CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION

At a Glance

HONORABLE ANDREW J. McDONALD, Chairman

Established: 1984

Statutory Authority: Article XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution

and General Statutes sections 51-275a, 51-277 and 51-278. *Central Office*: 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067

Number of Employees: 0

Recurring Expenses: (2021-2022): \$409.00

(within the budget of the Division of Criminal Justice)

Organizational Structure

The Criminal Justice Commission is comprised of the Chief State's Attorney and six members nominated by the Governor and approved by the General Assembly. Two members, by Constitutional provision, must be judges of the Superior Court.

Mission

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary, the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

Statutory Responsibility

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by an amendment to the Connecticut Constitution in conjunction with the creation of the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to carry out its mandates.

Public Service

The Criminal Justice Commission vets all candidates for the above listed positions. In 2022, the Commission sought public input prior to selecting a new Chief State's Attorney and several State's Attorneys. Subsequent to the interview of candidates, public comment was heard by the Commission.

Improvements/Achievements 2021-2022

The Commission appointed Patrick J. Griffin as Chief State's Attorney to succeed Richard J. Colangelo, Jr. The Commission filled vacancies for the State's Attorneys in Litchfield, New Britain and New Haven. Further, the Commission reappointed John J. Russotto to a fifth term as Deputy Chief State's Attorney for Administration. The Commission continues to hire Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys to fill vacancies that arise.

Membership

Hon. Andrew J. McDonald, Chair; Hon. Melanie L. Cradle; Robert Berke, Esq.; Reginald Dwayne Betts, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.: Scott J. Murphy, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Patrick J. Griffin.

Information Reported as Required by State Statute

References

Connecticut General Statutes § 51-275a Connecticut General Statutes § 51-277 Connecticut General Statutes § 51-278