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The number of days an opioid can be prescribed on a first
visit is limited to five (5) days for patients who are minors. 
Patients may now opt out of being prescribed opioids by
filling out a voluntary non-opioid directive form. 
The law requires that prescribers use electronic prescribing
for controlled substance prescriptions unless there is an
emergency, or the proper technology is not available.
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Physicians must take continuing education courses in risk
management, controlled substance prescribing, and pain
management.

Prescribers must review patient's record on the CPMRS before
prescribing any Schedule II - V controlled substance meant to
last more than 72 hours.

Physicians must review patient records once every 90 days for
a controlled substance prescription meant for ongoing
treatment. 

Connecticut Laws Impacting Prescribing and Practice 
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Connecticut laws have been updated in recent years to
reflect changes in prescribing practices for controlled

substances and opioid medications. 



The Drug Control Division has worked closely with its
partners to address the opioid and prescription medication

crisis by supporting practitioners in their work and
improving the Connecticut Prescription Monitoring and

Reporting System (CPMRS), also known as the Prescription
Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). 




Highlights of some of the changes include:



Opioid prescriptions for first-time outpatient use are limited to  
a 7-day supply. The mandate maintains the prescriber's
professional judgment to prescribe more than a 7-day supply
for ongoing use when needed.

Education is required for patients under 18 and their guardians
regarding the risks of addiction and overdose associated with
opioids, as well as the dangers of combining opioids with
alcohol, benzodiazepines, and other depressants.

Patient records must be reviewed once per year for ongoing
prescriptions that are Schedule V controlled substances. All
other schedules remain at the 90-day level.
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The Drug Control Division continues to make quality system improvements to ensure public health and safety
 in collaboration with our partners. We welcome questions, concerns, or ideas from all practitioners.

The best way to reach us is by emailing dcp.drugcontrol@ct.gov.

2018
Prescribers are no longer allowed to prescribe controlled
substances to themselves or their family members, except
in cases of emergency. 

The ability of telehealth professionals to prescribe
Schedule II and III controlled substances is expanded in
certain circumstances.

2021
Health care institutions are required to upload opioid
agonists (e.g. methadone or morphine) into the CPMRS
when dispensed or administered directly to patients to
treat a substance use disorder.

2019
Patients prescribed opioids for pain for 12 weeks or more
must have written documentation in their medical record
by their provider that includes the risks, need for urine
drug screening, why it might be discontinued, and
alternative options for treating pain.

2022
Authorized prescribers may transport Schedule II - V
controlled substances from their registered location to
treat a patient with Department approval.

Prescribers should encourage patients to obtain an
opioid antagonist (i.e. naloxone) when an opioid is
prescribed.

Prescribing practitioners and pharmacists certified to
prescribe an opioid antagonist may work with local
authorities to expand access through a publicly
accessible secured box following DCP guidelines.

Expansion of existing immunity for all prescribers when
collaborating with host agencies that administer and
dispense an opioid antagonist.
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