# **Criminal Justice Commission**

#### At a Glance

HONORABLE ANDREW J. McDONALD, *Chairman* Established - 1984 Statutory Authority - ARTICLE XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution and General Statutes sections 51-275a, 51-277 and 51-278. *Central Office* - 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067. *Number of Employees* - 0 *Recurring Expenses* - (2017-18): \$409.00 (within the budget of the Division of Criminal Justice)

#### Organizational structure -

The Criminal Justice Commission is composed of the Chief State's Attorney and six attorneys nominated by the Governor and appointed by the General Assembly. Two of whom must be judges of the Superior Court.

## Mission

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: the Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

# **Statutory Responsibility**

The Criminal Justice Commission was established under the amendment to the Connecticut Constitution that established the Division of Criminal Justice as an independent agency of the executive branch of state government. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to fulfill its responsibilities.

## Improvements/Achievements 2017-2018

The Criminal Justice Commission appointed Kevin D. Lawlor as Deputy Chief State's Attorney for Operations, and Margaret E. Kelley as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Ansonia/Milford; reappointed John J. Russotto as Deputy Chief State's Attorney for Personnel, Finance and Administration, Richard J. Colangelo, Jr., as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Stamford/Norwalk, and Stephen J. Sedensky III as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Danbury. In addition, the Commission appointed five new Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys as prosecutors assigned throughout the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission recommended the development of strategic business plans by each of the State's Attorneys, the Chief State's Attorney and the Deputy Chief State's Attorneys.

### Membership

Hon. Andrew J. McDonald, Chair; Hon. Juliett L. Crawford; Mary M. Galvin, Esq.; Eric George, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.; Erik Russell, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Kevin T. Kane.