

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Ten Franklin Square, New Britain, CT 06051 Phone: (860) 827-2935 Fax: (860) 827-2950

E-Mail: siting.council@ct.gov
Web Site: portal.ct.gov/csc

VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

November 30, 2020

Kathleen M. Shanley Manager – Transmission Siting Eversource Energy P.O. Box 270 Hartford, CT 06141

RE: **SUB-PETITION NO. 1293- NM-04 (Newtown & Monroe)** – Eversource Energy declaratory ruling that no Certificate of Environmental Compatibility and Public Need is required for all transmission facility asset condition maintenance improvements statewide to comply with the updated National Electrical Safety Code clearance requirements.

Dear Ms. Shanley:

The Connecticut Siting Council (Council) hereby acknowledges your notice to replace 7 transmission structures at various locations along Eversource transmission line right-of-way in the Towns of Newtown and Monroe pursuant to National Electrical Safety Code standards, with the following conditions:

- 1. Any deviation from the proposed transmission line maintenance activity as specified in this notice and supporting materials filed with the Council shall render this acknowledgement invalid;
- 2. Any material changes to this transmission line maintenance activity as proposed shall require the filing of a new notice with the Council;
- 3. Not less than 45 days after completion of the transmission line maintenance activity, the Council shall be notified in writing that construction has been completed;
- 4. The validity of this action shall expire one year from the date of this letter; and
- 5. The petitioner may file a request for an extension of time beyond the one year deadline provided that such request is submitted to the Council not less than 60 days prior to the expiration.

The proposed transmission line maintenance activities are to be implemented as specified here and in your notice dated October 19, 2020. This decision is under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Council.

Thank you for your attention and cooperation.

Sincerely,

s/Melanie Bachman

Melanie Bachman Executive Director

c: Honorable Ken Kellogg, First Selectman, Town of Monroe (kkellogg@monroect.org)
Rick Schultz, Town Planner, Town of Monroe (rschultz@monroect.org)
Honorable Daniel Rosenthal, First Selectman, Town of Newtown (first.selectman@newtown-ct.gov)
George Benson, Director of Planning, Town of Newtown (george.benson@newtown-ct.gov)