

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

CONNECTICUT SITING COUNCIL

Ten Franklin Square, New Britain, CT 06051 Phone: (860) 827-2935 Fax: (860) 827-2950 E-Mail: siting.council@ct.gov Web Site: portal.ct.gov/csc

VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

October 25, 2021

Kathleen M. Shanley Manager – Transmission Siting Eversource Energy P.O. Box 270 Hartford, CT 06141

RE: SUB-PETITION NO. 1293-NMWRWW-02 (New Milford, Washington, Roxbury, Woodbury and Watertown) – Eversource Energy declaratory ruling that no Certificate of Environmental Compatibility and Public Need is required for all transmission facility asset condition maintenance improvements statewide to comply with the updated National Electrical Safety Code clearance requirements.

Dear Ms. Shanley:

The Connecticut Siting Council (Council) hereby acknowledges your notice to replace 17 transmission structures at various locations along Eversource transmission line right-of-ways in the municipalities of New Milford, Washington, Roxbury, Woodbury and Watertown pursuant to National Electrical Safety Code standards, with the following conditions:

- 1. Any deviation from the proposed transmission line maintenance activity as specified in this notice and supporting materials filed with the Council shall render this acknowledgement invalid;
- 2. Any material changes to this transmission line maintenance activity as proposed shall require the filing of a new notice with the Council;
- 3. Not less than 45 days after completion of the transmission line maintenance activity, the Council shall be notified in writing that construction has been completed;
- 4. The validity of this action shall expire one year from the date of this letter; and
- 5. The petitioner may file a request for an extension of time beyond the one year deadline provided that such request is submitted to the Council not less than 60 days prior to the expiration.

The proposed transmission line maintenance activities are to be implemented as specified here and in your notice received by the Council on September 24, 2021. This decision is under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Council.

Thank you for your attention and cooperation.

Sincerely,

Melanie Bachman Executive Director

c: The Honorable James L. Brinton, First Selectman, Town of Washington (selectman@washingtonct.org)

The Honorable Pete Bass, Mayor, Town of New Milford (mayor@newmilford.org)

The Honorable Barbara Henry, First Selectman, Town of Roxbury (bhenry@roxburyct.com)

The Honorable Barbara Perkinson, First Selectman, Town of Woodbury (barbaraperkinson@woodburyct.org)

The Honorable Mary Ann Rosa, Town Council Chair, Town of Watertown (towncouncil@watertownct.org)