
Pursuant to Management Personnel Policy 97-1, 
State of Connecticut managers (in accordance with 
Connecticut General Statutes, Sections 5-196 (cc) or 
5-270 (g)) are eligible to participate in the Managerial 
Sick Leave Bank (MSLB).  The MSLB consists of an 
accumulated number of sick leave hours that have 
been donated to the bank by participating managers.  
Any participating manager may apply for benefits 
under the MSLB in the event they suffer an illness or 
injury that exhausts their sick leave, personal leave, 
compensatory time, as well as any vacation they have 
accrued in excess of 60 days when workersʼ 
compensation benefits do not apply or have been 
exhausted. 

Managers must have completed two or more years in 
state service to be eligible to participate in the MSLB.  
This includes employees with two or more years of 
state service who are promoted to a managerial class.  
After managers become eligible to join the MSLB, 
they have 90 calendar days to accept or decline 
participation. The original acceptance or declination 
form is available in your agency human resources 
office and is returned completed to your agency 
human resources office, which in turn forwards it to 
the MSLB Committee at the Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS).  A copy of the form is 
filed in the managerʼs personnel records. The 
Committee responds directly to your agencyʼs human 
resources office with approval or denial.

If the MSLB Committee approves your application, you will be enrolled and an initial donation of the hourly 
equivalent of one day of sick leave will be deducted from your accumulated sick leave.  If you decline, that 
decision cannot be changed at a later date.

Enrollment applications and any correspondence should be directed, by the agency human resources business 
partner only, to: Dawn Kelly, 450 Columbus Blvd. Suite 1404, Hartford, CT 06103 or via email to 
Dawn.M.Kelly@ct.gov.  Agency human resources business partners can also direct questions to the following:    

Lisa Annis, DAS Committee Member, (860) 327-4939 
Karolina Wytrykowska, MAC Representative, (860) 719-3745

The Managerial Sick Leave Bank affords the eligible manager with a 
number of benefits although it has clear limitations.  Know these 
limitations because if an emergency situation arises where you need to 
draw from the bank, you may have done well to have purchased salary 
replacement or other types of insurance and accrued a certain amount of 
personal savings beforehand to better care for yourself and your family.  
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The Managerial Sick Leave Bank is a Limited Benefit



Here is why:
1) You will need to be off the payroll for 15 work days after exhaustion of sick, personal and

compensatory time along with any annual vacation accrued beyond 60 days (that is, we donʼt
require you to expend all of your vacation time which can be an important asset while you are
on MSLB) because the 16th day after exhausting this time is when payments from the MSLB
will begin.  Therefore, at minimum, you should either have three weeks of salary saved in
advance of this type of emergency OR salary replacement insurance that covers illness or injury-
related loss of pay in order to weather this time for which you will not be receiving your regular
salary;

2) The MSLB affords you pay at a rate of one-half day for each day of illness or injury and for no
longer than 200 of these ½ days per fiscal year which will keep money coming in to your home
but reduced by half;

3) You will not be accruing sick or vacation leave during this time and you must continue paying
insurance and other premiums;

4) You will not be eligible for holiday or other paid leave benefits during this time;
5) You must not have been disciplined for sick leave abuse for the previous two years to qualify;
6) You must have an applicable medical certificate.

However, the MSLB is not about pay alone; even though you are not working and you cannot work 
and you have exhausted all but vacation leave, your position is retained for you for not less than 42 
calendar days.  If you remain on MSLB beyond this time, you are entitled to an equivalent position 
with equivalent pay if you return to work within 24 weeks of when you started using the MSLB 
pursuant to C.G.S. § 5-248a.

The MSLB is all about giving you some level of salary and job protection when you have exhausted 
almost all of the other benefits that the state affords you.  It is possible to combine your MSLB and 
any available vacation leave you have left to elevate your salary beyond the one half dayʼs pay.  You 
may also elect to use any or all accrued vacation time before starting to use the MSLB, but vacation 
time cannot substitute for the 15-day pay gap.

If you are using the MSLB and begin to recover from your illness or injury, you may begin to return 
to work part-time up to an amount authorized by a medical certificate.  When part time work 
begins, the maximum MSLB benefit will be two hours per day combined with six or fewer hours (as 
authorized) of paid work time. The two hours of MSLB that is combined with the part time work 
counts one-half against each day of the 200 days maximum of MSLB that can be used per fiscal 
year.

Because the MSLB is not a full salary replacement benefit, it cannot be overemphasized how 
important it is to preserve your own sick leave as it is accrued and to only use it when you are truly 
ill.  Your accrued sick leave pays at 100% when you are out ill or injured and you accrue regular 
leave benefits when it is being used.  The MSLB is meant for those circumstances “when all else 
fails” because you cannot work and you have nothing left protecting you and your job with the state 
that affords you any kind of pay.  Therefore, every manager should know the limitations of the 
Managersʼ Sick Leave Bank and plan accordingly!  

And as always, consult with your agencyʼs human resources office when you have questions about 
the use of this benefit or any other state benefits.
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