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Legislative 
Liaison 

Anne Kleza 

Division 
Requesting This 
Proposal 

Bureau of Policy and Planning/Highway Safety Office 

Drafter Liz Keyes/Phil Mainiero 

 

 
Title of Proposal An Act Concerning Highway Safety 

Statutory 
Reference, if any 

Motorcycle Helmets - 14-289g 
Reckless Driving - 14-222, 14-296aa 
Driving While Ability Impaired - 14-227b, 14-227h, 14-215, 54-56g, et al. 

Brief Summary 
and Statement of 
Purpose 

These proposals aim to reduce preventable deaths and injuries on 
Connecticut’s roads. 

 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 
Summarize sections in groups where appropriate 

 

Motorcycle Helmets –This provision requires any individual who has obtained an 
endorsement for operating a motorcycle must wear a helmet for the first three years 
following said endorsement. 

 
Reckless Driving – This provision adds operating a mobile device on a limited access highway 
to the enumerated conduct which constitutes reckless driving pursuant to 14-222. 
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BACKGROUND 
 

Origin of Proposal [  ] New Proposal [ ] Resubmission 
 

 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
 

How does this 
proposal connect 
to the 10-year 

In 2022 in Connecticut, there were 239 driver/passenger fatalities 
which is an increase of 41.5% over the last 5 years. 2022 was the 
deadliest year on our roadways in decades. CTDOT believes that these 
proposals will help reverse these increasing trends on our roadways. 

Driving While Ability Impaired – Section 1 of this proposal makes operating a motor vehicle 
with a blood alcohol content between .05 and .08 a violation punishable by a monetary fine. 
It further requires any individual who is convicted of said violation to attend an intoxicated 
driver retraining program. Section 2 subjects an individual issued a ticket for said violation to 
the same licensure suspension provisions under 14-227b that would apply to an individual 
arrested for driving under the influence, excepting any requirements for ignition interlock 
devices. Section 3 requires that an individual arrested for operating under suspension due to 
said violation would be subject to the mandatory 48-hour vehicle impoundment under 14- 
227h, but Section 4 also states that an individual convicted of operating under suspension for 
said violation would not be subject to any criminal penalties under 14-215. Section 5 clarifies 
that a person convicted of said violation would still subsequently be eligible for the pretrial 
alcohol education program. 

If this is a resubmission, please share the prior bill number, the reason the bill did not 
move forward, and any changes made or conversations had since it was last proposed: 

 
Motorcycle Helmets-In 2023 CTDOT’s proposal was incorporated into Section 3 of HB 5917: 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE VISION ZERO COUNCIL and was 
reported joint favorably with a substitute from committee, it was removed before final 
passage in the house chamber. Recently Delaware has adopted a graduated motorcycle 
helmet law similar to this proposal 

 
Reckless Driving – New proposal 

 
Driving While Ability Impaired – In 2023, CTDOT submitted SB 1082 AN ACT IMPLEMENTING 
THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION REGARDING A 
REDUCTION IN BLOOD ALCOHOL LIMITS FOR IMPAIRED DRIVING AND BOATING, which 
lowered the blood alcohol content for impaired driving and boating from .08 to .05. The bill 
was favorably reported out by the Transportation Committee and subsequently referred by 
the Senate to the Judiciary Committee, where it was not acted upon. 
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vision for the 
agency’s mission? 

 

How will we 
measure if the 
proposal 
successfully 
accomplishes its 
goals? 

Lowering instances of DWAI, and crash statistics along with ticketing 
data can and will be analyzed by UCONN in its partnership with the 
state. 

Have there been 
changes in 
federal/state laws 
or regulations that 
make this 
legislation 
necessary? 

 

Has this proposal 
or a similar 
proposal been 
implemented in 
other states? If 
yes, to what 
result? 

Motorcycle Helmets – 19 states have laws that require all motorcycle 
operators to wear helmets. Delaware recently passed a law requiring 
motorcycle operators to wear a helmet during their first two years of 
endorsement. 

 
 
Driving While Ability Impaired – The term “driving while ability 
impaired” (DWAI) is the same term used in New York State for driving 
with a BAC over .05 but under .08. In NY, a first offense is an 
“infraction” punishable by a fine of up to $500, up to 15 days in prison 
and a licensure suspension of up to 90 days (for those over 21). A 
second offense is an “infraction” punishable by a fine of up to $750, up 
to 30 days in prison and a minimum 6-month license revocation. A third 
offense is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1500, up to 
150 days in prison and a minimum 6-month license revocation. By 
comparison, in Connecticut, a first offense for driving with a BAC that 
exceeds .08, the penalty is a fine of up to $1000, up to 6 months in 
prison, and a 45-day suspension, followed by one year driving only a 
vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock. 

 
 
Information on NY laws - c-39ddl-web.pdf (ny.gov) 

Have certain 
constituencies 
called for this 
proposal? 
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INTERAGENCY IMPACT 
List each affected agency. Copy the table as needed. 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT impact other agencies 

 
1. Agency Name Department of Motor Vehicles, Office of the Chief 

State’s Attorney 
Agency Contact (name, title)  

Date Contacted  

Status [ ] Approved [X] Talks Ongoing 

Open Issues, if any  

 
FISCAL IMPACT 
Include the section number(s) responsible for the fiscal impact and the anticipated impact 

 
[ x ] Check here if this proposal does NOT have a fiscal impact 

 
State the proposal results in a potential a revenue gain the general fund 

from increased fines 

Municipal (Include any 
municipal mandate that can 
be found within legislation) 

 

Federal  

Additional notes  
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MONITORING & EVALUATION PLAN 
If applicable, please describe the anticipated measurable outcomes and the data that will be 
used to track those outcomes. Include the section number(s) responsible for those outcomes 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT lead to any measurable outcomes 

 

 

ANYTHING ELSE WE SHOULD KNOW? 
 

 
 

Motorcycle Helmets 
 

Section. 1. Section 14-289g of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted 
in lieu thereof: 

 
(a) No person under eighteen years of age may (1) operate a motorcycle or a motor-driven 
cycle, as defined in section 14-1, or (2) be a passenger on a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle, 
unless such operator or passenger is wearing protective headgear of a type which conforms to 
the minimum specifications established in 49 CFR 571.218, as amended from time to time. [Any 
person who violates this section shall have committed an infraction and shall be fined not less 
than ninety dollars.] 

 
(b) No newly endorsed person may operate a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle, as defined in 
section 14-1, unless such operator or passenger is wearing protective headgear of a type which 
conforms to the minimum specifications established in 49 CFR 571.218, as amended from time 
to time. 

 

[(b)] (c) As used in this section, the term “motorcycle” shall not include “autocycle” and “newly 
endorsed person” means a person who, on or after July 1, 2024, has obtained an endorsement 
for a motorcycle within the previous three years. 
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(d) Any person who violates subsection (a) or (b) of this section shall have committed an 
infraction and shall be fined not less than ninety dollars. 

 
 
 

Reckless Driving 
 

Section 1. Subsection (a) section 14-222 of the general statutes is repealed and the following 
is substituted in lieu thereof: 

 
(a) No person shall operate any motor vehicle upon any public highway of the state, or any road 
of any specially chartered municipal association or of any district organized under the 
provisions of chapter 105, a purpose of which is the construction and maintenance of roads and 
sidewalks, or in any parking area for ten cars or more or upon any private road on which a 
speed limit has been established in accordance with the provisions of section 14-218a or 
section 14-307a or upon any school property recklessly, having regard to the width, traffic and 
use of such highway, road, school property or parking area, the intersection of streets and the 
weather conditions. The operation of a motor vehicle upon any such highway, road or parking 
area for ten cars or more at such a rate of speed as to endanger the life of any person other 
than the operator of such motor vehicle, or the operation, downgrade, upon any highway, of 
any motor vehicle with a commercial registration with the clutch or gears disengaged, or the 
operation knowingly of a motor vehicle with defective mechanism, shall constitute a violation 
of the provisions of this section. The operation of a motor vehicle upon any such highway, road 
or parking area for ten cars or more at a rate of speed greater than eighty-five miles per hour 
shall constitute a violation of the provisions of this section. The use of any hand-held mobile 
telephone or mobile electronic device in violation of 14-296aa while operating a motor vehicle 
upon any limited access highway as defined in section 13b-27, shall constitute a violation of the 
provisions of this section. 

 

Sec. 2. Subpart (1) of subsection (b) of Section 14-296aa of the general statutes is repealed 
and the following is substituted in lieu thereof 

 
(b) (1) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection and subsections (c) and (d) of this 

section, and section 14-222 as amended by this act, no person shall operate a motor vehicle 
upon a highway, as defined in section 14-1, while using a hand-held mobile telephone to 
engage in a call or while using a mobile electronic device. An operator of a motor vehicle who 
types, sends or reads a text message with a hand-held mobile telephone or mobile electronic 
device while operating a motor vehicle shall be in violation of this section, except that if such 
operator is driving a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in section 14-1, such operator shall 
be charged with a violation of subsection (e) of this section. 
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Driving While Ability Impaired 
 

Section 1. (NEW). (a) No person shall operate a motor vehicle while ability impaired. A person 
commits the offense of operating a motor vehicle while ability impaired if such person operates 
a motor vehicle while having a blood alcohol content greater than or equal to five-hundredths 
of one per cent or more of alcohol, by weight, but less than eight-hundredths of one percent of 
alcohol. 

(b) Any person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall, for a first offense, be fined not 
less than one hundred dollars but not more than two hundred dollars and, for each subsequent 
offense, shall be fined not less than three hundred dollars but not more than five hundred 
dollars. 

