

STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Dear Applicant:

Please be advised, pursuant to Section 17a-101 of the Connecticut General Statutes (see reverse side), certain health professions regulated by the Department of Public Health are mandated to report suspected child abuse or neglect to the Department of Children and Families (DCF) Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline or a law enforcement agency.

Reports must be made within twelve hours of the moment you suspect the abuse/neglect has occurred. Suspected child maltreatment of any kind, regardless of the identity of the alleged perpetrator must be reported. The Hotline number is 1-800-842-2288 and is available on a 24 hour 7 day a week basis. A copy of the child abuse reporting laws is enclosed. The Hotline can answer questions you may have regarding these laws.

It is important that you become familiar with Connecticut's reporting laws as failure to meet reporting responsibilities may subject you to criminal prosecution and possible action against your license or certificate.

Should you have any questions regarding your licensure or certification, please contact the Department of Public Health at the number in this application.



Phone: (860) 509-7603
Telephone Device for the Deaf (860) 509-7191
410 Capitol Avenue – MS # 12APP
P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134
An Equal Opportunity Employer

Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 319a Child Welfare Child Abuse Reporting Laws

Sec.17a-101. (Formerly Sec. 17-38a). Protection of children from abuse. Mandated reporters. Educational and training programs. (a) The public policy of this state is: To protect children whose health and welfare may be adversely affected through injury and neglect; to strengthen the family and to make the home safe for children by enhancing the parental capacity for good child care; to provide a temporary or permanent nurturing and safe environment for children when necessary; and for these purposes to require the reporting of suspected child abuse, investigation of such reports by a social agency, and provision of services, where needed, to such child and family. (b) The following persons shall be mandated reporters: Any physician or surgeon licensed under the provisions of chapter 370, any resident physician or intern in any hospital in this state, whether or not so licensed, any registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, medical examiner, dentist, dental hygienist, psychologist, coach of intramural or interscholastic athletics, school teacher, school principal, school guidance counselor, school paraprofessional, school coach, social worker, police officer, juvenile or adult probation officer, juvenile or adult parole officer, member of the clergy, pharmacist, physical therapist, optometrist, chiropractor, podiatrist, mental health professional or physician assistant, any person who is a licensed or certified emergency medical services provider, any person who is a licensed or certified alcohol and drug counselor, any person who is a licensed marital and family therapist, any person who is a sexual assault counselor or a battered women's counselor as defined in section 52-146k, any person who is a licensed professional counselor, any person paid to care for a child in any public or private facility, child day care center, group day care home or family day care home licensed by the state, any employee of the Department of Children and Families, any employee of the Department of Public Health who is responsible for the licensing of child day care centers, group day care homes, family day care homes or youth camps, the Child Advocate and any employee of the Office of Child Advocate. (c) The Commissioner of Children and Families shall develop an educational training program for the accurate and prompt identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect. Such training program shall be made available to all persons mandated to report child abuse and neglect at various times and locations throughout the state as determined by the Commissioner of Children and Families. (d) Any mandated reporter, as defined in subsection (b) of this section, who fails to report to the Commissioner of Children and Families pursuant to section 17a-101a shall be required to participate in an educational and training program established by the commissioner. The program may be provided by one or more private organizations approved by the commissioner, provided the entire costs of the program shall be paid from fees charged to the participants, the amount of which shall be subject to the approval of the commissioner.

Sec.17a-101a. Report of abuse, neglect or injury of child or imminent risk of serious harm to child. Penalty for failure to report. Any mandated reporter, as defined in section 17a-101, who in the ordinary course of such person's employment or profession has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child under the age of eighteen years (1) has been abused or neglected, as defined in section 46b-120, (2) has had nonaccidental physical injury, or injury which is at variance with the history given of such injury, inflicted upon such child, or (3) is placed at imminent risk of serious harm, shall report or cause a report to be made in accordance with the provisions of sections 17a-101b to 17a-101d, inclusive. Any person required to report under the provisions of this section who fails to make such report shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars and shall be required to participate in an educational and training program pursuant to subsection (d) of section 17a-101.

Sec.17a-101b. Oral report by mandated reporter. Notification of law enforcement agency when allegation of sexual abuse or serious physical abuse. Notification of person in charge of institution, facility or school when staff member suspected of abuse or neglect. (a) An oral report shall be made by a mandated reporter as soon as practicable but not later than twelve hours after the mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a child has been abused or neglected or placed in imminent risk of serious harm, by telephone or in person to the Commissioner of Children and Families or a law enforcement agency. If a law enforcement agency receives an oral report, it shall immediately notify the Commissioner of Children and Families.

