STATE OF CONNECTICUT CONNECTICUT SITING COUNCIL

THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY AND THE UNITED ILLUMINATING COMPANY APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF ENVIRONMENTAL COMPATIBILITY AND PUBLIC NEED FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW 345-KV ELECTRIC TRANSMISSION LINE AND ASSOCIATED FACILITES BETWEEN THE SCOVILLE ROCK SWITCHING STATION IN MIDDLETOWN AND THE NORWALK SUBSTATION IN NORWALK, INCLUDING THE RECONSTRUCTION OF PORTIONS OF EXISTING 115-KV AND 345 KV ELECTRIC TRANSMISSION LINES, THE CONSTRUCTION OF BESECK SWITCHING STATION IN WALLINFORD, EAST DEVON SUBSTATION IN BRIDGEPORT, MODIFICATIONS AT SCOVILL ROCK SWITCHING STATION AND NORWALK SUBSTATION, AND THE RECONFIGURATION OF CERTAIN		DOCKET NO. 272
INTERCONNECTIONS	:	JULY 20, 2004

COMMENTS OF THE CITY OF BRIDGEPORT IN RESPONSE TO PREFERRED ROUTES

On June 4, 2004, S. Derek Phelps, Executive Director of the Connecticut Siting Council, requested that all parties and intervenors submit comments and details relative to the following:

- 1. A preferred overhead route through the municipality, including limits to pole heights, conductor configuration, and suggested shifts in route;
- 2. A preferred underground route through the municipality, identifying street routes; and
- 3. A preferred overhead/underground route through the municipality, identifying segment locations and transition stations.

In response to this request the City of Bridgeport ("City") submits the following comments:

1. There is no overhead route through the municipality that would be preferred or acceptable to the City. The City's objection to the installation of any overhead installation through its densely populated urban neighborhoods remains unchanged.

- 2. The City continues to support the initial underground route through Bridgeport submitted by United Illuminating Company ("UI") as its application in this matter, with the amended change of the location of the proposed Singer substation to a new location as modified by UI in this docket.
- 3. There is no combined overhead route and underground route through the municipality that would be preferred or acceptable to the City. See Items 1 and 2, above.

If there are any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Respectfully submitted by:

Melanie J. Howlett Associate City Attorney

Dated this 20th day of July 2004

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing document was sent via first class postage pre-paid mail this 20th day of July to the following:

Anthony M. Fitzgerald, Esq. Brian T. Henebry, Esq. Carmody & Torrance LLP 50 Leavenworth Street PO Box 1110 Waterbury, CT 06721

Linda L. Randell, Esq. Bruce L. McDermott, Esq. Wiggin & Dana, LLP One Century Tower New Haven, CT 06508-1832

Honorable Robert W. Megna State Representative 97th District 40 Foxon Hill Road, #54 New Haven, CT 06513

Honorable Al Adinolfi State Representative 103rd District 235 Sorghum Mill Drive Cheshire, CT 06410

Eric Knapp, Esq. Branse & Willis, LLC 41-C New London Turnpike Glen Lochen East Glastonbury, CT 06033-2038

Julie Donaldson Kohler, Esq. Hurwitz & Sagarin, LLC 147 North Broad Street Milford, CT 06460

Janis M. Small, Esq. Town Attorney Wallingford Town Hall 45 South Main Street Wallingford, CT 06492 Peter G. Boucher, Esq. Halloran & Sage, LLP 225 Asylum Street Hartford, CT 06103

Town of Westport C/o Ira W. Bloom, Esq. 27 Imperial Avenue Westport, CT 06880

Louis S. Ciccarello Corporation Counsel Norwalk City Hall P.O. Box 798 Norwalk, CT 06856-0798

Honorable Mary G. Fritz State Representative 90th District 43 Grove Street Yalesville, CT 06492

David A. Ball, Esq. Cohen and Wolf, P.C. 1115 Broad Street PO Box 1821 Bridgeport, CT 06601-1821

