## CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMISSION

### At a Glance

#### HONORABLE ANDREW J. McDONALD, Chairman

Established: 1984;

Statutory Authority: ARTICLE XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution

and General Statutes sections 51-275a, 51-277 and 51-278. *Central Office*: 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067

Number of Employees: 0

Recurring Expenses: (2020-2021): \$409.00(within the budget of the Division of Criminal

**Justice**)

#### Structure

The Criminal Justice Commission is comprised of the Chief State's Attorney and six members nominated by the Governor and approved by the General Assembly. By Constitutional provision, two members must be judges of the Superior Court.

#### Mission

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

### **Statutory Responsibility**

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by an amendment to the Connecticut Constitution in conjunction with the creation of the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to carry out its mandates.

#### **Public Service**

The Criminal Justice Commission vets all candidates for the above listed positions. The Commission adopted new policies to hold meetings at the Legislative Office Building to facilitate public comment and the recording of meetings for broadcast on the CT-N network. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and in accordance with the Governor's Executive Orders, meetings were conducted instead by electronic teleconference.

#### **Improvements/Achievements 2020-2021**

The Commission reappointed Richard J. Colangelo, Jr., as Chief State's Attorney, and Kevin D. Lawlor as Deputy Chief State's Attorney for Operations. The Commission filled vacancies for the State's Attorneys in New London and Hartford by appointing Paul J. Narducci and Sharmese L. Walcott, respectively. In addition, the Commission appointed fifteen new Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys to serve as prosecutors throughout the Division of Criminal Justice.

# Membership

Hon. Andrew J. McDonald, Chair; Hon. Melanie L. Cradle; Robert Berke, Esq.; Reginald Dwayne Betts, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.: Scott J. Murphy, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Richard J. Colangelo, Jr.

# **Information Reported as Required by State Statute**

### **Abbreviations**

COVID-19 – Corona Virus (2019)

## References

Connecticut General Statutes § 51-275a Connecticut General Statutes § 51-277 Connecticut General Statutes § 51-278