- (b) If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee suspects or knows that such person has knowingly made a false report, the identity of such person shall be disclosed to the appropriate law enforcement agency and to the perpetrator of the alleged abuse.
- (c) If the Commissioner of Children and Families, or the commissioner's designee, receives a report alleging sexual abuse or serious physical abuse, including, but not limited to, a report that: (1) A child has died; (2) a child has been sexually assaulted; (3) a child has suffered brain damage or loss or serious impairment of a bodily function or organ; (4) a child has been sexually exploited; or (5) a child has suffered serious nonaccidental physical injury, the commissioner shall, within twelve hours of receipt of such report, notify the appropriate law enforcement agency.
- (d) Whenever a mandated reporter, as defined in section 17a-101, has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child has been abused or neglected by a member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility that provides care for such child or a public or private school, the mandated reporter shall report as required in subsection (a) of this section. The Commissioner of Children and Families or the commissioner's designee shall notify the person in charge of such institution, facility or school or the person's designee, unless such person is the alleged perpetrator of the abuse or neglect of such child. Such person in charge, or such person's designee, shall then immediately notify the child's parent or other person responsible for the child's care that a report has been made.

17a-101c. Written report by mandated reporter. Within forty-eight hours of making an oral report, a mandated reporter shall submit a written report to the Commissioner of Children and Families or his representative. When a mandated reporter is a member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility that provides care for such child or public or private school he shall also submit a copy of the written report to the person in charge of such institution, school or facility or the person's designee. In the case of a report concerning a certified school employee, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the person in charge of such institution, school or facility to the Commissioner of Education or his representative. In the case of an employee of a facility or institution that provides care for a child which is licensed by the state, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the mandated reporter to the executive head of the state licensing agency.

Sec.17a-101d. Contents of oral and written reports. All oral and written reports required in sections 17a-101a to 17a-101c, inclusive, and section 17a-103, shall contain, if known: (1) The names and addresses of the child and his parents or other person responsible for his care; (2) the age of the child; (3) the gender of the child; (4) the nature and extent of the child's injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; (5) the approximate date and time the injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect occurred; (6) information concerning any previous injury or injuries to, or maltreatment or neglect of, the child or his siblings; (7) the circumstances in which the injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect came to be known to the reporter; (8) the name of the person or persons suspected to be responsible for causing such injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; and (9) whatever action, if any, was taken to treat, provide shelter or otherwise assist the child.

dental provisional page 2 of 16 9/2009



STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

DENTAL PROVISIONAL LICENSURE APPLICATION

AN APPLICATION WILL NOT BE REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL STAFF OF THE DEPARTMENT UNTIL ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED.

- The fee for initial licensure covers the cost of eligibility determination and related administrative functions. At such time as an applicant is determined eligible for licensure, the process of licensure issuance will proceed immediately. The licensure renewal fee is separate and distinct from the application fee. Licenses are renewed annually during the licensee's month of birth. Renewal will be required in the FIRST birth month which immediately follows the issuance of licensure. The full renewal fee will be required regardless of the date of initial licensure.
- It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for submission of all required documentation for timely completion of the application. The Department does <u>NOT</u> notify applicants of incomplete documentation. It is recommended that applicants who are interested in expediting licensure contact the Department periodically to monitor the status of their file with regard to the receipt of supporting documents.
- Educational credentials earned in a country other than the United States (or Canada in some instances) must be evaluated by a credential evaluation service approved by the Department. Documents in a language other than English <u>must</u> be translated by a certified translation service in accordance with instructions from this office. Applicants to whom these provisions apply should request additional information from this office.
- No personal checks are accepted. Please remit the application fee, by CERTIFIED CHECK or MONEY ORDER ONLY, payable to "TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT", in United States dollars. All fees are nonrefundable and non-transferable. The fee which accompanies an application covers the cost of reviewing and processing that specific application; IT CANNOT BE REFUNDED, EVEN IF THE APPLICANT IS FOUND INELIGIBLE FOR LICENSURE.
- Any incomplete application which has remained inactive for one year will be destroyed in accordance with the
 agency's record retention plan. To reactivate the application process, a completely new application and fee will be
 required.
- Licensure requirements are subject to change as a result of new legislation, new rules and regulations, or from new policies and procedures adopted by the Department of Public Health working, where appropriate, in cooperation with various Boards of Examiners. Applicants must meet current licensure requirements.
- Licensing examination questions are <u>not</u> included in the Freedom of Information Act as documents available for review. Whenever possible, however, this division will provide whatever feedback possible with regard to examination performance.



