HISTORIC PRESERVATION COUNCIL MEETING STATE HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICE DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Wednesday, January 10, 2024 @ 9:30 am

The Connecticut State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) presents the following record in accordance with the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), specifically Sec. 1-225. (Formerly Sec. 1-21), which states "The votes of each member of any such public agency upon any issue before such public agency shall be reduced to writing and made available for public inspection within forty-eight hours and shall also be recorded in the minutes of the session at which taken." The full minutes of the public meeting shall be finalized and posted separately on the SHPO's website as soon as they are completed.

Agenda Items

V. State Historic Preservation Grants – Action Items

A. Unfinished Action Items

1. Historic Restoration Fund, Durham Public Library, Front steps replacement, Durham

On a motion by Ms. Adusei, second by Ms. Burgess, the Historic Preservation Council voted to recall this item to the table for discussion. This item was previously tabled in September 2022.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 1. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 2. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 3. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell Absent
- 2. Mr. Tom Elmore Absent
- 3. Ms. Sara Nelson Absent
- 4. Ms. Deanna Rhodes Absent

On a motion by Ms. Acly, second by Ms. Glaser, the Historic Preservation Council voted to approve this item.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 7. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 8. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 9. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 10. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 11. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 12. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

2. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 5. Ms. Marguerite Carnell Absent
- 6. Mr. Tom Elmore Absent
- 7. Ms. Sara Nelson Absent
- 8. Ms. Deanna Rhodes Absent

MOTION PASSED

B. New Action Items

1. Survey and Planning Grant, New London Landmarks, National Register Nomination for Desant Houses, New London\

On a motion by Dr. Horowitz, second by Ms. Adusei, this item was called to the table for discussion and approved.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 1. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 2. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 3. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 0

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Mr. Tom Elmore

- 3. Ms. Sara Nelson
- 4. Ms. Deanna Rhodes

MOTION PASSED

2. Survey and Planning Grant, City of Ansonia, Condition Assessment for Ansonia Opera House, Ansonia

On a motion by Ms. Acly, second by Dr. Horowitz, this item was called to the table for discussion and approved.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 1. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 2. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 3. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell
- 2. Mr. Tom Elmore
- 3. Ms. Sara Nelson
- 4. Ms. Deanna Rhodes

MOTION PASSED

3. Historic Restoration Fund Grant, Chester Public Library, Repointing and boiler, Chester

On a motion by Dr. Glaser, second by Dr. Sportman, this item was called to the table for discussion.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 1. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 2. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 3. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell Absent
- 2. Mr. Tom Elmore Absent
- 3. Ms. Sara Nelson Absent
- 4. Ms. Deanna Rhodes Absent

On a motion by Mr. Butkus, second by Ms. Acly, the Historic Preservation Council voted to revise the motion to table the item until the March 6, 2024 meeting.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 7. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 8. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 9. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 10. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 11. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 12. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

2. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 5. Ms. Marguerite Carnell Absent
- 6. Mr. Tom Elmore Absent
- 7. Ms. Sara Nelson Absent
- 8. Ms. Deanna Rhodes Absent

MOTION TABLED

4. Historic Restoration Fund Grant, The Wintonbury Historical Society, Window restoration and carpentry repairs, Bloomfield

On a motion by Ms. Adusei, second by Ms. Burgess, this item was called to the table for discussion and approved.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 1. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 2. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 3. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell Absent
- 2. Mr. Tom Elmore Absent
- 3. Ms. Sara Nelson Absent
- 4. Ms. Deanna Rhodes Absent

MOTION PASSED

VI. State Register of Historic Places Nominations

A. Unfinished Action Items

B. New Action Items

1. Listing to the State Register of Historic Places, Kycia Farm Barn, 310 Highland Street, Wethersfield

On a motion by Ms. Burgess, second by Dr. Horowitz, this item was called to the table for discussion and approved.

(Y-6, N-0, Abstaining-1, Absent-4, Recused-0) (Roll call vote)

Members Voting Yes: 6

- 1. Ms. Elizabeth Acly
- 2. Ms. Vincencia Adusei
- 3. Ms. Elizabeth Burgess
- 4. Dr. Leah Glaser
- 5. Dr. Andy Horowitz
- 6. Dr. Sarah Sportman

Members Voting No: 0

Members Abstaining: 1

1. Mr. Paul Butkus – Vice Chairman

Members Absent, Recused or Did not Respond: 4

- 1. Ms. Marguerite Carnell Absent
- 2. Mr. Tom Elmore Absent
- 3. Ms. Sara Nelson Absent
- 4. Ms. Deanna Rhodes Absent

MOTION PASSED