HISTORIC PRESERVATION COUNCIL MEETING STATE HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICE DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT Wednesday, March 3, 2020 @ 9:30 am

The Connecticut State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) presents the following record in accordance with the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), specifically Sec. 1-225. (Formerly Sec. 1-21), which states "The votes of each member of any such public agency upon any issue before such public agency shall be reduced to writing and made available for public inspection within forty-eight hours and shall also be recorded in the minutes of the session at which taken." The full minutes of the public meeting shall be finalized and posted separately on the SHPO's website as soon as they are completed.

On a roll call vote to reorder agenda item XIII.a. after agenda item V.d. and before agenda item XI.

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman
- 7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher

Agenda Items

- V. State Historic Preservation Grants Action Items
 - a. Survey and Planning Grant, Arts and Crafts Association d/b/a Gallery 53, Condition Assessment for 53 Colony Street, Meriden

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser

- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman
- 7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher
- b. Survey and Planning Grant, New Milford Trust for Historic Preservation, Condition Assessment for 34 Main St, New Milford

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 4. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman
- 7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher
- c. Survey and Planning Grant, Middlesex YMCA, National Register Nomination for 99 Union Street (the Northern Middlesex Y Building), Middletown

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 4. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher
- d. Partners In Preservation Grant, CT Trust for Historic Preservation d/b/a Preservation Connecticut, CT Olmsted landscapes documentation, State-wide

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 4. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman
- 7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher

VIII. Old Business

a. Historic Restoration Fund Grant, First Church of Christ Congregational in Suffield, exterior painting of wood trim, Suffield (Item V.b. on 2/3/2021 agenda – tabled until 3/3/21)

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 4. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher

IX. Threatened Properties

a. 151-153 East Main Street, Clinton

Members Voting Yes: 7

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Dr. Margaret Faber
- 3. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 4. Ms. Karyn Gilvarg
- 5. Ms. Christine Nelson
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman
- 7. Dr. Walter Woodward

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Chairwoman Sara Nelson

Members Absent/Not Voting: 2

- 1. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 2. Ms. Kathy Maher