(c) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall require any motor vehicle operator who has been 
convicted of a violation of subsection (a) of this section to attend an intoxicated driver 
retraining program. The Commissioner shall approve the content of any such program, which 
shall (1) review principles of motor vehicle operation relative to safe driving practices, including 
the nature of and the medical, biological and physiological effects of alcohol and drugs and 
their impact on the operator of a motor vehicle, (2) the dangers associated with the operation 
of a motor vehicle after the consumption of alcohol or drugs by the operator including the 
problems of alcohol and drug abuse, and (3) the penalties for alcohol and drug-related motor 
vehicle violations, and (4) emphasize the need to practice safe driving behavior. The retraining 
program shall be offered by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by any other organization 
certified by the commissioner to conduct such program in person in a congregate setting, 
through distance learning or through a combination of both in-person and distance learning, 
provided such distance learning has interactive components such as mandatory interactions, 
participation or testing. Any drivers' school, as defined in section 14-68, that meets the 
licensure requirements of part IV of this chapter shall be eligible to seek certification to offer 
the intoxicated driver retraining program. The commissioner shall determine the number of 
program providers necessary to serve the needs of the public. Each organization or drivers' 
school seeking certification or recertification to conduct such retraining program shall submit 
an application to the department in such form as the commissioner shall require and an 
application fee of three hundred fifty dollars. Each such applicant shall: (A) Be registered to do 
business in this state and continuously maintain good standing with the office of the Secretary 
of the State; (B) file and continuously maintain a surety bond in the amount of fifty thousand 
dollars. Such bond shall be conditioned upon compliance with the provisions of any state or 
federal law or regulation concerning the conduct of an intoxicated driver retraining program 
and provided as indemnity for any loss or expense sustained by either the state or any person 
by reason of any acts or omissions of the program provider. Such bond shall be executed in the 
name of the State of Connecticut for the benefit of any aggrieved party, but the penalty of the 
bond shall not be invoked except upon order of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles after a 
hearing held before the commissioner in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54; (C) have 
a permanent place of business in this state where all intoxicated driver retraining program 
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records shall be maintained and accessible to the commissioner during normal business hours; 
(D) submit for approval by the commissioner a detailed curriculum and lesson plan, including 
any changes to such curriculum and lesson plan, which shall be used in each intoxicated 
retraining class; and (E) electronically transmit information concerning enrollment and class 
completion to the commissioner at such times and in such form as the commissioner shall 
prescribe. Prior to the certification of an applicant, the commissioner shall investigate the 
applicant's character, driving history and criminal history. If the applicant is a business entity, 
such investigation shall include the principals and officers of such entity. The applicant shall 
submit to the commissioner any information pertaining to current or past criminal or civil 
actions. The certification of a program provider by the commissioner shall not be transferable 
and shall be valid for a two-year period. Recertification of a provider shall be at the discretion 
of the commissioner and in such form and manner determined by the commissioner. 

 

(d) The commissioner may adopt regulations in accordance with chapter 54 to implement the 
provisions of subsections (a) and (b) of this section. 

 
 

Sec 2. Section 14-227b of the General Statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in 
lieu thereof: 

(a) Any person who operates a motor vehicle in this state shall be deemed to have given such 
person's consent to: (1) A chemical test of such person's blood, breath or urine; and (2) a 
nontestimonial portion of a drug influence evaluation conducted by a drug recognition expert. 
If such person is a minor, such person's parent or parents or guardian shall also be deemed to 
have given their consent for such test or evaluation. As used in this section, “motor vehicle” 
includes a snowmobile and all-terrain vehicle, as such terms are defined in section 14-379. 

(b) (1) A police officer who has placed a person under arrest for a violation of section 14-227a, 
14-227m, [or] subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227n, or detained a person 
for a violation of section 1 of this act, may request that such person submit to a blood, breath 
or urine test at the option of the police officer, a drug influence evaluation conducted by a drug 
recognition expert, or both, after such person has been (A) apprised of such person's 
constitutional rights; (B) afforded a reasonable opportunity to telephone an attorney prior to 
the performance of such test or evaluation; (C) informed that evidence of any refusal to submit 
to such test or evaluation shall be admissible in accordance with subsection (e) of section 14- 
227 and may be used against such person in any criminal prosecution, except that refusal to 
submit to the testimonial portions of a drug influence evaluation shall not be considered 
evidence of refusal of such evaluation for purposes of any criminal prosecution; and (D) 
informed that such person's license or operating privilege may be suspended in accordance 
with the provisions of this section if (i) such person refuses to submit to such test or the 
nontestimonial portion of a drug influence evaluation, (ii) such person submits to such test and 
the results of such test indicate that such person has an elevated blood alcohol content or is 
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ability impaired in violation of section 1 of this act, or (iii) the officer concludes, through 
investigation, that such person was operating a motor vehicle under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both. 

(2) If the person refuses to submit to any test or drug influence evaluation, the test or 
evaluation shall not be given, except if the person refuses or is unable to submit to a blood test, 
the police officer shall designate another test to be taken. If a person submits to a breath test 
and the police officer, for reasonable cause, requests an additional chemical test of a different 
type to detect the presence of a drug or drugs other than or in addition to alcohol, the officer 
may administer such test, except that if such person refuses or is unable to submit to a blood 
test, the officer shall designate a urine test to be taken. The police officer shall make a notation 
upon the records of the law enforcement unit, as defined in section 7-294a, that such officer 
informed the person that such person's license or operating privilege may be suspended if (A) 
such person refused to submit to such test or nontestimonial portion of a drug influence 
evaluation; (B) such person submitted to such test and the results of such test indicated that 
such person had an elevated blood alcohol content or is ability impaired; or (C) the officer 
concludes, through investigation, that such person was operating a motor vehicle under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both. 

(c) If the person arrested refuses to submit to such test or nontestimonial portion of a drug 
influence evaluation or submits to such test, commenced within two hours of the time of 
operation, and the results of such test indicate that such person has an elevated blood alcohol 
content or is ability impaired, the police officer, acting on behalf of the Commissioner of Motor 
Vehicles, shall immediately revoke and take possession of the motor vehicle operator's license 
or, if such person is not licensed or is a nonresident, suspend the operating privilege of such 
person, for a twenty-four-hour period. The police officer shall prepare a report of the incident 
and shall mail or otherwise transmit in accordance with this subsection the report and a copy of 
the results of any chemical test to the Department of Motor Vehicles within three business 
days. The report shall contain such information as prescribed by the Commissioner of Motor 
Vehicles and shall be subscribed and sworn to under penalty of false statement as provided in 
section 53a-157b by the arresting officer. If the person arrested refused to submit to such test 
or evaluation, the report shall be endorsed by a third person who witnessed such refusal. The 
report shall set forth the grounds for the officer's belief that there was probable cause to arrest 
such person for a violation of section 14-227a or 14-227m or subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection 
(a) of section 14-227n or detain such person for a violation of section 1 of this act and shall 
state that such person had refused to submit to such test or evaluation when requested by such 
police officer to do so or that such person submitted to such test, commenced within two hours 
of the time of operation, and the results of such test indicated that such person had an 
elevated blood alcohol content or is ability impaired. A drug influence evaluation need not be 
commenced within two hours of the time of operation. The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles 
may accept a police report under this subsection that is prepared and transmitted as an 
electronic record, including electronic signature or signatures, subject to such security 
procedures as the commissioner may specify and in accordance with the provisions of sections 
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1-266 to 1-286, inclusive. In any hearing conducted pursuant to the provisions of subsection (g) 
of this section, it shall not be a ground for objection to the admissibility of a police report that it 
is an electronic record prepared by electronic means. 

(d) If a police officer who has placed a person under arrest for a violation of section 14-227a or 
14-227m or subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227n or detained a person for a 
violation of section 1 of this act does not request that such person submit to a blood, breath or 
urine test under subsection (b) of this section, or obtains results from a test administered under 
subsection (b) of this section that indicate that the person does not have an elevated blood 
alcohol content or is ability impaired: 

 

(1) Advise such person that such person's license or operating privilege may be suspended in 
accordance with the provisions of this section if such police officer concludes, through 
investigation, that such person was operating a motor vehicle under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both; and 

(2) Submit a report to the commissioner in accordance with the procedure set forth in 
subsection (c) of this section and, if such report contains the results of a blood, breath or urine 
test that does not show an elevated blood alcohol content, or is ability impaired, such report 
shall conform to the requirements in subsection (c) of this section for reports that contain 
results showing an elevated blood alcohol content or is ability impaired. In any report 
submitted under this subdivision, the officer shall document (A) the basis for the officer's belief 
that there was probable cause to arrest such person for a violation of section 14-227a or 14- 
227m or subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227n or detain such person for a 
violation of section 1 of this act and (B) whether the officer concluded, through investigation, 
that the person was operating a motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any 
drug, or both. With such report, the officer may submit other supporting documentation 
indicating the person's intoxication by liquor or any drug, or both. If the officer concludes, 
through investigation, that the person was operating a motor vehicle under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both, the officer shall immediately revoke and take 
possession of the motor vehicle operator's license or, if such person is not licensed or is a 
nonresident, suspend the operating privilege of such person for a twenty-four-hour period. 

(e) (1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, upon receipt of a report 
submitted under subsection (c) or (d) of this section, the commissioner may suspend any 
operator's license or operating privilege of such person effective as of a date certain, which 
date certain shall be not later than thirty days from the later of the date such person received 
(A) notice of such person's arrest by the police officer, or (B) the results of a blood or urine test 
or a drug influence evaluation. Any person whose operator's license or operating privilege has 
been suspended in accordance with this subdivision shall automatically be entitled to a hearing 
before the commissioner to be held in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54 and prior 
to the effective date of the suspension. The commissioner shall send a suspension notice to 
such person informing such person that such person's operator's license or operating privilege 
is suspended as of a date certain and that such person is entitled to a hearing prior to the 
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effective date of the suspension and may schedule such hearing by contacting the Department 
of Motor Vehicles not later than seven days after the date of mailing of such suspension notice. 

