# CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMISSION

At a Glance

## HONORABLE ANDREW J. McDONALD, Chairman

Established: 1984;

Statutory Authority: ARTICLE XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution

and General Statutes sections 51-257a, 51-277 and 51-278. *Central Office*: 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067

Number of Employees: 0

Recurring Expenses: (2019-2020): \$409.00 (within the budget of the Division of Criminal

**Justice**)

## **Structure**

The Criminal Justice Commission is comprised of the Chief State's Attorney and six members nominated by the Governor and approved by the General Assembly. By Constitutional provision, two members must be judges of the Superior Court.

#### **Mission**

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

## **Statutory Responsibility**

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by an amendment to the Connecticut Constitution in conjunction with the creation of the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to carry out its mandates.

## **Public Service**

The Criminal Justice Commission vets all candidates for the above listed positions. In 2019, the Commission sought public input prior to selecting a new Chief State's Attorney. Subsequent to the interview of candidates, public comment was heard by the Commission. The Commission also took action to remedy the delayed reports of several outstanding police use of force matters.

# **Improvements/Achievements 2019-2020**

The Criminal Justice Commission adopted new policies to hold meetings at the Legislative Office Building to facilitate public comment and the recording of meetings for broadcast on the CT-N network. The Commission appointed Richard Colangelo, Jr. to succeed Kevin Kane as the Chief State's Attorney. The Commission filled vacancies for the State's Attorneys in Fairfield and Stamford. Further, the Commission reappointed the State's Attorney for Waterbury. The Commission continues to hire Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys to fill vacancies that arise.

Membership
Hon. Andrew J. McDonald, Chair; Hon. Melanie L. Cradle; Robert Berke, Esq.; Reginald
Dwayne Betts, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.: Scott Murphy, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Richard J. Colangelo, Jr.