CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION

At a Glance

HONORABLE ANDREW J. McDONALD, Chairman

Established: 1984;

Statutory Authority: ARTICLE XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution

and General Statutes sections 51-275a, 51-277 and 51-278. *Central Office*: 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067.

Number of Employees: 0

Recurring Expenses: (2018-19): \$409.00 (within the budget of the Division of Criminal

Justice)

Structure

The Criminal Justice Commission is composed of the Chief State's Attorney and six members nominated by the Governor and appointed by the General Assembly. Two members, by Constitutional provision, must be judges of the Superior Court.

Mission

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

Statutory Responsibility

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by an amendment to the Connecticut Constitution in conjunction with the creation of the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to carry out its mandates.

Improvements/Achievements 2018-2019

The Criminal Justice Commission appointed Kevin D. Lawlor as Deputy Chief State's Attorney for operations to complete the term of the retiring Leonard C. Boyle, appointed Michael A. Gailor as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Middlesex to complete the term of Peter McShane who was appointed a Judge, and appointed Margaret E. Kelley as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Ansonia/Milford to complete the term of Kevin D. Lawlor. In addition, the Commission appointed two new Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys to serve as prosecutors throughout the Division of Criminal Justice.

Membership

Hon. Andrew J. McDonald, Chair; Hon. Melanie L. Cradle; Robert Berke, Esq.; Reginald Dwayne Betts, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.; Scott Murphy, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Kevin T. Kane.