(2) Upon receipt of a report that (A) the person's arrest involved an accident resulting in a 
fatality, or (B) the person has previously had such person's operator's license or operating 
privilege suspended under the provisions of section 14-227a, 14-227m or 14-227n or issued a 
citation to a person for a violation of section 1 of this act during the ten-year period preceding 
the present arrest, the commissioner may suspend any operator's license or operating privilege 
of such person effective as of the date specified in a notice of such suspension to such person. 
A person whose operator's license or operating privilege has been suspended in accordance 
with this subdivision shall automatically be entitled to a hearing before the commissioner, to be 
held in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54. The commissioner shall send a suspension 
notice to such person informing such person that such person's operator's license or operating 
privilege is suspended as of the date specified in such suspension notice, and that such person 
is entitled to a hearing and may schedule such hearing by contacting the Department of Motor 
Vehicles not later than seven days after the date of mailing of such suspension notice. Any 
suspension issued under this subdivision shall remain in effect until such suspension is affirmed 
under subsection (f) of this section or such operator's license or operating privilege is reinstated 
in accordance with subsection (h) of this section. 

(f) If such person does not contact the department to schedule a hearing, the commissioner 
shall affirm the suspension contained in the suspension notice for the appropriate period 
specified in subsection (i) of this section. 

(g) (1) If such person contacts the department to schedule a hearing, the department shall 
assign a date, time and place for the hearing, which date shall be prior to the effective date of 
the suspension, except that, with respect to a person whose operator's license or operating 
privilege is suspended in accordance with subdivision (2) of subsection (e) of this section, such 
hearing shall be scheduled not later than thirty days after such person contacts the 
department. At the request of such person, the hearing officer or the department and upon a 
showing of good cause, the commissioner may grant one or more continuances. 

(2) A hearing based on a report submitted under subsection (c) of this section shall be limited 
to a determination of the following issues: (A) Did the police officer have probable cause to 
arrest the person for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor 
or any drug, or both; (B) was such person placed under arrest or issued a citation for a violation 
of section 1 of this act; (C) did such person (i) refuse to submit to such test or nontestimonial 
portion of a drug influence evaluation, or (ii) submit to such test, commenced within two hours 
of the time of operation, and the results of such test indicated that such person had an 
elevated blood alcohol content or is ability impaired; and (D) was such person operating the 
motor vehicle. 

(3) A hearing based on a report submitted under subsection (d) of this section shall be limited 
to a determination of the following issues: (A) Did the police officer have probable cause to 
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arrest the person for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor 
or any drug, or both; (B) was such person placed under arrest; (C) was such person operating a 
motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both; and (D) was such 
person operating the motor vehicle. 

(4) In a hearing under this subsection, the results of the test, if administered, shall be 
sufficient to indicate the ratio of alcohol in the blood of such person at the time of operation, 
provided such test was commenced within two hours of the time of operation. The fees of any 
witness summoned to appear at a hearing under this subsection shall be the same as provided 
by the general statutes for witnesses in criminal cases. Notwithstanding the provisions of 
subsection (a) of section 52-143, any subpoena summoning a police officer as a witness shall be 
served not less than seventy-two hours prior to the designated time of the hearing. 

(5) In a hearing based on a report submitted under subsection (d) of this section, evidence of 
operation under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both shall be admissible. 
Such evidence may include, but need not be limited to, (A) the police officer's observations of 
intoxication, as documented in a report submitted to the commissioner under subsection (d) of 
this section; (B) the results of any chemical test administered under this section or a toxicology 
report certified by the Division of Scientific Services within the Department of Emergency 
Services and Public Protection; (C) hospital or medical records obtained in accordance with 
subsection (j) of this section or by the consent of the operator; (D) the results of any tests 
conducted by, or the report of, an officer trained in advanced roadside impaired driving 
enforcement; or (E) reports of drug recognition experts. 

(h) If, after a hearing under subdivision (2) of subsection (g) of this section, the commissioner 
finds in the negative on any one of the issues specified in subparagraph (A), (B), (C) or (D) of 
said subdivision, the commissioner shall reinstate such license or operating privilege. If, after a 
hearing under subdivision (3) of subsection (g) of this section, the commissioner finds in the 
negative on any one of the issues specified in subparagraph (A), (B), (C) or (D) of said 
subdivision, the commissioner shall reinstate such license or operating privilege. If, after such 
hearing under subdivision (2) or (3) of subsection (g) of this section, the commissioner does not 
find on any one of said issues in the negative or if such person fails to appear at such hearing, 
the commissioner shall affirm the suspension contained in the suspension notice for the 
appropriate period specified in subsection (i) of this section. The commissioner shall render a 
decision at the conclusion of such hearing and send a notice of the decision by bulk certified 
mail or by personal delivery, as defined in section 4-166, to such person. The notice of such 
decision sent by bulk certified mail or by personal delivery to the address of such person as 
shown by the records of the commissioner shall be sufficient notice to such person that such 
person's operator's license or operating privilege is reinstated or suspended, as the case may 
be. A notice of the decision shall only be transmitted by personal delivery if the operator has 
consented, in writing, to such personal delivery. 

(i) (1) The commissioner shall suspend the operator's license or operating privilege of a person 
who did not contact the department to schedule a hearing, who failed to appear at a hearing, 
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or against whom a decision was issued, after a hearing, pursuant to subsection (h) of this 
section, as of the effective date contained in the suspension notice, for a period of forty-five 
days. Except for those persons who have committed an infraction under section 1 this act [A]as 
a condition for the restoration of such operator's license or operating privilege, such person 
shall be required to install an ignition interlock device on each motor vehicle owned or 
operated by such person and, upon such restoration, be prohibited from operating a motor 
vehicle unless such motor vehicle is equipped with a functioning, approved ignition interlock 
device, as defined in section 14-227j, for the longer of either (A) the period prescribed in 
subdivision (2) of this subsection for the present arrest and suspension, or (B) the period 
prescribed in subdivision (1), (2) or (3) of subsection (g) of section 14-227a or subdivision (1), (2) 
or (3) of subsection (c) of section 14-227m or subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (c) of section 
14-227n for the present arrest and conviction, if any. 

(2) (A) A person twenty-one years of age or older at the time of the arrest who submitted to 
a test and the results of such test indicated that such person had an elevated blood alcohol 
content, or was found to have been operating a motor vehicle under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both based on a report filed pursuant to subsection (d) of this 
section, shall install and maintain an ignition interlock device for the following periods: (i) For a 
first suspension under this section, six months; (ii) for a second suspension under this section, 
one year; and (iii) for a third or subsequent suspension under this section, two years; (B) a 
person under twenty-one years of age at the time of the arrest who submitted to a test and the 
results of such test indicated that such person had an elevated blood alcohol content, or was 
found to have been operating a motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any 
drug, or both based on a report filed pursuant to subsection (d) of this section, shall install and 
maintain an ignition interlock device for the following periods: (i) For a first suspension under 
this section, one year; (ii) for a second suspension under this section, two years; and (iii) for a 
third or subsequent suspension under this section, three years; and (C) a person, regardless of 
age, who refused to submit to a test or nontestimonial portion of a drug influence evaluation 
shall install and maintain an ignition interlock device for the following periods: (i) For a first 
suspension under this section, one year; (ii) for a second suspension under this section, two 
years; and (iii) for a third or subsequent suspension, under this section, three years. 

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection, a person 
whose motor vehicle operator's license or operating privilege has been permanently revoked 
upon a third offense pursuant to subsection (g) of section 14-227a or subsection (c) of section 
14-227m shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in subdivision (2) of subsection (i) of 
section 14-111. 

(j) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (b) to (i), inclusive, of this section, any police 
officer who obtains the results of a test of a blood sample taken from or a urine sample 
provided by an operator of a motor vehicle who was involved in an accident and suffered or 
allegedly suffered physical injury in such accident, or who was otherwise deemed by a police 
officer to require treatment or observation at a hospital, shall notify the commissioner and 
submit to the commissioner a written report if such results indicate that such person had an 
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elevated blood alcohol content, is ability impaired, or any quantity of an intoxicating liquor or 
any drug, or both, in such person's blood, and if such person was arrested for violation of 
section 14-227a or 14-227m or subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227n or 
issued a citation pursuant to section 1 of this act. The report shall be made on a form approved 
by the commissioner containing such information as the commissioner prescribes and shall be 
subscribed and sworn to under penalty of false statement, as provided in section 53a-157b, by 
the police officer. The commissioner may, after notice and an opportunity for hearing, which 
shall be conducted by a hearing officer on behalf of the commissioner in accordance with 
chapter 54, suspend the motor vehicle operator's license or operating privilege of such person 
for the appropriate period of time specified in subsection (i) of this section and require such 
person to install and maintain an ignition interlock device for the appropriate period of time 
prescribed in subsection (i) of this section. Each hearing conducted under this subsection shall 
be limited to a determination of the following issues: (1) Whether the police officer had 
probable cause to arrest the person for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or drug, or both; (2) whether such person was placed under arrest; (3) 
whether such person was operating the motor vehicle; (4) whether (A) the results of the 
analysis of the blood or urine of such person indicate that such person had an elevated blood 
alcohol content or is ability impaired, or (B) the person was operating a motor vehicle under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both; and (5) in the event that a blood sample 
was taken, whether the blood sample was obtained in accordance with conditions for 
admissibility and competence as evidence as set forth in subsection (k) of section 14-227a. If, 
after such hearing, the commissioner finds on any one of the said issues in the negative, the 
commissioner shall not impose a suspension. The fees of any witness summoned to appear at 
the hearing shall be the same as provided by the general statutes for witnesses in criminal 
cases, as provided in section 52-260. 

