# MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COMMISSION MEETING MARTIN LUTHER KING, Jr. COMMISSION 36 FLAT ROCK DRIVE, RIDGEFIELD, CT 06877 MONDAY, APRIL 9, 2012 12:30PM

## **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Mark Robinson, Acting Chairman Sarah Diaz Diane Paige-Blondet Ben Rhodes Joseph Teal James Williams

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT**

Carol Anderson
William L. Dixon
Rev. Bradford Howard
Rodney Matthews
Hilda Santiago

## STAFF PRESENT

Jim O'Neill, CHRO, Secretariat to the MLK, Jr. Commission

## I. CALL TO ORDER

Acting Chairman Mark Robinson convened the meeting of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission to order at 12:40 p.m.

## II. OLD BUSINESS:

Legal opinion from CHRO.

## III. MOTION 1:

The following is Motion 1:

To direct the Department of Administrative Services to pay to the Hord Foundation the remaining balance in the FY 2012 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Commission budget for expenses incurred in February or 2012.

Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to adopt Motion 1. Commissioner Paige-Blondet seconded the motion.

Discussing the motion were Commissioners Diaz, Rhodes, Robinson, Paige-Blondet, Teal and Williams.

On a roll call vote the motion passed 4 in favor, and 2 against with five members absent and not voting.

Acting Chairman Robinson stated he would draft a letter to the Department of Administrative Services directing payment to the Hord Foundation.

## IV. MOTION 2:

Commissioner Paige-Blondet made a motion to adopt Motion 2. Seconding the motion was Commissioner Teal.

Discussing the motion were Commissioners Diaz, Rhodes, Robinson, Paige-Blondet, Teal and Williams.

The following is motion 2:

To make a recommendation to Governor Dannel Malloy on the appointment of a new chairperson of the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Commission.

Following discussion Commissioner Teal withdrew his second on Motion 2 and Commissioner Paige-Blondet withdrew her motion to adopt Motion 2.

## V. MOTION 2 AS AMENDED:

Commissioner Teal made a motion to adopt an amended version of Motion 2. Seconding the motion was Commissioner Paige-Blondet.

Discussing the motion were Commissioners Diaz, Rhodes, Robinson, Paige-Blondet, Teal and Williams.

The following is Motion 2 as amended:

To make a recommendation to Governor Dannel Malloy that he appoint Mark Robinson as the Chairman of the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Commission.

On a roll call vote the motion failed 2 in favor, 2 against, and 2 abstaining with five members absent and not voting.

## VI. MOTION 3:

Commissioner Teal made a motion to adopt Motion 3. Seconding the motion was Commissioner Williams.

Discussing the motion were Commissioners Diaz, Rhodes, Robinson, Paige-Blondet, Teal and Williams.

The following is Motion 3:

To recommend that Governor Dannel Malloy appoint a new Chairman of the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Commission.

On a roll call vote the passed with 3 in favor, 0 against, and 3 abstaining with five members absent and not voting.

## VII. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Diaz seconded the motion.

On a unanimous voice vote the motion to adjourn was adopted at 1:30 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Jim O'Neill, CHRO, Secretariat to the MLK, Jr. Commission

# MARTIN LUTHER KING, Jr. COMMISSION SPECIAL COMMISSION MEETING 36 FLAT ROCK DRIVE, RIDGEFIELD, CT 06877 MONDAY, APRIL 9, 2012 12:30PM

**Motion #1** To direct the Department of Adminstrative Services to pay to the Hord Foundation the remaining balance in the FY 2012 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Commission budget for expenses incurred in February of 2012.

|                     | Yea | Nay | NP |
|---------------------|-----|-----|----|
| Carol Anderson      |     |     | X  |
| Sarah Diaz          |     | Х   |    |
| William Dixon       |     |     | Х  |
| Bradford Howard     |     |     | Х  |
| Rodney Matthews     |     |     | Х  |
| Diane Paige-Blondet | X   |     |    |
| Benjamin Rhodes     | Х   |     |    |
| Mark Robinson       | Х   |     |    |
| Hilda Santiago      |     |     | Х  |
| Joseph Teal         | Х   |     |    |
| James Williams      |     | Х   |    |
| TOTAL               | 4   | 2   | 5  |

Commissioners who are not present at the meeting will be indicated by "NP"

Commissioners who abstain from a vote will be indicated by "AB"

# MARTIN LUTHER KING, Jr. COMMISSION SPECIAL COMMISSION MEETING 36 FLAT ROCK DRIVE, RIDGEFIELD, CT 06877 MONDAY, APRIL 9, 2012 12:30PM

Motion # 2 As Amended: To make a recommendation to Governor Dannel Malloy that he appoint Mark Robinson as the Chairman of the Martin Luther King Ir. Holiday Commission

|                     | Yea | Nay | AB | NP |
|---------------------|-----|-----|----|----|
| Carol Anderson      |     |     |    | Х  |
| Sarah Diaz          |     | Х   |    |    |
| William Dixon       |     |     |    | Х  |
| Bradford Howard     |     |     |    | Х  |
| Rodney Matthews     |     |     |    | Х  |
| Diane Paige-Blondet |     |     | Х  |    |
| Benjamin Rhodes     |     |     | Х  |    |
| Mark Robinson       | Х   |     |    |    |
| Hilda Santiago      |     |     |    | Х  |
| Joseph Teal         | Х   |     |    |    |
| James Williams      |     | Х   |    |    |
| TOTAL               | 2   | 2   | 2  | 5  |

Commissioners who are not present at the meeting will be indicated by "NP"

Commissioners who abstain from a vote will be indicated by "AB"

# MARTIN LUTHER KING, Jr. COMMISSION SPECIAL COMMISSION MEETING 36 FLAT ROCK DRIVE, RIDGEFIELD, CT 06877 MONDAY, APRIL 9, 2012 12:30PM

| Motion # 3 As Amended   | l: To recom  | mend that (  | Governor [ | Dannel |  |  |
|-------------------------|--------------|--------------|------------|--------|--|--|
| Malloy appoint a new Ch | nairman of t | the Martin I | uther King | g Jr.  |  |  |
| Holiday Commission.     |              |              |            |        |  |  |
|                         | Yea          | Nay          | AB         | NP     |  |  |
| Carol Anderson          |              |              |            | Х      |  |  |
| Sarah Diaz              | Х            |              |            |        |  |  |
| William Dixon           |              |              |            | Х      |  |  |
| Bradford Howard         |              |              |            | Х      |  |  |
| Rodney Matthews         |              |              |            | Х      |  |  |
| Diane Paige-Blondet     |              |              | Х          |        |  |  |
| Benjamin Rhodes         |              |              | Х          |        |  |  |
| Mark Robinson           |              |              | Х          |        |  |  |
| Hilda Santiago          |              |              |            | Х      |  |  |
| Joseph Teal             | Х            |              |            |        |  |  |
| James Williams          | Х            |              |            |        |  |  |
| TOTAL                   | 3            | 0            | 3          | 5      |  |  |

Commissioners who are not present at the meeting will be indicated by "NP"

Commissioners who abstain from a vote will be indicated by "AB"