

Connecticut Newborn Screening Program

Connecticut Department of Public Health Dr. Katherine A. Kelley State Public Health Laboratory 395 West Street, PO Box 1689, Rocky Hill, CT 06067

Home Birth, Out of Hospital or Out of State Birth Notification

Please fax this form to (860) 730-8385 or submit with Blood Spot Specimen to State Laboratory

Screening Specimen Collection Recommendations

The CT NBS Program now screens for over 60 disorders*. The addition of new disorders and testing platforms and the timeliness recommendations made by the US Department of Health and Human Services' Advisory Committee for Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children have led to a *change in CT NBS Program recommendations*. The CT NBS Program recommends that the first specimen be collected within 24 to 48 hours after birth, <u>preferably as close as possible to 30 hours of life</u>. We also recommend that specimens are shipped as soon as possible after drying, preferably within 24 hours of collection. **Please call the CT Newborn Screening Program at 860-920-6628 with questions or for NBS supplies**.

*Please note: the CT Newborn Screening Program does not screen for Cystic Fibrosis (CF). Cystic Fibrosis screening is currently performed by either the Yale CF Laboratory, 203-688-9884, or the UCONN CF Laboratory, 860-679-4439, and requires submission of a separate blood spot specimen. Please contact the appropriate CF testing laboratory for testing supplies and more information.

Infant's Name: (First)_		(Last)		
Date of Birth:	Time of Birth:	(military time) Bi	rth Length:	(##. ## (cm)
Head Circumference:	(##. ## cm) (on day cm)	1, take the head circumference	3 times and select the	largest
Birth Weight:	_Infant's Gender:	Gestational age:	Weeks,	Days
Birth Sequence:	If Multiple birth, Inc	licate birth order:		
Birth Mother's Name:	(First)	(Last)		
Mother's DOB:	Street Address:			
City:		State	Zip:	
Phone: (H)		_(C)		
Was the mother tested f	for HIV during Pregnancy	? □Yes □No		
Is Birth Mother Legal C	Guardian? □Yes □No If I	No, complete <i>Legal Gu</i>	ardian Demogra	phic Section
	Legal Guardian De	mographic Informati	0 n	
□Traditional Surro	ogate	nent DPlaced for Adop	tion DCF Lega	l □Other
If Other is Selected,	, please specify:			
First Name:	Last Name:			
Date of Birth:	Street Address:		City:	
State:Zip:	Phone: (H)		_(C)	
	ing out of the country in thation for someone we can			es, please
First Name:	Last Name:	R	elation to Child_	
Street Address:		City:		
State/Province/ Region:	zZip/Postal	Code:	Phone:	

Connecticut State Statutes

Connecticut General Statute **(CGS) 19a-55** and Connecticut Department of Public Health (CT DPH) regulation **19a-55-1**, require those providing medical care of newborn infants to collect a blood spot specimen for the purpose of screening for genetic, metabolic, endocrine, hematologic and immunologic disorders as prescribed by the CT DPH.

CGS 19a-55 and 19a-59 requires all infants to undergo hearing screening as soon as possible after birth and the cytomegalovirus (CMV) testing for any infant who fails the hearing screening.

CGA 19a-55 requires cystic fibrosis (CF) and critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) screenings, and that an HIV test to be administered to every infant, unless the mother has had an HIVrelated test pursuant to section 19a-90 or 19a-593.

CGS 19a-53 and the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (CLIA) require that patient demographic information be submitted to the CT DPH Newborn Screening and the CT Birth Defects Registry for all babies born/residing in the state.

CGS 19a-53 requires licensed health care professionals who provide care or treatment to a child that is under the age of one and was born in the CT and who observes or acquires knowledge that the child has a birth defect to notify DPH of the defect within fortyeight hours of observing or acquiring knowledge of the defect.

If an individual attending the infant's birth in the home cannot meet any of these requirements, the parent must be directed to consult with the infant's selected primary medical care provider, either prior to birth or as soon as possible after birth, in order to be compliant with CT State Statutes.

Office Use Only				
ate:				
ccession #:				

Da

Primary Care Provider's Na Phone:	ime:	n out of state): Practice Name:		
Phone: Birth Defect, Zika and		Practice Name:		
Birth Defect, Zika and				
		Fax: City& State:		
Does this child have a birth	Critical Congenital Heart Dis	ease (CCHD) Screening – Call 860-509-8074 with Question		
	Defect? UYes INo			
If Yes, Please Specify:		ICD code:		
 Did <u>only</u> the Mother pregnancy? Yes If yes, spec Did the Mother have transmission during If yes, spec Did the mother <u>and</u> months prior to corr 	er travel to an area with risk of 2 \square No ify where exposure occurred: re any male sexual partner(s) and g pregnancy or 6 months prior to ify where exposure occurred: ther male partner travel to an an acception? \square Yes \square No	Zika virus transmission during pregnancy or 2 months prior to d <u>only</u> he traveled to any area with risk of Zika virus o Conception?		
• If yes, spec	ify where exposure occurred: _			
	ve 01/15/2018, results of CCHD at	rt Disease (CCHD) Screening re to be sent to CT DPH Birth Defects Registry Time of Screening (Military Time):		
If screening was not done, j	blease state the reason why:			
Oxygen saturation of Right	Hand:% Oxygen sa	turation of Foot:% which foot \Box Right \Box Left		
(Oxygen saturation is deter	mined by pulse oximetry)			
*If additional CCHD screening	ngs were done to an initial retest o	r fail, please attach results of failed screenings to this form.		
Hearing Scr	eening -Call 860-509-8251 wit	h Questions or visit <u>https://portal.ct.gov/ehdi</u>		
Date:	Method:	Right Ear Pass? 🗆 Yes 🗆 No Left Ear Pass? 🗆 Yes 🗆 No		
Date:	Method:	Right Ear Pass? 🗆 Yes 🗆 No Left Ear Pass? 🗆 Yes 🗆 No		
What facility was the hearin Was the newborn referred t	screening was not done (E.g. to ng screenings conducted at: o an audiologist? U Yes D No	ne:Date:		
		Screening		
If the child	failed both hearing screenings, C	MV testing is required <u>BEFORE</u> 21 Days of Birth.		
\Box The parent refused (the	refusal waver completed).	Result: Not Detected Detected (Urine Saliva) oo ill)		
	Print Name and Title of	Person Completing this form		
Name:		Title:		
Signature:	Date	: Phone:		