(k) The provisions of this section shall apply with the same effect to the refusal by any person to 
submit to an additional chemical test as provided in subparagraph (E) of subdivision (1) of 
subsection (b) of section 14-227a. 

(l) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any person whose physical condition is such 
that, according to competent medical advice, such test would be inadvisable. 

(m) The state shall pay the reasonable charges of any physician who, at the request of a law 
enforcement unit, as defined in section 7-294a, takes a blood sample for purposes of a test 
under the provisions of this section. 

(n) For the purposes of this section, “elevated blood alcohol content” means (1) a ratio of 
alcohol in the blood of such person that is eight-hundredths of one per cent or more of alcohol, 
by weight, (2) if such person is operating a commercial motor vehicle, a ratio of alcohol in the 
blood of such person that is four-hundredths of one per cent or more of alcohol, by weight, or 
(3) if such person is less than twenty-one years of age, a ratio of alcohol in the blood of such 
person that is two-hundredths of one per cent or more of alcohol, by weight and “ability 
impaired” means a rational of alcohol in the blood of such person that is greater than or equal 
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to five-hundredths of one per cent or more of alcohol, by weight, but less than eight- 
hundredths of one percent of alcohol, by weight. 

 

(o) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall adopt regulations, in accordance with chapter 54, 
to implement the provisions of this section. 

 
 

Sec. 3. Section 14-227h of the General Statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in 
lieu thereof: 

Any police officer who arrests a person for a violation of section 14-227a or 14-227m or 
subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227n or section 1 of this act during the 
period such person's operator's license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state is under 
suspension or revocation shall cause the motor vehicle such person was operating at the time 
of the offense to be impounded for a period of forty-eight hours after such arrest. The owner of 
such motor vehicle may reclaim such motor vehicle after the expiration of such forty-eight-hour 
period upon payment of all towing and storage costs. 

 
 

Sec. 4. Subsection (c) of section 14-215 of the General Statutes is repealed and the following 
is substituted in lieu thereof: 

(c) (1) Any person who operates any motor vehicle during the period such person's operator's 
license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state is under suspension or revocation on 
account of a violation of section 14-227a or 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of 
section 14-227n or section 53a-56b or 53a-60d or pursuant to section 14-227b, unless such 
suspension is for a violation of section 1 of this act, or in violation of a restriction or limitation 
placed on such person's operator's license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state by 
the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles pursuant to subsection (i) of section 14-227a or pursuant 
to an order of the court under subsection (b) of section 14-227j, shall be fined not less than five 
hundred dollars or more than one thousand dollars and imprisoned not more than one year, 
and, in the absence of any mitigating circumstances as determined by the court, thirty 
consecutive days of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced in any manner. 

(2) Any person who operates any motor vehicle during the period such person's operator's 
license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state is under suspension or revocation on 
account of a second violation of section 14-227a or 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) of 
subsection (a) of section 14-227n or section 53a-56b or 53a-60d or for the second time 
pursuant to section 14-227b, unless such suspensions are for a violation of section 1 of this act, 
or in violation of a restriction or limitation placed for the second time on such person's 
operator's license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state by the Commissioner of 
Motor Vehicles pursuant to subsection (i) of section 14-227a or pursuant to an order of the 
court under subsection (b) of section 14-227j, shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars 
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or more than one thousand dollars and imprisoned not more than two years, and, in the 
absence of any mitigating circumstances as determined by the court, one hundred twenty 
consecutive days of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced in any manner. 

(3) Any person who operates any motor vehicle during the period such person's operator's 
license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state is under suspension or revocation on 
account of a third or subsequent violation of section 14-227a or 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) 
of subsection (a) of section 14-227n or section 53a-56b or 53a-60d or for the third or 
subsequent time pursuant to section 14-227b, unless such suspensions are for a violation of 
section 1 of this act, or in violation of a restriction placed for the third or subsequent time on 
such person's operator's license or right to operate a motor vehicle in this state by the 
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles pursuant to subsection (i) of section 14-227a or pursuant to an 
order of the court under subsection (b) of section 14-227j, shall be fined not less than five 
hundred dollars or more than one thousand dollars and imprisoned not more than three years, 
and, in the absence of any mitigating circumstances as determined by the court, one year of the 
sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced in any manner. 

(4) The court shall specifically state in writing for the record the mitigating circumstances, or 
the absence thereof. No person shall be subject to the penalties of this section for operating a 
motor vehicle during the period such person's operator's license or right to operate a motor 
vehicle in this state is under suspension or revocation pursuant to section 14-227b if such 
suspension was pursuant to a violation of section 1 of this act. 

 
 

Sec. 5 Subpart (1) of subsection (a) of Section 54-56g of the General Statutes is repealed and 
the following is substituted in lieu thereof: 

(a)(1) There shall be a pretrial alcohol education program for persons charged with a violation 
of section 14-227a, 14-227g or 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14- 
227n or section 15-133 or 15-140n. Upon application by any such person for participation in 
such program, the court shall, but only as to the public, order the court file sealed, and such 
person shall pay to the court an application fee of one hundred dollars and a nonrefundable 
evaluation fee of one hundred dollars, except as provided for in subsection (i) of this section, 
and such person shall state under oath, in open court or before any person designated by the 
clerk and duly authorized to administer oaths, under penalties of perjury that: (A) If such person 
is charged with a violation of section 14-227a, 14-227g or 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) of 
subsection (a) of section 14-227n, subsection (d) of section 15-133 or section 15-140n, such 
person has not had such program invoked in such person's behalf within the preceding ten 
years for a violation of section 14-227a, 14-227g or 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) of 
subsection (a) of section 14-227n, subsection (d) of section 15-133 or section 15-140n, (B) such 
person has not been convicted of a violation of section 53a-56b or 53a-60d, a violation of 
subsection (a) of section 14-227a before, on or after October 1, 1981, a violation of subdivision 
(1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227a on or after October 1, 1985, a violation of section 



Agency Legislative Proposal – 2024 Session 
Document Name: 

17 

Revised 8/10/2023 

 

 

14-227g, a violation of section 14-227m or a violation of subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) 
of section 14-227n, (C) such person has not been convicted of a violation of section 15-132a, 
subsection (d) of section 15-133, section 15-140l or section 15-140n, (D) such person has not 
been convicted in any other state at any time of an offense the essential elements of which are 
substantially the same as section 53a-56b, 53a-60d, 15-132a, 15-140l or 15-140n, subdivision 
(1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227a, section 14-227m, subdivision (1) or (2) of 
subsection (a) of section 14-227n or subsection (d) of section 15-133, and (E) notice has been 
given by such person, by registered or certified mail on a form prescribed by the Office of the 
Chief Court Administrator, to each victim who sustained a serious physical injury, as defined in 
section 53a-3, which was caused by such person's alleged violation, that such person has 
applied to participate in the pretrial alcohol education program and that such victim has an 
opportunity to be heard by the court on the application. A conviction for a violation of section 1 
of this act shall not prohibit a person’s participation in the pretrial alcohol education program. 

 
 

Would also require potential amendments to numerous other statutes that reference 14-227a 
and 14-227b, for example: CGS 14-44 (License endorsement for operators of commercial motor 
vehicles used for passenger transportation), 14-44k (Disqualification from operation of 
commercial motor vehicles), 14-212a, (Highway and municipal road construction zones), 14-227i 
(Records of police investigation of defendant re operation of motor vehicle while under influence 
of, or impaired by, intoxicating liquor or drugs), 14-227m (Operation of motor vehicle with a 
child passenger while under the influence of liquor or drug), etc. 
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BACKGROUND 
 

Origin of Proposal [ X ] New Proposal [ ] Resubmission 
 

 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
 

How does this 
proposal connect 
to the 10-year 
vision for the 
agency’s mission? 

 

How will we 
measure if the 
proposal 
successfully 
accomplishes its 
goals? 

 

Have there been 
changes in 
federal/state laws 
or regulations that 
make this 

Item C - Yes. The proposed changes are necessary to allow the use of 
bicycle traffic control signal faces in CT. The City of New Haven 
obtained interim approval regarding the optional use of a bicycle signal 
face from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) in 2017. 

A. Section 1 - Increases the maximum fine OSTA may issue from five to ten thousand 
dollars. 

B. Sections 2&3 – technical changes to major traffic generators. 
C. Section 4- Technical change to allow the use of bicycle traffic control signals 
D. Sections 5&6- Authorizes municipalities to establish traffic authorities that are 

independent of the municipal board of police commissioners or other municipal 
official or body. 

E. Section 7 allows OSTA to establish variable speed limits to address congestion, road 
construction or any other condition that affects the safe and orderly movement of 
traffic on the roadway. 

If this is a resubmission, please share the prior bill number, the reason the bill did not 
move forward, and any changes made or conversations had since it was last proposed: 
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legislation 
necessary? 

 

Has this proposal 
or a similar 
proposal been 
implemented in 
other states? If 
yes, to what 
result? 

Item C- Yes, according to FHWA, numerous states and local agencies 
have submitted requests for use of bicycle signal faces including the 
City of Denver, CO; the City of Long Beach, CA; the City of Washington, 
D.C.; the City of Minneapolis, MN; the City of Alexandria, VA; the 
County of Arlington, VA; the City of Madison, WI; the Oregon 
Department of Transportation; the County of Clackamas, OR; the City of 
Canton, OH; the City of Sparks, NV; the City of Chicago, IL; the City of 
Lakeland, FL; and the City of Ithaca, NY. 

 
 
Item E- As of 2022, at least 20 states deploy variable speed limits, 
including two in New England, New Hampshire and Maine. 

Have certain 
constituencies 
called for this 
proposal? 