Phone: (860) 509-7603
Telephone Device for the Deaf (860) 509-7191
410 Capitol Avenue - MS # 12APP
P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134
An Equal Opportunity Employer

CONNECTICUT REQUIREMENTS FOR PROVISIONAL DENTAL LICENSURE

* PLEASE NOTE THAT PROVISIONAL LICENSURE REQUIRES THAT THE LICENSEE BE A FULL-TIME FACULTY MEMBER OF A DENTAL SCHOOL. THE LICENSEE IS AUTHORIZED TO PRACTICE SOLELY WITHIN THE SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY, OR A HOSPITAL AFFILIATED WITH THE DENTAL SCHOOL.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

An applicant for provisional licensure must meet the eligibility requirements outlined below:

- Graduate of a dental school; and
- > licensed in another state of the United States, or possesses exceptional qualifications as approved by the Dental Commission.

DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS

The following documents must be forwarded directly to this office:

- 1. A completed application form and fee of \$565.00*.
- 2. Official transcript(s) of dental education, verifying the award of the degree in dentistry (note, transcripts arriving in a non-English language must be translated in accordance with procedures established by this office. Instructions for obtaining a translation will be provided **upon receipt** of the transcript from the foreign institution);
- 3. if applicable, **official report of National Board scores**, <u>directly from the Board to this office</u>. For transmittal of examination scores please contact: The Joint Commission on National Dental Examination 211 East Chicago Avenue Chicago, IL 60611 Telephone (312) 440-2811 and website www.ada.org
- 4. A <u>separate</u> Bank Check or Money Order for \$4.75 made payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut".* This payment covers the cost of querying the National Practitioner Data Bank (See below); and
- 5. if applicable, verification of all licenses ever held by the applicant. The enclosed verification of licensure form must be forwarded to each state or territory in which the applicant is or has ever been licensed. Additional forms may be reproduced if the applicant has been licensed in more than one state or territory. Most states charge a fee for completion of the verification form; contact each state or territory for fee information.
- 6. A letter directly from the school of dentistry confirming your full-time appointment and indicating why the Dental Commission should consider you as exceptionally qualified.

The National Practitioner Data Bank was established by Title IV of Public Law 99-660, The Health Care Quality Improvement Act of 1986. It serves as a clearinghouse, collecting and releasing information related to the professional competence and conduct of physicians and dentists throughout the nation. The Data Bank was established largely in response to a nationwide increase in medical malpractice cases, as well as to improve the quality of medical care in this country. Additionally, the Data Bank will serve to prevent incompetent practitioners from not disclosing previously inadequate performance when they attempt to set up practice in another state. The Act will also protect the public from incompetent physicians by providing physicians and dentists who perform good faith peer reviews from liability for private money damages. As part of the application process, this office has determined to access the Data Bank in reference to each physician and dentist who has submitted an application for licensure in Connecticut.

Privacy Act: The Privacy Act of 1974 requires any federal, state or local government agency that requires individuals to disclose their social security numbers to inform those individuals whether the disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by what statutory or other authority the number is requested and how it will be used. The following information is provided to comply with these requirements.

Disclosure of the social security number is mandatory, pursuant to Section 17b-137a(a)(1), Connecticut General Statutes. The social security number is used in the administration and collection of taxes and is also used for child support collection.

Please note that the Department will **ONLY** disclose social security numbers to government entities. Your social security number will **NOT** be released to the general public.



STATE OF CONNECTICUT **DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH** APPLICATION FOR DENTAL PROVISIONAL LICENSURE

