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Commercial Summer Flounder Landing Limit Increase

NOTICE

Effective immediately, the landing limit for the commercial harvest of summer flounder
caught in trawl nets is increased from 7,000 pounds per week to 10,000 pounds per week.

e Each weekly period will begin on Sunday at 0001 hours and end 7 days later on Saturday
at 2359 hours.

e Call-in / Call-out is required under weekly landing limits: prior to departure and again prior
to offloading call EnCon Police at 860.424.3503 (24/7) and provide vessel name, Captain’s
name, departure date, return date, port of landing and prior to offloading the hail weight
of summer flounder and black sea bass onboard.

e For all other gears the possession limit remains 1,000 pounds.

The transfer of summer flounder between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any instance where there
is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one person when the
catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the
vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. When any person on a vessel is
commercial fishing, the commercial possession limit applies to the entire vessel and no person on
that vessel may also possess fish under a recreational creel limit.

For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status:

Call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits or see:
www.ct.gov/deep/TL.

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in
an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial
fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes,
although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In
such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.

The information provided in this notice is a summary of possession limits and other general rules
only. For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see: https://portal.ct.gov/-
/media/DEEP/fishing/commercial/marinecircpdf.pdf , or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program
by email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or leaving
a voicemail at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal
Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with
Disabilities Act. If you are seeking a communication aid or service, have limited proficiency in
English, wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint, or require some other
accommodation, including equipment to facilitate virtual participation, please contact us at 860-
418-5910 or by email at deep.accommodations@ct.gov. Any person needing an accommodation
for hearing impairment may call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711. In order to facilitate
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efforts to provide an accommodation, please request all accommodations as soon as possible
following notice of any agency hearing, meeting, program or event.



	Effective immediately, the landing limit for the commercial harvest of summer flounder caught in trawl nets is increased from 7,000 pounds per week to 10,000 pounds per week.
	 For all other gears the possession limit remains 1,000 pounds.
	The transfer of summer flounder between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any instance where there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to hav...
	For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status:
	Call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits or see: www.ct.gov/deep/TL.
	The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provid...

