

Connecticut Lemon Law

The Lemon Law can help resolve disputes between consumers who purchase a new vehicle in Connecticut and automobile manufacturers.

A LEMON IS A VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE THAT:

Was purchased or leased new (within the first 24,000 miles or 2 years) in Connecticut and does not meet the manufacturer's express warranty.

Eligibility period:

Your vehicle must have a defect or condition that you have attempted to repair during the first two years from the date of delivery or the first 24,000 miles on the odometer, whichever period ends first.

Must meet one or more of the following eligiblity requirements:

- The consumer has made "a reasonable number of attempts" to repair the same problem.
- The vehicle has been out of service for repair at the dealership for 30 days or more for any number of unrelated problems. The days do not need to be consecutive, but must occur during the eligibility period.
- The vehicle has a safety defect likely to cause death or serious injury if it is driven, and
 the defect continues to exist during the first year of use after two or more repair attempts
 or the length of the express warranty, whichever period ends first.

There may be other ways to qualify for the Lemon Law.

For more information or to take our online eligibility quiz, visit www.ct.gov/dcp/lemon.

You may contact the Lemon Law Program at 800-538-2277 or 860-713-6120.