First Name	:	Last Name:		MI:	_ Maiden Name: _	
Social Secu	rity No.:	~	E-mail:			
			name and address wil sable pursuant to Freed			ur address
Na	me on License:					
Ad	dress:					
Cit	y, State, Zip:					
Daytime Pl	none Number: ()	Date of Birth:	//	Gender:	
<u>PROFESSIO</u>	NAL EDUCATION:					
INSTITUTI	ON:					
			ГУ			
	NO. & STREET	CI	ГҮ	STATE	ZIP COD	Έ
DATES AT	TENDED FROM:		TO:			
DEGREE/I	DIPLOMA RECEIVED:		DATE RECEI	VED:		_
			Board Examination?]. If yes, indicate the	date of the
			Board Examination? Y			late and
Please indi	cate specialty area of	practice, if applicat	ble			
List all stat	es/territories/Canad	ian provinces in w	hich you are now or h	ave ever been	licensed:	
	OTE A TIPE	LICENCE NO	EVDID ATION DATE	LIC		
	SIAIL	LICENSE NO.	EXPIRATION DATE	EXAM	ENDORSEMENT	_
		· ·	g YES or NO. If you ar	*		
or restricte	ed, had privileges limits resign or withdraw	ted, suspended or t	issed or expelled from, erminated, been put o Ilowing:	, nad admission n probation, oi	ns monitorea r been	YES NO
-Any he organiz	zation, either private	ganization, professior public;	nstitution; onal partnership, corp ernship, externship, pr	,	-	g program;

9/2009

2. Have you ever had your membership in or certification by any professional society or association

-Any third party reimbursement program, whether governmental or private?

suspended or revoked for reasons related to professional practice?

or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction, li	sciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United States possession mited, restricted, suspended or revoked any professional license, certificate, or a fine or reprimand, or taken any other disciplinary action against you?
	uring the pendency of an investigation or other disciplinary proceeding, nal license, certificate or registration issued to you by any state, the District of r territory, or a foreign jurisdiction?
disciplinary action by any professional	o you currently have pending, any complaint, investigation, charge, or licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United ign jurisdiction or any disciplinary board/committee of any branch of the armed applaints dismissed as without merit.
	ndered a state or federal controlled substance registration, had it revoked or reprimanded, or fined by the responsible agency?
If your answer is "yes" to any of the separate NOTARIZED statement.	above questions (1-6), please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a
written, with any professional licensing	ou currently have pending, a consent agreement of any kind, whether oral or g or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United States he armed services or a foreign jurisdiction?
If "yes", give full details, names, add NOTARIZED copy of the agreement.	resses, etc. on a separate, NOTARIZED statement. Also submit a
	convicted as a result of an act which constitutes a felony under the laws of this r jurisdiction and which, if committed within this state, would have constituted a \Box
•	on a separate NOTARIZED statement and furnish a Certified Court Copy al complaint, the answer, the judgment, the settlement, and/or the disposition.
PHOTOGRAPH:	NOTARIZATION:
	On this day of
Affix a recent photograph of applicant here.	personally appeared before me, who being duly sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the foregoing application and that the photograph attached hereto is a true picture of self and that the statements made herein are true in every respect.
	SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT
Sworn to before me this day of	20
SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUB	My commission expires
	

<u>PLEASE RETURN THIS APPLICATION AND THE FEE</u> FOR \$565.00 (CERTIFIED CHECK OR MONEY ORDER) MADE PAYABLE TO, "TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT" TO:

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH • DENTAL LICENSURE • 410 CAPITOL AVE., **MS# 12MQA** • P.O. BOX 340308 • HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 • www.ct.gov/dph

dental provisional page 6 of 16 9/2009



STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH



VERIFICATION OF DENTAL LICENSURE

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

Applicant- Complete the top portion of this form and forward it to each state where you have been licensed, certified or registered as a dentist (make copies as necessary).

Name:			
Last	First	Middle	Maiden
Address:No. & Street	City	State	Zip Code
Original License numbe (in the state to which th	erere form is being forwarded)	Date Issued	
I hereby authorize the _ Health the information	requested below.	to furnish the Co	nnecticut Department of Public
Signature	D	Pate	
	TO BE COMPLETED BY I	LICENSING AGENCY ONLY	
	e above named individual was issue	d license number	to practice
Basis for licensure in yo	ur state: Endorsement	Examination	
Current Status:	Active] Lapsed [
Date license expires:			
pending disciplinary act	been subjected to disciplinary action or unresolved complaint? YES he individual's status and the basis	■ NO □. If yes, please for	
SEAL	Signed:	Title:	
	State:	Date:	
	Telephone Number:		-

PLEASE COMPLETE AND RETURN DIRECTLY TO:

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH DENTAL PROVISIONAL LICENSURE 410 CAPITOL AVE., **MS# 12APP** P.O. BOX 340308 HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 www.ct.gov/dph