Deborah L. Moore, Esq. Legal Department City Hall 142 East Main Street Meriden, CT 06450

Michael C. Wertheimer Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 10 Franklin Square New Britain, CT 06051

Honorable Themis Klarides State Representative 114 District 23 East Court Derby, CT 06418

Lawrence J. Golden, Esq. Pullman & Comley, LLC 90 State House Hartford, CT 06103-3702

Anthony M. Macleod, Esq. Whitman Breed Abbott & Morgan LLC 100 Field Point Road Greenwich, CT 06830 Arthur W. Gruhn, P.E. Chief Engineer Department of Transportation 2800 Berlin Turnpike PO Box 317546 Newington, CT 06131

Honorable Kenneth A. Flatto First Selectman Independence Hall 725 Old Post Road Fairfield, CT 06824

David A. Reif Jane K. Warren Joel B. Casey McCarter & English, LLP CityPlace I Hartford, CT 06103

Monte E. Frank, Esq. Cohen and Wolf, P.C. 158 Deer Hill Avenue Danbury, CT 06810

Andrew W. Lord, Esq. Murtha Cullina LLP CityPlace I, 29th Floor 185 Asylum Street Hartford, CT 06103

Mitchell R. Goldblatt First Selectman Town of Orange 617 Orange Center Road Orange, CT 06477

Robert E. Earley Connecticut Business & Industry Assoc. 350 Church Street Hartford, CT 06103

Richard J. Buturla, Esq. Town Attorney Berchem, Moses & Devlin, PC 75 Broad Street Milford, CT 06460

Joaquina Borges King Assistant Town Attorney Hamden Government Center 2750 Dixwell Avenue Hamden, CT 06518 Timothy P. Lynch Deputy City Attorney 245 deKoven Drive PO Box 1300 Middletown, CT 06457

Honorable Derrylyn Gorski First Selectman Bethany Town Hall 40 Peck Road Bethany, CT 06524

Honorable Raymond Kalinowski State Representative 100th District PO Box 391 Durham, CT 06422

Office of Consumer Counsel Bruce C. Johnson Litigation Attorney Ten Franklin Square New Britain, CT 06051

William J. Kupinse, Jr. First Selectman Easton Town Hall 225 Center Road PO Box 61 Easton, CT 06612

Honorable William A. Aniskovich State Senate - 12th District 15 Grove Avenue Branford, CT 06405

David J. Monz Updike, Kelly & Spellacy, P.C. One Century Tower 265 Church Street New Haven, CT 06510

David R. Schaefer, Esq. Brenner Saltzman & Wallman, LLP 271 Whitney Avenue New Haven, CT 06511

Senator Joseph J. Crisco, Jr. 17th District State Capitol Hartford, CT 06106 Franco Chieffalo General Supervisor First District Water Department PO Box 27 Norwalk, CT 06852

Honorable Leonard A. Fasano State Senator – 34th District 7 Sycamore Lane North Haven, CT 06473

Elizabeth Gilson, Esq. 383 Orange Street New Haven, CT 06511

Karyl Lee Hall, Esq. Co-Chairman Branford Conservation & Environment Comission c/o Box 3072 Branford, CT 06405

Honorable John E. Opie, First Selectman Branford Town Hall P.O. Box 150, Town Hall Branford, CT 06405

Trish Bradley, President Ed Schwartz, Treasurer Communities for Responsible Energy, Phase II 45 Ironwood Lane Durham, CT 06422

Charles H. Walsh Assistant Attorney General 55 Elm Street PO Box 120 Hartford, CT 06141-0120

Eileen M. Meskill Assistant Attorney General 55 Elm Street PO Box 120 Hartford, CT 06141-0120

The Honorable Thomas P. Gaffey State Senate 64-C Nutmeg Drive Meriden, CT 06451

Dan Grasso Legislative Office Building Room 3400 Hartford, CT 06106

Melanie J. Howlett