

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES BUREAU OF ENTERPRISE SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGY 12:00 PM

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

October 23, 2019

Commission Members in Attendance

Raymond, Mark - Commission Chair and Chief Information Officer, DAS-BEST

Bailie, Colleen — Director, West Haven Public Library

Casey, Doug – Executive Director, CT Commission for Educational Technology

Dumais, Charles — Executive Director, Cooperative Educational Services (C.E.S.) (Office of the Governor)

Elsesser, John — Town Manager, Town of Coventry (CT Council of Small Towns)

Feinmark, Russell — Connecticut General Assembly

Mavrogeanes, Rich — President, Discover Video (President Pro Tem of the Senate)

Minikowski, Andrew — Staff Attorney, Office of Consumer Counsel

Provencher, Maura — Vice President of Research and Administration, Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges (CCIC)

Wiggin, Kendall — State Librarian, Connecticut State Library

Zak, Scott — Senior Director of Learning Technologies, Board of Regents

Proposed Legislative Revisions

Commission Chair Mark Raymond began the special meeting, conducted via phone conference, by greeting members and conducting a verbal roll call. He thanked those who participated in the October 1 working session to discuss revisions to the statute governing the Commission (CGS § 61a). The narrow focus of that discussion was to increase representation of educators within the Commission's membership. Following that meeting, Doug Casey drafted and shared the Proposed Changes to Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 61a: Educational Technology document for members' review. The proposal would revise Sections 4d-80(a)(2) and (3) as follows (new text in underline):

(2) one member each representing the Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges, the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education, the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities, the Connecticut Council of Small Towns, the Connecticut Library Association, the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents, the Connecticut Educators Computer Association; (3) a secondary school teacher designated by the Connecticut Education Association and an elementary school teacher designated by the American Federation of Teachers – Connecticut



Following these introductions, Mark entertained a motion to adopt these recommended changes. Chip Dumais made the motion, and Rich Mavrogeanes offered a second. With no discussion, the members voted unanimously to adopt the proposal, with no abstentions.

Mark thanked the members for their time and adjourned the meeting at 12:06 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Douglas Casey Executive Director

Connecticut Commission for Educational Technology

55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105 (860) 622-2224 Doug.Casey@ct.gov

<u>Doug.Casey@ct.gov</u> <u>www.ct.gov/ctedtech</u>