DENTISTRY

- **Sec. 20-103a. State Dental Commission.** (a) The State Dental Commission shall consist of nine members appointed by the governor, subject to the provisions of section 4-9a, six of whom shall be practitioners in dentistry residing in this state who are in good standing in their profession and three of whom shall be public members. No member of said commission shall be an elected or appointed officer of a professional association of members of his profession or have been such an officer for the year immediately preceding his appointment. The Commissioner of Public Health, with advice and assistance from the Dental Commission, may issue regulations to implement the provisions of this chapter, and to insure proper dental care and the protection of public health, considering the convenience and welfare of the patient, methods recommended by the canon of ethics of the Connecticut State Dental Association and the American Dental Association and accepted health standards as promulgated by local health ordinances and state statutes and regulations.
- (b) The governor shall appoint a chairperson from among such members. Said commission shall meet at least once during each calendar quarter and at such other times as the chairman deems necessary. Special meetings shall be held on the request of a majority of the commission after notice in accordance with the provisions of section 1-21. A majority of the members of the board shall constitute a quorum. Members shall not be compensated for their services. Any member who fails to attend three consecutive meetings or who fails to attend fifty per cent of all meetings held during any calendar year shall be deemed to have resigned from office. Minutes of all meetings shall be recorded by the commission. No member shall participate in the affairs of the commission during the pendency of any disciplinary proceedings by the commission against such member. No member shall serve for more than two full consecutive terms commencing after July 1, 1980. Said commission shall (1) hear and decide matters concerning suspension or revocation of licensure, (2) adjudicate complaints filed against practitioners and (3) impose sanctions where appropriate.
- **Sec. 20-106.** License. No person shall engage in the practice of dentistry or dental medicine unless such person has first obtained a license from the department of public health.
- **Sec. 20-106a. Designation of limited practice.** No licensed and registered dentist shall designate in any matter that he has limited his practice to one of the specialty areas of dentistry expressly approved by the American Dental Association unless such dentist has completed two years of advanced or postgraduate education in the area of such specialty and has notified the Dental Commission of such limitation of practice. Nothing contained herein shall prohibit any licensed and registered dentist who has limited his practice prior to May 8, 1975, from continuing to designate such limitation.
- **Sec. 20-107. Application for license.** Each application for such license shall be in writing and signed by the applicant and no license shall be issued to any person unless he presents a diploma or other certificate of graduation from some reputable dental college or from a department of dentistry of a medical college conferring a dental degree, or unless he is practicing as a legally qualified dentist in another state having requirements for admission determined by the department to be similar to or higher than the requirements of this state. The Dental Commission is authorized with the consent of the commissioner of public health to determine the colleges which shall be considered reputable dental or medical colleges for the purposes of this chapter. The commission shall consult where possible with nationally recognized accrediting agencies when making such determinations. Each applicant for such license shall also present a certificate from the State Board of Education that he has completed a four-year course at an approved high school, or has an equivalent academic education, but this requirement shall not apply to an applicant who is practicing as a legally qualified dentist in another state as above provided.

Sec. 20-108. Examination of applicants. Except as provided in section 20-110, each applicant for a license to practice dental medicine or dental surgery shall be examined by the department of public health, under the supervision of the Dental Commission as to his professional knowledge and skill before such license is granted. Such examination shall be conducted in the English language. The Dental Commission may, with the consent of the commissioner of public health, accept and approve, in lieu of the written examination herein required, the results of an examination given by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations, subject to such conditions as the commission may prescribe, and the Dental Commission with the consent of the commissioner of public health, may accept and approve, in lieu of the written and practical examination herein required, the results of regional testing agencies as to written and practical examinations, subject to such conditions as the commission, with the consent of the commissioner of public health, may prescribe. Passing scores shall be established by the department with the consent of the commission.

Sec. 20-109. Fee for examination. Upon the payment of a fee of five hundred sixty five dollars by an applicant, the department of public health, under the supervision of the dental commissioners shall examine applicants. All examinations shall be given at least once per year and at other times prescribed by the department. The department shall grant licenses to such applicants as are qualified.

Sec. 20-110. Licenses to out-of-state applicants. The department of public health may without examination, issue a license to any dentist who is licensed in some other state or territory, if such other state or territory has requirements for admission determined by the department to be similar to or higher than the requirements of this state, upon certification from the board of examiners or like board of the state or territory in which such dentist was a practitioner certifying to his competency and upon payment of a fee of five hundred sixty five dollars to said department. No license shall be issued under this section to any applicant against whom professional disciplinary action is pending or who is the subject of an unresolved complaint. The department shall inform the Dental Commission annually of the number of applications it receives for licensure under this section.

