogfish are managed under a regional annual quota. The 
fishery will close when 100% of the regional quota has been harvested. 

Summer flounder: 12,000 pounds from trawl net (call in / call out required); 1,000 pounds all 
other gears – Summer Flounder License Endorsement required. 

Tautog: Through December 24th the limit is 10 fish for Principal and General Commercial Fishing 
License holders and 3 fish for Restricted Commercial Fishing License holders. All commercially 
harvested tautog must be tagged prior to landing or offloading. Applications for tautog tags can be 
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accessed using this link: Commercial-Tautog-Tagging-Application.pdf (ct.gov). The tautog season 
will close December 25, 2022. 

Weakfish: 100 pounds all year. 

Winter flounder: 50 pounds or 38 fish unless the fish were taken in federal waters under a federal 
groundfish permit. 

The possession limits listed above apply to the aggregate of all persons on board the vessel per trip 
or per day whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of these species between vessels at sea 
is prohibited. In any instance where there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel 
carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to 
have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not 
on board. When any person on a vessel is commercial fishing, the commercial possession limit 
applies to the entire vessel and no person on that vessel may also possess fish under a recreational 
creel limit. 

For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status: 

Call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits or see: 
www.ct.gov/deep/TL. 

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in 
an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial 
fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, 
although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In 
such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible. 

The information provided in this notice is a summary of possession limits and other general rules 
only. For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see: https://portal.ct.gov/-
/media/DEEP/fishing/commercial/marinecircpdf.pdf , or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program 
by email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or leaving 
a voicemail at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday. 

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal 
Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. If you are seeking a communication aid or service, have limited proficiency in 
English, wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint, or require some other 
accommodation, including equipment to facilitate virtual participation, please contact us at 860-
418-5910 or by email at deep.accommodations@ct.gov. Any person needing an accommodation 
for hearing impairment may call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711. In order to facilitate 
efforts to provide an accommodation, please request all accommodations as soon as possible 
following notice of any agency hearing, meeting, program or event. 
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