Criminal Justice Commission

At a Glance

HONORABLE ANDREW J. McDONALD, Chairman

Established – 1984

Statutory authority - ARTICLE XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution and General Statutes sections 51-275a, 51-277 and 51-278.

Central office - 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067

Number of employees - 0

Recurring expenses - (2016-17): \$444.00 (within the budget of the Division of Criminal Justice)

Organizational structure -

The Criminal Justice Commission is composed of the Chief State's Attorney and six members nominated by the Governor and appointed by the General Assembly. Two members, by Constitutional provision, must be judges of the Superior Court.

Mission

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

Statutory Responsibility

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by an amendment to the Connecticut Constitution in conjunction with the creation of the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to carry out its mandates.

Improvements/Achievements 2016-2017

The Criminal Justice Commission reappointed Kevin T. Kane as Chief State's Attorney, Leonard C. Boyle as Deputy Chief State's Attorney for Operations, John C. Smriga as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Fairfield, David Shepack as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Litchfield, Patrick J. Griffin as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of New Haven, Michael L. Regan as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of New London, Matthew C. Gedansky as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Tolland, and Anne F. Mahoney as

State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Windham.

Membership

Hon. Andrew J. McDonald, Chair; Hon. Juliett L. Crawford; Mary M. Galvin, Esq.; Eric George, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.; Eric Russell, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Kevin T. Kane.

The Commission wishes to express its appreciation of the years of service provided by Hon. Richard N. Palmer; Maura H. Horan, Esq.; and Ann G. Taylor, Esq.