 

 

INTERAGENCY IMPACT 
List each affected agency. Copy the table as needed. 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT impact other agencies 

 
1. Agency Name  

Agency Contact (name, title)  

Date Contacted  

Status [ ] Approved [ ] Talks Ongoing 

Open Issues, if any  

 
FISCAL IMPACT 
Include the section number(s) responsible for the fiscal impact and the anticipated impact 
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[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT have a fiscal impact 
 

State  

Municipal (Include any 
municipal mandate that can 
be found within legislation) 

 

Federal  

Additional notes  

 
MONITORING & EVALUATION PLAN 
If applicable, please describe the anticipated measurable outcomes and the data that will be 
used to track those outcomes. Include the section number(s) responsible for those outcomes 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT lead to any measurable outcomes 

 

 

ANYTHING ELSE WE SHOULD KNOW? 
 

Item B- Regarding administrative review fees, typically, it takes 113 labor hours of all the 
involved CTDOT offices to review and approve an application for an Administrative Decision 
(AD) and 222 hours to review and approve a Certificate. The cost for an AD is $6,250 and 
$13,800 for a Certificate. OSTA processes approximately 80 ADs and 10 Certificates. 

 
Item C - The City of New Haven is currently operating bicycle signals and the OSTA has not 
granted the necessary permission because bicycle signals are not allowed under the statute. 
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Section 1. Section 14-314 of the General Statutes is repealed and the following is substituted 
in lieu thereof: 

 
Any person, firm or corporation failing to comply with any order made pursuant to any 
provision of this chapter shall be fined not more than [five] ten thousand dollars or imprisoned 
not more than thirty days or both and shall be subject to the provisions of section 14-111. Any 
person, firm or corporation failing to comply with any traffic control signal, sign, marking or 
other device placed and maintained upon the highway, or with any regulation adopted 
pursuant to any provision of this chapter, by the Office of the State Traffic Administration or the 
traffic authority of any city, town or borough shall be deemed to have committed an infraction, 
if no other penalty is provided by law. Traveling at a greater rate of speed than is reasonable as 
provided in section 14-218a shall not be deemed to be a failure to comply with the provisions 
of this section but shall be deemed to be the commission of an infraction within the provisions 
of said section 14-218a. 

 
Sec 2. Section 14-311 of the General Statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in 
lieu thereof: 

 
(a) No person, firm, corporation, state agency or municipal agency or any combination thereof 

shall build, expand, establish or operate any open air theater, shopping center or other 
development generating large volumes of traffic that substantially affect state highway traffic 

Item D - The current law designates different local bodies or officials to serve as a 
municipalities Local Traffic Authority (LTA) depending on whether the municipality has a 
Board of Police Commissioners. The role of the Board of Police Commissioners has evolved 
over time and is primarily now involved the general management and supervision of a police 
department, budget matters, assets, as well as hiring, promotions, and discipline. In many 
cases, a Board of Police Commissioners may not have the necessary transportation 
background, knowledge or credentials required to effectively carry out the role of the LTA. 
This proposal provides an opportunity for municipalities to create a separate traffic authority 
if they elect to do so. 

 
Item D - PA 22-40 authorized the Commissioner of Transportation to establish the speed limit 
on limited access highways during a weather event or an emergency, provided the 
commissioner erects electronic signs indicating such speed limit. This proposal would allow 
OSTA to establish variable speed limits (VSL) on any state highway for congestion, roadway 
construction or another other condition that affects the safe and orderly movement of traffic 
on a roadway. VSL is a FHWA proven safety countermeasures and can reduce up to 34% of 
total crashes on freeways. 
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within this state, as determined by the Office of the State Traffic Administration, until such 
person, firm, corporation or agency has procured from said office a certificate that the operation 
thereof will not imperil the safety of the public, except that any development, including any 
development to be built in phases, without regard to when such phases are approved by the 
municipal planning and zoning agency or other responsible municipal agency, that contains a 
total of one hundred or fewer residential units shall not be required to obtain such certificate if 
such development is a residential-only development and is not part of a mixed-use development 
that contains office, retail or other such nonresidential uses, provided if any future development 
increases the total number of residential units to more than one hundred, and such total 
substantially affects state highway traffic within the state as determined by the Office of the State 
Traffic Administration, a certificate shall be procured from said office. 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection or permitted by the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration, no local building official shall issue a building or foundation permit to any person, 
firm, corporation, state agency or municipal agency to build, expand, establish or operate such a 
development until the person, firm, corporation or agency provides to such official a copy of the 
certificate issued under this section by the office. No local building official shall issue a certificate 
of occupancy to any such person, firm, corporation or agency for such development until the 
conditions of the certificate issued by the office under this section have been satisfied. If the 
office determines that a local building official has issued a foundation or building permit without 
office approval or that any person, firm, corporation or agency has (1) started building, 
expanding, establishing or operating such a development without first obtaining a certificate or 
administrative decision from said office, or (2) has failed to comply with the conditions of such a 
certificate or administrative decision, it shall order the local building official, person, firm, 
corporation or agency to (A) cease constructing, expanding, establishing or operating the 
development, or (B) comply with the conditions of the certificate within a reasonable period of 
time. If such person, firm, corporation or agency fails to (i) cease such work, or (ii) comply with 
an order of the office within such time as specified by the office, the office may make an 
application to the superior court for the judicial district of Hartford or the judicial district where 
the development is located enjoining the construction, expansion, establishment or operation of 
such development. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, for single family home 
building lots within a subdivision of land, for which a certificate is required and which do not have 
a direct exit or entrance on, or directly abut or adjoin any state highway, no local building official 
shall issue a certificate of occupancy to any person, firm, corporation, state agency or municipal 
agency to occupy homes on such lots until the person, firm, corporation or agency provides to 
such official a copy of the certificate issued under this section by the office and such official 
confirms that the certificate conditions have been satisfied. 

(c) The Office of the State Traffic Administration, to the extent practicable, shall begin its 
review of an application prior to final approval of the proposed activity by the municipal planning 
and zoning agency or other responsible municipal agency. 
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(d) In determining the advisability of such certification, the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration shall include, in its consideration, highway safety, bicycle and pedestrian access 
and safety, the width and character of the highways affected, the density of traffic thereon, the 
character of such traffic and the opinion and findings of the traffic authority of the municipality 
wherein the development is located. The office may require improvements to be made by the 
applicant to the extent that such improvements address impacts to state highway safety or 
bicycle and pedestrian access and safety created by the addition of the applicant's proposed 
development or activity. If the office determines that such improvements, including traffic 
signals, pavement markings, channelization, pavement widening or other changes or traffic 
control devices, are required to handle traffic safely and efficiently, one hundred per cent of the 
cost thereof shall be borne by the person, firm, corporation or agency building, establishing or 
operating such open air theater, shopping center or other development generating large volumes 
of traffic, except that such cost shall not be borne by any municipal agency. The Commissioner of 
Transportation may issue a permit to such person, firm, corporation or agency to construct or 
install the changes required by the office. 

(e) Any person, firm, corporation or agency building, establishing or operating such open air 
theater, shopping center or other development generating large volumes of traffic aggrieved by 
any decision of the Office of the State Traffic Administration under this section may appeal 
therefrom in accordance with the provisions of section 4-183, except venue for such appeal shall 
be in the judicial district in which it is proposed to operate such establishment. The provisions of 
this section except insofar as such provisions relate to expansion shall not apply to any open air 
theater, shopping center or other development generating large volumes of traffic in operation 
on July 1, 1967. 

(f) Before submitting an application for the certification of any development generating large 
volumes of traffic pursuant to subsection (a) of this section to the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration, the [individual or entity] person, firm, corporation or agency submitting such 
application shall attend a mandatory meeting with the Office of the State Traffic Administration 
and other staff from the Department of Transportation. At such meeting, such person, firm, 
corporation or agency shall present the applicant's proposed development and receive feedback, 
including, but not limited to, information as to what materials need to be submitted for [an] a 
certificate application to be considered complete. 

 

Sec. 3. Section 14-311c of the General Statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in 
lieu thereof: 

(a) No person, firm, corporation, state agency or municipal agency, or any combination thereof, 
shall build, expand, establish or operate any open air theater, shopping center or other 
development generating large volumes of traffic on any group of individual parcels of land which 
are separately owned but are utilized together for a single development purpose, whether or not 
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such parcels are separated by any state, local or private roadway that substantially affect state 
highway traffic within this state, as determined by the Office of the State Traffic Administration, 
until such person, firm, corporation or agency has procured from the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration a certificate that the operation thereof will not imperil the safety of the public, 
except that any development, including any development to be built in phases without regard to 
when such phases are approved by the municipal planning and zoning agency or other 
responsible municipal agency, that contains a total of one hundred or fewer residential units shall 
not be required to obtain such a certificate if such development is a residential-only development 
and not part of a mixed-use development containing office, retail or other such nonresidential 
uses, provided if any future development increases the total number of residential units to more 
than one hundred, and this total substantially affects state highway traffic within the state as 
determined by the Office of the State Traffic Administration, a certificate shall be procured from 
said office. 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection or permitted by the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration, no local building official shall issue a building or foundation permit to any such 
person, firm, corporation or agency to build, expand, establish or operate such a development 
until the person, firm, corporation or agency provides to such official a copy of the certificate or 
administrative decision issued under this section by the Office of the State Traffic Administration. 
No local building official shall issue a certificate of occupancy to any such person, firm, 
corporation or agency for such development until the conditions of the certificate issued by the 
office under this section have been satisfied. If the Office of the State Traffic Administration 
determines that a local building official has issued a building or foundation permit without office 
approval or that any person, firm, corporation or agency has (1) started building, expanding, 
establishing or operating such a development without first obtaining a certificate or 
administrative decision from said office, or (2) has failed to comply with the conditions of such a 
certificate or administrative decision, it shall order the local building official, person, firm, 
corporation or agency to (A) cease constructing, expanding, establishing or operating the 
development, or (B) to comply with the conditions of the certificate within a reasonable period 
of time. If such person, firm, corporation or agency fails to (i) cease such work, or (ii) comply with 
such order within such time as specified by the Office of the State Traffic Administration, said 
office or the traffic authority of the municipality wherein the development is located may apply 
to the superior court for the judicial district of Hartford or the judicial district where the 
development is located enjoining the construction, expansion, establishment or the operation of 
such development. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, for single family home 
building lots within a subdivision of land, for which a certificate is required and which do not have 
a direct exit or entrance on, or directly abut or adjoin any state highway, no local building official 
shall issue a certificate of occupancy to any such person, firm, corporation or agency to occupy 
homes on such lots until such person, firm, corporation or agency provides to such official a copy 
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of the certificate issued under this section by said office and such official confirms that the 
certificate conditions have been satisfied. 

