STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION

Police Officer Standards and Training Council
Connecticut Police Academy

GENERAL NOTICE 22-03

To: Chief Law Enforcement Officers
Training Officers
Protective Services
Resident Troopers

From: Karen Boisvert %
Academy Administrator
Date: March 31, 2022
Subject: ARIDE Recertification Training Requirement

Clarification Advisory, and
NEW POSTC 50-ARIDE form

On January 1, 2022, and going forward, any officer designated as a Probationary Police Officer
according to POSTC regulation and POSTC data base, will be required to attend a one-time
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) training prior to their first three-
year recertification date.

A Probationary Police Officer designation according to POSTC regulation means any officer who
has not attained a police officer certification to act alone and may not have contact with
citizens unless such probationary candidates are accompanied by, and working in concert with,
a currently certified law enforcement officer (FTO).

In other words, the new ARIDE law only applies to any officer who was on FTO or in a Basic
Recruit Training Program as of January 1, 2022. Any officer who completed all basic training
requirements and their FTO period prior to January 1, 2022, is not required to attend this one-
time ARIDE training to recertify at the completion of their 3-year review period.

Training Officers can easily identify officers required to attend ARIDE because their FTEP-4A,
Certification of Field Training Requirement Completion form will show a completed date
on/after January 1, 2022.
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To simplify this one-time ARIDE requirement we have developed a POSTC — 50 ARIDE form
that must be completed and returned to our Certification Division. All officers mandated by this
law receive this form upon completion of all basic training requirements in a congratulatory
letter (reminding them of this requirement). Samples of the letter and form are attached.

Comparative Certifications: It should be noted this law may also apply to any comparative
certification who was unable to complete POSTC mandated training as of January 1, 2022, and
going forward. This requirement will be stated in their training program requirements
approved by POSTC.

Laterals: This one-time ARIDE does not apply to a lateral transfer UNLESS the lateral transfer is
a new officer who transfers to another law enforcement agency prior to recertifying for their
first 3-year review period and did not attend ARIDE.

Questions or comments may be directed to my attention either by e-mail

Karen.boisvert@ct.gov or phone 203-427-2601.

KB:cjm/be/kb



STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION

Police Officer Standards and Training Council
Connecticut Police Academy

March 30, 2022

Name

Police Department
Address

State

Dear Officer:

SUBJECT: Police Officer Certification, Obligations Und
Sections 7-294d, e Connecticut General Sta

Zompletion of. the Basic Recruit Training
sonally wish you a long, healthy, and

I would like to take this opportunity to congrat Jéte you Ot
Program of the Police Officer Standards and Tr;
rewarding career in law enforcement.

According to your training obligatio ou havg completed all of your Basic Training
obligations. Your date of complegi Ites the date of your Certification as a Police
Officer in the State of Connecticut. i a Certification card which attests to your legal

status as a police officer. It bearsani ke denifying you, but it is owned by the Police Officer
Standards and Training.(C ;
Having achieved your st ifi ice|@fficer, you are now obligated to comply with Section

7-294d(a)(8) CGS; and co ety 60) hours of Certified Review Training every three years in order

to comply with your statutery obligations, you must apply, through your agency's Chief Executive Officer, to
the Police Officeg ’

Additionally, in accordance with Public Act 21 — 1, you are required to attend Advanced Roadside Impaired
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Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) training prior to being recertified for the first time upon completion of the Basic
Recruit Training Program. Upcoming ARIDE training dates will be made available and posted to our webpage
under the Field Services Division link https://portal.ct.gov/POST/Field-Services/Field-Services.

To simplify this one-time ARIDE requirement and to ensure you are in compliance with the law, we have
developed the attached POSTC — 50 ARIDE form that must be completed and returned to our Certification
Division once you have completed ARIDE training.

Should you have any questions concerning this matter please feel free to cont isvert@ct.gov or
(203) 427 — 2601 (email is the preferred method of correspondence).

Again, my congratulations and best wishes.

Sincerely,

Karen Boisvert
Police Academy Administrator

Cc: Chief Executive Officer

KB:cjm
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT
POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING COUNCIL
ARIDE TRAINING COMPLETION REPORT

OFFICER: DEPARTMENT: POSTCID #
(Last) (First) (M1

“On and after January 1, 2022, each police officer who has not yet been recertified pursuant to section 7-294e of the
general statutes for the second time after receiving an initial certification, shall complete training and receive certification
in advanced roadside impaired driving enforcement prior to being recertified pursuant to section 7-294e of the general

statutes.” C.G.A. Bill 1201

DATE COMPLETED ARIDE TRAINING NAME OF ARIDE POST CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR INSTRUCTOR NUMBER

This form must be submitted to the POST Certification Division prior to the officers first recertification if that recertification
occurs after January 1, 2022. This form must be signed by both the officer and the training officer.

I have read and signed this form and attest that the information provided herein is true and accurate to the best of my
knowledge. | understand that intentionally making a false written statement that | do not believe to be true with the
intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of their official functions on a form bearing this notice is
punishable by law. False Statement in the 2" degree, under Connecticut General Statute § 53a-157b, is a class A

Misdemeanor.

Training Officer’s Signature Date Officer Signature Date

POSTC-50 ARIDE Rev. 12/2021




