Criminal Justice Commission

At a Glance

HONORABLE RICHARD N. PALMER, Chairman

Established – 1984 Statutory authority - ARTICLE XXIII of the Amendments to the Connecticut Constitution and General Statutes sections 51-275a, 51-277 and 51-278. Central office - 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT 06067 Number of employees - 0 Recurring expenses: (2015-16): \$431.00 (within the budget of the Division of Criminal Justice)

Organizational structure -

The Criminal Justice Commission is composed of the Chief State's Attorney and six members nominated by the Governor and appointed by the General Assembly. Two members, by Constitutional provision, must be judges of the Superior Court.

Agency Mission

The primary function of the Criminal Justice Commission is to appoint the full-time prosecutorial officials of the Division of Criminal Justice: Chief State's Attorney, State's Attorneys, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys. The Commission also may investigate complaints concerning the performance of the Chief State's Attorney, Deputy Chief State's Attorneys, and State's Attorneys. If necessary the Commission may remove these appointees for cause.

Statutory Responsibility

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by an amendment to the Connecticut Constitution in conjunction with the creation of the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission has statutory authority to adopt regulations to carry out its mandates.

Achievements 2015-2016

The Criminal Justice Commission appointed Anne F. Mahoney as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of Windham to complete the term of the retiring Patricia M. Froehlich and appointed Patrick J. Griffin as State's Attorney for the Judicial District of New Haven to complete the term of the retiring Michael Dearington. In addition, the Commission appointed six new Deputy Assistant State's Attorneys to serve as prosecutors throughout the Division of Criminal Justice. The Commission continued to explore methods of enhancing diversity within the Division.

Membership

Hon. Richard N. Palmer, Chairman; Hon. Juliett L. Crawford; Mary M. Galvin, Esq.; Maura H. Horan, Esq.; Moy N. Ogilvie, Esq.; Ann G. Taylor, Esq.; and Chief State's Attorney Kevin T. Kane.