(c) The Office of the State Traffic Administration, to the extent practicable, shall begin its review 
of an application prior to final approval of the proposed activity by the municipal planning and 
zoning agency or other responsible municipal agency. (d) In determining the advisability of such 
certification, the Office of the State Traffic Administration shall include, in its consideration, 
highway safety, the width and character of the highways affected, the density of traffic thereon, 
the character of such traffic and the opinion and findings of the traffic authority of the 
municipality wherein the development is located. The Office of the State Traffic Administration 
may require improvements to be made by the applicant to the extent that such improvements 
address impacts to state highway safety created by the addition of the applicant's proposed 
development or activity. If the Office of the State Traffic Administration determines that such 
improvements, including traffic signals, pavement markings, channelization, pavement widening 
or other changes or traffic control devices, are required to handle traffic safely and efficiently, 
one hundred per cent of the cost thereof shall be borne by the person, firm, corporation or 
agency building, establishing or operating such open air theater, shopping center or other 
development generating large volumes of traffic, except that such cost shall not be borne by any 
municipal agency. The Commissioner of Transportation may issue a permit to such person, firm, 
corporation or agency to construct or install the changes required by the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration, in consultation with the local traffic authority. 

(e) Any person, firm, corporation or agency building, establishing or operating such open air 
theater, shopping center or other development generating large volumes of traffic aggrieved by 
any decision of the Office of the State Traffic Administration under this section may appeal 
therefrom in accordance with the provisions of section 4-183, except venue for such appeal shall 
be in the judicial district in which it is proposed to operate such establishment. The provisions of 
this section except insofar as such provisions relate to expansion shall not apply to any open air 
theater, shopping center or other development generating large volumes of traffic which has 
received all necessary permits, variances, exceptions and approvals from the municipal zoning 
commission, planning commission, combined planning and zoning commission and zoning board 
of appeals in which such development is located prior to or on July 1, 1985, or to any such 
development which is in operation on that date. 

(f) Before submitting an application for the certification any development generating large 
volumes of traffic pursuant to subsection (a) of this section to the Office of the State Traffic 
Administration, the person, firm, corporation or agency submitting such application shall attend 
a mandatory meeting with the Office of the State Traffic Administration and other staff from the 
Department of Transportation. At such meeting, such person, firm, corporation or agency shall 
present the applicant's proposed development and receive feedback, including, but not limited 
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to, information as to what materials need to be submitted for [an] a certificate application to be 
considered complete. 

Sec. 4. Subsections (b) and (c) of Section 14-299 of the general statutes is repealed and the 
following is substituted in lieu thereof: 

(b) When traffic at an intersection is alternately directed to proceed and to stop by the use of 
signals exhibiting colored lights or lighted arrows, successively one at a time or in combination, 
only the colors green, red and yellow shall be used, except for special pedestrian-control signals 
carrying word legends or symbols. Such lights or arrows shall apply to drivers of vehicles, bicycles, 
and pedestrians and shall indicate the following: 

(1) Circular green alone: Bicycle or Vehicular traffic facing a green signal may proceed straight 
through or turn right or left unless a sign or marking at such place prohibits either such turn or 
straight through movement, except that such traffic shall yield the right-of-way to pedestrians 
and vehicles within a crosswalk or the intersection at the time such signal was exhibited; 
pedestrians facing the green signal, except when directed by separate pedestrian-control signals, 
may proceed across the highway within any marked or unmarked crosswalk. 

(2) Yellow: Bicycle or Vehicular traffic facing a steady yellow signal is thereby warned that the 
related green movement is being terminated or that a red indication will be exhibited 
immediately thereafter, when bicycle or vehicular traffic shall stop before entering the 
intersection unless so close to the intersection that a stop cannot be made in safety; pedestrians 
facing a steady yellow signal, except when directed by separate pedestrian-control signals, are 
thereby advised that there is insufficient time to cross the roadway before a red indication is 
shown and no pedestrian shall then start to cross the roadway. 

(3) Red alone: Bicycle or Vehicular traffic facing a steady red signal alone shall stop before 
entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, if none, then before entering the 
intersection and remain standing until the next indication is shown; provided, on or after July 1, 
1979, vehicular traffic traveling in the travel lane nearest the right hand curb or other defined 
edge of the roadway, unless a sign approved by the Office of the State Traffic Administration has 
been erected in the appropriate place prohibiting this movement, may cautiously enter the 
intersection to make a right turn onto a two-way street or onto another one-way street on which 
all the traffic is moving to such vehicle's right after such vehicle has stopped as required in this 
subdivision and yielded the right-of-way to pedestrians within an adjacent crosswalk and to other 
traffic lawfully using the intersection. Pedestrians facing a steady red signal alone, except when 
directed by separate pedestrian-control signals, shall not enter the roadway. 
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(4) Green arrow: Bicycle or vehicular traffic facing a green arrow signal, shown alone or in 
combination with another indication, may cautiously enter the intersection only to make the 
movement indicated by such arrow, or such other movement as is permitted by other indications 
shown at the same time, but such bicycle or vehicular traffic shall yield the right-of-way to 
pedestrians within a crosswalk and to other traffic lawfully within the intersection. 

(5) Whenever special pedestrian-control signals exhibiting the words "Walk" or "Don't Walk" or 
the image of a walking person symbolizing "Walk" or an upraised hand symbolizing "Don't Walk" 
are in place, such signals shall indicate as follows: "Walk" or walking person symbol: Pedestrians 
facing such signals may proceed across the roadway in the direction of the signal and shall be 
given the right-of-way by the drivers of all vehicles; "Don't Walk" or upraised hand symbol: No 
pedestrian shall start to cross the roadway in the direction of such signal, but any pedestrian who 
has partially completed crossing on the walk signal shall proceed to a sidewalk or safety island 
while the flashing "Don't Walk" or flashing upraised hand symbol signal is showing. 

(c) When an illuminated flashing red or yellow signal is used in a traffic sign or signal, it shall 
require obedience by bicycle or vehicular traffic as follows: 

 

(1) Flashing red: When a red lens is illuminated by rapid intermittent flashes, [drivers of 
vehicles] bicycle or vehicular traffic shall stop before entering the nearest crosswalk at an 
intersection, or at a limit line when marked or, if none, then before entering the intersection, 
and the right to proceed shall be subject to the rules applicable after making a stop at a stop 
sign. 

(2) When a yellow lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent flashes, [drivers of vehicles] bicycle 
or vehicular traffic facing such signal may proceed through the intersection or past such signal 
only with caution. 

Sec. 5 (NEW). 
 

Notwithstanding the provisions of any municipal charter, special act or home rule ordinance, 
any municipality may, by vote of its legislative body, establish a traffic authority and appoint 
one or more members to serve on such traffic authority. The qualifications, terms of office and 
compensation, if any, of any such members shall be prescribed by such legislative body. A 
traffic authority established pursuant to this section shall replace any existing traffic authority 
in such municipality and have the same powers and duties as a traffic authority described in 
subparagraphs (A) to (C), inclusive, of subdivision (7) of section 14-297 of the general statutes, 
as amended by this act. 
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Sec 6. Subdivision (7) of section 14-297 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is 
substituted in lieu thereof. 

(7) "Traffic authority" means (A) the board of police commissioners of any city, town or 
borough, [or] (B) the city or town manager, [the] chief of police, [the] superintendent of police 
or any legally elected or appointed official or board , [or any official] having similar powers and 
duties, of any city, town or borough that has no board of police commissioners but has a 
regularly appointed police force, [or] (C) the board of selectmen of any town in which there is 
no city or borough with a regularly appointed police force, or (D) a traffic authority established 
pursuant to section 1 of this act, except that, with respect to state highways and bridges, 
"traffic authority" means the Office of the State Traffic Administration, provided nothing 
contained in this section shall be construed to limit or detract from the jurisdiction or authority 
of the Office of the State Traffic Administration to adopt regulations establishing a uniform 
system of traffic control signals, devices, signs and markings as provided in section 14-298, and 
the requirement that no installation or revision of any traffic control signal light shall be made 
by any city, town or borough until the installation or revision has been approved by the Office 
of the State Traffic Administration as provided in section 14-299. 

Sec. 7. Subsection (b)(2) of Section 14-218a of the general statutes is repealed and the following 
is substituted in lieu thereof: 

The Commissioner of Transportation may establish a variable speed limit to allow the 
temporary lowering of a posted speed limit to address congestion, road construction, or any 
other condition that affects the safe and orderly movement of traffic on a roadway.  Notice of a 
speed may be displayed using a stationary or portable changeable message sign. A variable 
speed limit that is established (1) must be based on an engineering investigation; (2) may be 
effective for all or a designated portion of the highway and may be effective for any period of 
the day or night; (3) may not be less than 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit on 
the portion of the highway to which it applies; and (4) is effective only when the speed limit is 
posted and only if a sign notifying motorists of the change in speed limit is posted not less than 
500 feet but not more than 1,000 feet before the point at which the speed limit begins [the 
speed limit on limited access highways during a weather event or an emergency, provided the 
commissioner erects electronic signs indicating such speed limit]. 
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Brief Summary 
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This proposal contains various provisions that would improve the 
operation of the Bureau of Public Transportation. 

