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GUIDELINES FOR PERSONAL USE LOBSTER FISHING IN CONNECTICUT 

(Rev. 4/2024) 
PERSONAL USE LOBSTER LICENSE  ..........................................................................  $60.00 
10 PERSONAL USE LOBSTER POT TAGS  ....................................................................  $2.00 
CLOSED SEASON: SEPTEMBER 8 THROUGH NOVEMBER 28 
AUTHORIZES THE LICENSEE TO: 
Take lobsters from Connecticut waters for personal use, not for sale, by the use of not more than ten lobster 
pots or traps, by hand, by skin diving, or by SCUBA diving. Personal use license holders may not set, haul, 
or have in the water more than ten pots per day. 

LICENSING AND NUMBERING REQUIREMENTS 
A license is required by any person engaged in taking lobsters by hand, skin-diving or SCUBA diving. No license is 
required by those who accompany and assist the license holder when setting and tending pots or traps, however, the 
license holder must be present when pots or traps are set or tended. A license to take lobsters from Connecticut waters 
is required to bring ashore or possess on the waters of the State any lobsters except when such lobsters are brought 
from ashore or obtained from a person licensed to take lobsters. Persons not licensed to set or tend lobster pots are 
prohibited from these activities. A licensed lobster fisherman must have written permission from the owner on his person 
in order to possess, tend or set the pots of another fisherman. Both fishermen must be holders of the same type of 
lobster license, and no personal use lobster license holder may haul a total of more than 10 pots per day. 
Licenses must be carried by the license holder during all times that the holder is engaged in the permitted activity. A 
numbered license plate will be issued with each license and must be displayed from all vessels used to take lobsters. 
Divers taking lobsters without the use of a boat must have the plate and their license available for inspection at their 
shore-based point of entry to the water. Pot tags, purchased with your license, must be permanently affixed to a main 
frame or uncut wire mesh on the top of the pot, excluding the door. In addition to the pot tags, your license plate number 
must be legibly branded on the top of all live cars, lobster pots and similar devices, in figures not less than 3/4 inch in 
height. If a used lobster pot is purchased, do not remove the former owner's number; simply place your number in the 
pot in the prescribed manner and retain the bill of sale as proof of purchase. The license plate number must also be 
branded or painted on all lobster pot buoys in figures not less than 3/4 inch in height. All of your lobster pot buoys must 
be the same color or pattern of coloring (to be selected by you). You must display one of your buoys in a conspicuous 
position when engaged in lobstering (i.e., on a pole mounted on the bow or cabin of your boat), so that it is visible from 
all directions. 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
A daily record of lobstering activity is required on the form provided for this purpose. The form must be submitted at the 
end of the year. A report indicating "did not fish" is required if you did not lobster during the reporting period. Persons 
failing to report will be prohibited from renewing their license. 
Individually identifiable catch information is confidential and protected by the Connecticut General Statutes from 
disclosure for any reason other than fisheries management, research, development, and conservation law enforcement. 

TRAP TAGS 
All Personal Use Lobster License holders who intend fishing lobster pots must have a trap tag placed on each pot. If you 
did not obtain the tags with your license, you must complete another application and return it along with a check for $2 
to the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection License & Revenue Unit, PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 
06371. These tags will be valid from January 1 to December 31. If you are a SCUBA diver and will not fish lobster pots, 
you do not have to purchase tags. The pot limit for holders of the Personal Use Lobster Licenses remains 10 pots. 
Personal Use Lobster License holders who wish to acquire replacement tags due to loss of pots must complete the 
Request for Replacement Trap Tags Affidavit. DO NOT use a fishing license application form to request replacement tags. 
If you do so, the form and your check will be returned to you.  
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR PERSONAL USE LOBSTER FISHING IN CONNECTICUT 

