

Sandy Hook Advisory Committee February 15, 2012 9:30 AM LOB, Room 2C

Minutes

Committee Chair: Scott Jackson

Members Present: Adrienne Bentman, Ron Chivinski, Robert Ducibella, Terry Edelstein, Kathleen Flaherty, Alice Forrester, Ezra Griffith, Chris Lyddy, Patricia Keavney-Maruca, Denis McCarthy, Barbara O'Connor, Wayne Sandford, David Schonfeld, Harold Schwartz, Bernie Sullivan

Removed from Agenda: Kenneth Trump

- I. Call to order at 9:36 AM
- II. Chair Scott Jackson welcomes audience and Committee members
- III. Committee members introduce themselves
- IV. Richard T. Connell, Immediate Past President of the American Institute of Architects— Connecticut Chapter, delivers opening remarks
- V. Connecticut architects present on safe school design. Presenting architects include: Randall S. Luther, Tai Soo Kim Architects; Richard Munday, Newman Architects; Glenn Gollenberg, S/L/A/M Collaborative; and Jim LaPosta, JCJ Architecture. Presentations centered around:
 - a. Threat assessment, including situational awareness; visibility and transparency through window and door design; and use of technology, including video surveillance, voice communication and a converged network both on and off school premises
 - b. Defense in-depth strategy, including guarded points of entry; a defensive building perimeter; and strategic windows, doors and walls
- VI. Experts present on school security and emergency management. Presenting experts include: Kenneth S. Trump, President of National School Safety and Security; Mila Kennett, Project Manager at the Federal Emergency Management Agency; and Robert Mahoney, Executive Director of the Emergency Management Group
- VII. Chair Scott Jackson appoints Terry Edelstein and Bernie Sullivan as co-chairs for February 22 meeting.
- VIII. Meeting adjourns at 4:40 PM