 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 
Summarize sections in groups where appropriate 

 
Bus Shelter Advertising (Section 1) - CT DOT is preparing to break ground with the Bus Stop 
Enhancement program in Spring of 2024. Since the assets (shelters, benches, signs) are being 
procured with federal funds, CTDOT must make sure they are well maintained. Many transit 
districts have entered into contractual agreements with third-party advertising companies that 
use part of the ad-revenue generated to maintain the shelter. Additionally, many of the same 
districts are hesitant to locate passenger amenities in State rights-of-way knowing they won’t be 
able to use the ad-revenue sharing contracts to mitigate the high cost of maintenance. CTDOT is 
working with the COGs to set up regional maintenance contracts or at the very least promote 
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Tech Fix to PA-23-137 (Section 2) - A technical fix to AN ACT CONCERNING RESOURCES AND 
SUPPORT SERVICES FOR PERSONS WITH AN INTELLECTUAL OR DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITY, 
clarifying that the provision only applies to new bus shelters. 

Fare Inspectors (Sections 3 & 4)- CTDOT would like to improve security on CTfastrak. As part of 
that effort, we propose replacing fare inspectors with Transit Operator Supervisors to allow for 
a higher level of supervision along CTfastrak. The supervisors would take over the fare 
inspection role from fare inspectors. There are five fare inspector positions and one fare 
inspector supervisor position. 

 
 

Rail Indemnification (Section 5)- The proposed clarification in 13b-34(j) level the playing field 
for a potential competitive selection of Shore Line East service operator (which is now required 
pursuant to PA 23-204). 

 
The revision to 13b-34(j) is a clarifying amendment as to the original intent of this section. It 
seeks to remove any unintended advantage to Metro-North that it may inadvertently glean if it 
were the selected operator of Shore Line East service by seeking indemnification from DOT 
related to its operation of M-8 rail cars, currently now in operation in SLE service. 13b-34(j) 
was originally written to allow Metro-North, solely in its role as New Haven Line M8 equipment 
maintainer (under separate contract with the state), onto the National Passenger Railroad 
Corporation territory for testing to the M8 rail cars so that they could be put into SLE service 
(operated by National Passenger Railroad Corporation currently). Metro-North refused to 
cooperate in M8 testing for SLE without the State indemnifying them against National 
Passenger Railroad Corporation claims. The M8s are now successfully in SLE operations, which 
operations will be competitively procured going forward. If Metro-North was to be selected in 
a new role to serve as operator of Shore Line East service, they should be responsible, as any 
operator, for proper operation of the rail car fleet operating on the SLE territory and not be 
indemnified by the state in that capacity. 
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Bus Shelters - This clarifies and ensures the department can continue its 
prudent financial practices of ad revenue cost sharing in maintenance of 
facilities. 
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Fare Inspectors - This is a more efficient reallocation of duties for the 
Departments existing personnel. 
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State 

 

Municipal (Include any 
municipal mandate that can 
be found within legislation) 

 
Bus Shelters - Currently, Transit Districts have entered into 
contractual agreements with third-party advertising 
companies that use part of the ad-revenue generated to 
maintain the shelter. 

Federal  

Additional notes  

 
MONITORING & EVALUATION PLAN 
If applicable, please describe the anticipated measurable outcomes and the data that will be 
used to track those outcomes. Include the section number(s) responsible for those outcomes 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT lead to any measurable outcomes 

 
 
 

ANYTHING ELSE WE SHOULD KNOW? 
 

Rail Indemnification - Without these clarifying changes, there will be unintended advantages to 
National Passenger Railroad Corporation and Metro-North as CTDOT issues a competitive 



 

 

solicitation for a service operator and negotiates contracts for Shore Line East service, including 
access rights and operations. 

 
 
 

Section 1. Subsection (e) of section 13a-123 of the general statutes is repealed and the 
following is substituted in lieu thereof: 

(e) The following types of signs, displays and devices may, with the approval of and subject to 
regulations adopted by the commissioner, be permitted within the six-hundred-sixty-foot area 
of interstate, primary and other limited access state highways, except as prohibited by state 
statute, local ordinance or zoning regulation:  (1) Directional and other official signs or notices, 
which signs and notices shall include, but not be limited to, signs and notices pertaining to 
natural wonders and scenic and historical attractions which are required or authorized by law; 
 (2) signs, displays and devices advertising the sale or lease of the property upon which they are 
located;  (3) signs, displays and devices advertising activities conducted on the property on 
which they are located;  (4) signs, displays or advertising devices which are in place for sixty 
days or less;  and (5) advertising signs, displays or devices (A) located or erected on real 
property or abutting real property within areas owned, leased or managed by a public authority 
for the purpose of (i) railway or rail infrastructure facilities, including, but not limited to, 
associated structures located within areas zoned solely or predominantly for the development 
of a railway or rail infrastructure facilities, (ii) bus facilities and bus rapid transit corridors, 
including, but not limited to, the Hartford-New Britain busway project authorized in section 
13b-15a, and any shelter, structure or other facility associated with the operation of such bus 
rapid transit corridor, (iii) airport development zones designated in section 32-75d, or (iv) any 
other similar transit or freight purpose, or (B) upon or within buildings, structures or other 
venues in the custody or control of the state and designed, operated or intended to be 
operated for the purpose of presenting athletic, artistic, musical or other entertainment events. 
Subject to regulations adopted by the commissioner and except as prohibited by state statute, 
local ordinance or zoning regulation signs, displays and devices may be erected and maintained 
within six hundred sixty feet of primary and other limited access state highways in areas which 
are zoned for industrial or commercial use under authority of law or located in unzoned 
commercial or industrial areas which areas shall be determined from actual land uses and 
defined by regulations of the commissioner. The regulations of the commissioner in regard to 
size, spacing and lighting shall apply to any segments of the interstate system which traverse 
commercial or industrial zones wherein the use of real property adjacent to the interstate 
system is subject to municipal regulation or control, or which traverse other areas where the 



 

 

land use, as of September 21, 1959, was clearly established under state law as industrial or 
commercial. 

 
Sec. 2. Subsection (b) of Section 22 of Public Act 23-137 is repealed and the following is 
substituted in lieu thereof (Effective upon passage): 

(b) On and after July 1, 2024, each new bus stop or shelter constructed by the Department of 
Transportation or a transit district shall (1) be in accordance with the plan developed pursuant 
to subsection (a) of this section, and (2) comply with physical accessibility guidelines, as 
applicable, under the federal Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 USC 12101, et seq., as 
amended from time to time. 

 
 

Sec 3. Subsection (10) of section 13b-2 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is 
substituted in lieu thereof: 

 
(10) “Fare Inspection” means duties of an employee of (A) the department designated by the 
commissioner, or (B) a third-party contractor employed by the department, whose duties [are to 
inspect tickets] include but are not limited to the inspection of tickets, passes or other 
documentation required to show compliance by the passenger with the fare payment 
requirements of state-owned or controlled bus public transportation service when the fare 
payment is off board or a combination of off board and on board such bus. 

 
Sec. 4. Subsection (a) of section 13b-34 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is 
substitute in lieu thereof: 

 
(a) The commissioner shall have power, in order to aid or promote the operation, whether 
temporary or permanent, of any transportation service operating to, from or in the state, to 
contract in the name of the state with any person, including but not limited to any common 
carrier, any transit district formed under chapter 103a or any special act, or any political 
subdivision or entity, or with the United States or any other state, or any agency, 
instrumentality, subdivision, department or officer thereof, for purposes of initiating, 



 

 

continuing, developing, providing or improving any such transportation service. Such contracts 
may include provision for arbitration of disputed issues. The commissioner, in order to aid or 
promote the operation of any transportation service operating outside the state, may contract 
in the name of the state with any person, including, but not limited to, any common carrier, or 
with the United States or any other state, or any agency, instrumentality, subdivision, 
department or officer thereof, for purposes of providing any transportation service in the event 
such assistance is required in the case of an emergency or a special event. The state, acting by 
and through the commissioner, may, by itself or in concert with others, provide all or a portion 
of any such service, share in the costs of or provide funds for such service, or furnish equipment 
or facilities for use in such service upon such terms and conditions as the commissioner may 
deem necessary or advisable, and any such contracts may include, without limitation thereto, 
arrangements under which the state shall so provide service, share costs, provide funds or 
furnish equipment or facilities. To these ends, the commissioner may in the name of the state 
acquire or obtain the use of facilities and equipment employed in providing any such service by 
gift, purchase, lease or other arrangements and may own and operate any such facilities and 
equipment and establish, charge and collect such fares and other charges or arrange for such 
collection for the use or services thereof as he may deem necessary, convenient or desirable. 
The commissioner, any employee or third-party contractor with fare inspection duties, as 
defined in section 13b-2, shall have the authority to issue citations for any violation of section 
13b-38i. The commissioner may also acquire title in fee simple to, or any lesser estate, interest 
or right in, any rights-of-way, properties or facilities, including properties used on or before 
October 1, 1969, for rail or other forms of transportation services. The commissioner may hold 
such properties for future use by the state and may enter into agreements for interim use of 
such properties for other purposes. Any person contracting with the state pursuant to this 
section for the provision of any transportation service shall not be considered an arm or agent 
of the state. Any damages caused by the operation of such transportation service by such 
person may be recovered in a civil action brought against such person in the superior court and 
such person may not assert the defense of sovereign immunity in such action. 