1. The personal use lobster license authorizes you to 
take lobsters only from the Connecticut waters of LIS. If 
you intend to take lobsters from waters outside of Long 
Island Sound, contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program 
(860-434-6043) to be informed of applicable federal laws 
for lobstering in waters of the U. S. Exclusive Economic 
Zone (EEZ). There is a possession limit of six lobsters per 
person on board a recreational or dive vessel in the EEZ.
2. Lobster pots used in Connecticut waters must have 
an approved escape opening in the parlor section of the 
pot. The escape vent must be in an unobstructed location 
and must measure at least 2" by 5-3/4" rectangular or 
must consist of two 2-5/8" or larger circular openings. 
Lath spacing is an acceptable means of venting 
traps but warping or swelling of lath is no excuse for 
having a vent less than the approved dimension.
3. Wire or plastic lobster pots used in Connecticut 
waters must have a 3-3/4" X 3-3/4" escapement opening 
on the side or back of the "parlor" (catch compartment) of 
the pot and the opening must be covered by a panel which 
is degradable, or which is held in a closed position by 
degradable fasteners. If the panel is constructed of wood, 
it shall be composed of wood not thicker than 3/8" and shall 
include a rectangular opening of 2" X 5-3/4". If the panel is 
made of wire or plastic, it can be hinged and must be held 
in the closed position with uncoated, ferrous wire not more 
than 3/32" diameter or with untreated natural fiber (e.g., 
cotton, sisal, hemp, or manila). Note that federal rules may 
vary on the location of such panels. If you intend to set pots 
in the EEZ, contact The DEEP Marine Fisheries Program 
for current rules.
4. Lobster pots may not exceed 22,950 cubic inches, in 
any combination of length, height and width.
5. Possession of female lobsters bearing a v-notch mark 
at least one-eighth inch (1/8”) in depth and tapering to a 
point in the flipper to the right of the center flipper as viewed 
from the top and rear of the lobster is prohibited. 
Possession of any female lobster which is mutilated in a 
manner that could obliterate such a mark is prohibited.
6. It is required that lobsters be measured in such a way 
that the body shell (carapace) is at least 3-3/8 inches in 
length and not greater than 5-1/4 inches. Lobster gauges 
measuring 3-3/8 inches between the points are available  
at certain local outlets. It is recommended that this type 
of gauge be used and that it be checked 
frequently for accuracy. The following procedure should be 
used to measure lobsters: Insert one end of the gauge in 
the rear of the eye socket (to the rear of the eye "stalk"). 
Hold the gauge vertical and parallel with the centerline of 
the body shell. If the gauge does not reach the rear end of 
the body shell, the lobster is legal. If the gauge fits over the

shell, it must fit tightly to be legal. Any movement between 
the gauge and the body shell indicates that the lobster is 
less than the minimum legal length and must be returned 
to the water. 
7. The possession of any lobster less than the minimum
legal length (3-3/8 inches carapace length) or greater than
the maximum legal length (5-1/4 inches carapace length)
or the possession of any lobster bearing external eggs or
the possession of any lobster from which eggs have been
removed is prohibited. These lobsters must be released to
the water immediately without avoidable injury.
8. Lobsters taken by SCUBA divers must be measured
immediately on capture. Those taken by license holders
other than SCUBA divers must be measured immediately
on removal from the gear used to take them.
9. The landing or possession on the waters of this state
of any portion of a lobster including meat, claws or tails is
prohibited except when legally brought into such waters
from ashore or except for immediate personal
consumption. When taken by fishermen who have a
federal lobster permit or a Connecticut license endorsed
for lobstering in the EEZ, lobster parts may not be
possessed regardless of where the lobsters were taken.
10. Setting or tending or assisting in the setting or tending
of any lobster pot or lobster holding car from one-half hour
after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise is prohibited.
11. Placing the buoys of lobster pots in U. S. Coast Guard
marked navigable channels is prohibited. The setting of
fixed fishing gear, including the buoys of personal use
lobster pots (unbuoyed pots are exempt), is prohibited in
mooring areas from May 1st through October 15th, and
throughout the year in "fairways" if such areas are defined
in an approved Harbor Management Plan. For the
purposes of this regulation, "fairway" is defined as a harbor
channel that is not marked by USCG channel markers but
is designated as a navigation channel in an approved
Harbor Management Plan. A mooring area is defined as an
area in which vessels are commonly moored with
permanent mooring tackle. Consult local authorities for
information on any approved Harbor Management Plans.
12. The use of spears or hooks of any kind to take lobsters
is prohibited. Possession of lobsters taken by any method
that pierces the shell is prohibited.
13. Most finfish may be taken from personal use lobster
pots for personal use. However, they must adhere to the
sport fishery minimum lengths, creel limits and closed
seasons. The taking of blue crabs and striped bass by
lobster pots is prohibited.
14. The closed season for lobster in Long Island Sound is
September 8 through November 28. All lobster gear must
be removed from the water during the closure.

For further information, contact: 
      deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov       https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP-FishingLicense 

DEEP MARINE FISHERIES PROGRAM   (860)434-6043 
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