 
Sec 5. Subsections and (j) of section 13b-34 of the general statutes are repealed and the 
following are substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2024): 

(j) If the commissioner deems it to be in the best interest of the state, the commissioner may 
indemnify and hold harmless the Metro-North Commuter Railroad Company in its capacity as 



 

 

the state’s contracted maintainer of the M-8 rail car fleet for claims brought by the National 
Railroad Passenger Corporation or other third parties against the Metro-North Commuter 
Railroad Company relative to the operation of M-8 rail cars on National Railroad Passenger 
Corporation property, provided such indemnification does not relieve the Metro-North 
Commuter Railroad Company from liability for its willful or negligent acts or omissions. 



Agency Legislative Proposal – 2024 Session 
Document Name: 

1 

Revised 8/10/2023 

 

 

 
 
 

Document Name DOT_Work Zone Speed Camera Program 

Naming Format: AGENCY ACRONYM PROPOSAL NUMBER - TOPIC 
Please insert a copy of the fully drafted bill at the end of this document (required for review) 

 
Legislative 
Liaison 
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Proposal 
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Drafter Brian Dudack/Phil Mainiero 

 

 
Title of Proposal An Act Concerning The Work Zone Speed Camera Program 

Statutory 
Reference, if any 

CGS 13a-262, 13a-263, 13a-264, 13a 267 

Brief Summary 
and Statement of 
Purpose 

This proposal makes permanent CTDOT’s “Know the Zone” work zone 
speed camera safety pilot program. 

 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 
Summarize sections in groups where appropriate 

 

The proposal makes the following changes from the pilot program – (1) it removes the 
limitation that the program may only be used in three locations in the state at a given time; 
(2) expands the program so it is not exclusive to limited access highways, (3) it prohibits 
motor vehicles from exceeding the posted speed limit by 10 mph as opposed to 15 under the 
pilot, (4) eliminates the $150 fine for third violations and specifies that a $75 fine for a 
second violation can only be assessed within one year of the first violation, (5) and requires 
that a motor vehicle identified by a work zone camera travelling at a speed in excess of 85 
miles per hour is fined for a first violation and does not receive a written warning 
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BACKGROUND 
 

Origin of Proposal [ X ] New Proposal [ ] Resubmission 
 

 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
 

How does this 
proposal connect 
to the 10-year 
vision for the 
agency’s mission? 

CTDOT strives to make all travel in the state safe and efficient. Over the 
last four years in Connecticut, there have been over 3,600 crashes in 
work zones, resulting in 13 fatalities and 37 serious injuries. Work zone 
speed cameras are a proven tool to reduce crashes and save lives. 

How will we 
measure if the 
proposal 
successfully 
accomplishes its 
goals? 

 

Have there been 
changes in 
federal/state laws 
or regulations that 
make this 
legislation 
necessary? 

 

Has this proposal 
or a similar 
proposal been 
implemented in 
other states? If 
yes, to what 
result? 

States such as Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Oregon and Pennsylvania 
have automated work zone enforcement programs. According to the 
Delaware DOT, soon after the implementation of the program, the state 
saw a 55% reduction in total crashes and a 50% reduction in injury 
crashes. Maryland has operated a program since 2010, and 2019 
evaluation of the program showed a 90-percent decrease in vehicles 
traveling at speeds above the citation threshold, which is 12-mph over 
the work zone speed limit. 

If this is a resubmission, please share the prior bill number, the reason the bill did not 
move forward, and any changes made or conversations had since it was last proposed: 
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Have certain 
constituencies 
called for this 
proposal? 

 

 

INTERAGENCY IMPACT 
List each affected agency. Copy the table as needed. 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT impact other agencies 

 
1. Agency Name Department of Emergency Services and Public 

Protection 
Agency Contact (name, title) Nicole Lake 

Date Contacted  

Status [ ] Approved [ X ] Talks Ongoing 

Open Issues, if any  

 
FISCAL IMPACT 
Include the section number(s) responsible for the fiscal impact and the anticipated impact 

 
[ x] Check here if this proposal does NOT have a fiscal impact 

 
State This is anticipated to increase revenue to the Special 

Transportation Fund dependent on the number of cameras 
and fines. There may be an increased cost to judicial for 
contested fines. 

Municipal (Include any 
municipal mandate that can 
be found within legislation) 

 

Federal  
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Additional notes Federal funds can be used for implementation of this 
proposal. 

 

MONITORING & EVALUATION PLAN 
If applicable, please describe the anticipated measurable outcomes and the data that will be 
used to track those outcomes. Include the section number(s) responsible for those outcomes 

 
[ ] Check here if this proposal does NOT lead to any measurable outcomes 

 

 

ANYTHING ELSE WE SHOULD KNOW? 
 

 
 
 
 

Section 1. Section 13a-261 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu 
thereof (Effective July 1, 2024): 

 

(1) “Department” means the Department of Transportation. 
 

[(2) “Limited access state highway” means any state highway so designated under the provisions of 
section 13b-27.] 

 

[(3)] (2) “Owner” means a person in whose name a motor vehicle is registered under the provisions of 
chapter 246 or law of another jurisdiction. 

 

[(4)] (3) “Personally identifiable information” means information created or maintained by the 
department or a vendor that identifies or describes an owner and includes, but need not be limited to, 
the owner's address, telephone number, number plate, photograph, bank account information, credit 
card number, debit card number or the date, time, location or direction of travel on a [limited access] 
highway. 

The fine changes in 13a-263(b) were made in light of the requirement under 13a-267(d) that 
the department or its vendor must delete all personally identifying information after one 
year. 
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[(5)] (4) “Vendor” means a person selected by the department (A) to provide services to the department 
described in sections 13a-262 to 13a-268, inclusive; (B) who operates, maintains, leases or licenses a 
work zone speed control system; or (C) is authorized to review and assemble the recorded images 
captured by the work zone speed control system. 

 

[(6)] (5) “Highway work zone” has the same meaning as provided in section 14-212d. 
 

[(7)] (6) “Work zone speed control system” means a device having one or more motor vehicle sensors 
connected to a camera system capable of producing recorded images that indicate the date, time and 
location of the image of each motor vehicle allegedly operating in violation of the provisions of section 
13a-263. 

 

[(8)] (7) “Work zone speed control system operator” means a person who is trained and certified to 
operate a work zone speed control system. 

 

[(9)] (8) “Driver” and “number plate” have the same meanings as provided in section 14-1. 
 
 
 

Sec. 2. Section 13a-262 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu 
thereof (Effective upon passage): 

 

(a) The department may establish a [pilot] program to operate work zone speed control systems in a 
highway work zone. [The pilot program shall provide for such systems at not more than three locations 
in the state at any one time.] A work zone speed control system may be used to record the images of 
motor vehicles traveling on a [limited access] highway (1) within a highway work zone, and (2) on which 
the speed limit, established using generally accepted traffic engineering practices, is forty-five miles per 
hour or greater. [The pilot program shall commence on or before January 1, 2022, and terminate on 
December 31, 2023.] 

 

(b) A work zone speed control system may be used provided (1) such system is operated by a work zone 
speed control system operator, (2) if, in accordance with the manual of uniform traffic control devices as 
approved and revised by the Office of State Traffic Administration, at least two conspicuous road signs 
are placed at a reasonable distance in advance of a highway work zone notifying drivers that a work 
zone speed control system may be in operation, (3) at least one of the signs described in subdivision (2) 
of this subsection indicates that the work zone speed control system is operational or is not operational, 
(4) an appropriate sign is conspicuously placed at the end of a highway work zone with a work zone 
speed control system that is operational, and (5) a notice identifying the location of a work zone speed 
control system is available on the Internet web site of the department. 

 

(c) A work zone speed control system shall be used in a manner to only record images of motor vehicles 
that are exceeding the posted highway work zone speed limit by fifteen miles per hour or more or, on or 
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after January 1, 2024, ten miles per hour or more, for conduct in violation of the provisions of section 
13a-263. Any recorded images collected as part of a work zone speed control system shall not be used 
for any surveillance purpose. The department or work zone speed control system operator shall certify 
to the Division of State Police when a work zone speed control system is operational. 

 

(d) The Commissioner of Transportation may (1) enter into agreements with vendors for the design, 
operation or maintenance, or any combination thereof, of work zone speed control systems, and (2) 
retain and employ consultants and assistants on a contract or other basis for rendering legal, financial, 
professional, technical or other assistance and advice necessary for the design, operation and 
maintenance of work zone speed control systems. If a vendor provides, deploys or operates a work zone 
control system, the vendor's fee may not be contingent on the number of violations issued or fines paid 
pursuant to the provisions of section 13a-263. 

 
 

Sec. 3. Section 13a-263 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu 
thereof (Effective upon passage): 

 

(a) No person operating a motor vehicle shall exceed the posted speed limit by fifteen or more miles per 
hour, or, on or after January 1, 2024, ten miles per hour, as detected by a work zone speed control 
system, within a highway work zone where a work zone speed control system is operational. 

 

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, the [The] owner of a motor vehicle identified 
by a work zone speed camera control system as violating the provisions of subsection (a) of this section 
shall, (1) for a first violation, receive a written warning, (2) for a second violation within one year of the 
first violation, be fined seventy-five dollars.[, (3) for a subsequent violation, be fined one hundred fifty 
dollars.] The owner shall be liable for any such fine imposed unless the driver of the motor vehicle 
received a citation from a law enforcement officer at the time of the violation. 

 

(c) The owner of a motor vehicle identified by a work zone speed camera control system as violating 
the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, traveling at a rate of speed of eighty-five miles per 
hour or greater shall, for a first violation, be fined seventy-five dollars. The owner shall be liable for 
any such fine imposed unless the driver of the motor vehicle received a citation from a law 
enforcement officer at the time of the violation. 

 

[c] (d) All amounts received in respect to the violation of subsection (a) of this section shall be deposited 
into the Special Transportation Fund, established pursuant to section 13b-68 and maintained pursuant 
to article thirty-second of the amendments to the Constitution of the state. 
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