Section 20-112a. Dental assistants. A licensed dentist may delegate to dental assistants such dental procedures as he may deem advisable, but such procedures shall be performed under his supervision and control and he shall assume responsibility for such procedures; provided such assistants may not engage in: (1) Diagnosis for dental procedures or dental treatment; (2) the cutting or removal of any hard or soft tissue or suturing; (3) the prescribing of drugs or medications which require the written or oral order of a licensed dentist or physician; (4) the administration of local, parenteral, inhalation or general anesthetic agents in connection with any dental operative procedure; (5) the taking of any impression of the teeth or jaws or the relationship of the teeth or jaws for the purpose of fabricating any appliance or prosthesis; (6) the placing, finishing and adjustment of temporary or final restorations, capping materials and cement bases; (7) the practice of dental hygiene as defined in section 20-111.

Sec. 20-113. Display of license. The license for the current year shall be displayed conspicuously in the office, place of business or place of employment of each licensee. Each licensed dentist shall forthwith notify the department of any change of address or employment subsequent to his licensure. Any association of dentists which has registered with the secretary of the state as required under section 34-82 shall also register annually as an association with the secretary of the Dental Commission.

Sec. 20-113a. Renewal of licenses. Licenses issued under this chapter shall be renewed annually in accordance with the provisions of section 19a-88.

- Sec. 20-114. Disciplinary action by Dental Commission concerning dentists and dental hygienists. (a) The Dental Commission may take any of the actions set forth in section 19a-17 for any of the following causes: (1) The presentation to the department of any diploma, license or certificate illegally or fraudulently obtained, or obtained from an institution that is not reputable or from an unrecognized or irregular institution or state board, or obtained by the practice of any fraud or deception; (2) proof that a practitioner has become unfit or incompetent or has been guilty of cruelty, incompetence, negligence or indecent conduct toward patients; (3) conviction of the violation of any of the provisions of this chapter by any court of criminal jurisdiction, provided no action shall be taken under section 19a-17 because of such conviction if any appeal to a higher court has been filed until the appeal has been determined by the higher court and the conviction sustained; (4) the employment of any unlicensed person for other than mechanical purposes in the practice of dental medicine or dental surgery subject to the provisions of section 20-122a; (5) the violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or of the regulations adopted hereunder or the refusal to comply with any of said provisions or regulations; (6) the aiding or abetting in the practice of dentistry, dental medicine or dental hygiene of a person not licensed to practice dentistry, dental medicine or dental hygiene in this state; (7) designating a limited practice, except as provided in section 20-106a; (8) engaging in fraud or material deception in the course of professional activities; (9) the effects of physical or mental illness, emotional disorder or loss of motor skill, including but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process, upon the license holder; (10) abuse or excessive use of drugs, including alcohol, narcotics or chemicals; or (11) failure of a holder of a dental anesthesia or conscious sedation permit to successfully complete an on-site evaluation conducted pursuant to subsection (c) of section 20-123b. A violation of any of the provisions of this chapter by any unlicensed employee in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene, with the knowledge of his employer, shall be deemed a violation thereof by his employer. The commissioner of public health may order a license holder to submit to a reasonable physical or mental examination if his physical or mental capacity to practice safely is the subject of an investigation. Said commissioner may petition the superior court for the judicial district of Hartford-New Britain to enforce such order or any action taken pursuant to section 19a-17.
- (b) For purposes of subdivision (8) of subsection (a), fraud or material deception shall include, but not be limited to, the following practices: (1) Submission of a claim form to a third party intentionally reporting incorrect treatment dates for the purpose of assisting a patient in obtaining benefits under a dental plan, which benefits would otherwise be disallowed; (2) increasing a fee to a patient for a dental procedure or dental hygiene service in excess of the fee generally charged by the dentist for such procedure or service solely because the patient has dental insurance; (3) intentionally describing a dental procedure incorrectly on a third-party claim form in order to receive a greater payment or reimbursement or intentionally misrepresenting a dental procedure not otherwise eligible for payment or reimbursement on such claim form for the purpose of receiving payment or reimbursement; and (4) intentionally accepting payment from a third party as payment in full for patient services rendered when (A) the patient has been excused from payment of any applicable deductible by the license holder and (B) such license holder fails to notify the third party of such action.
- **Sec. 20-118. Dentist removing from state.** Any licensed dentist changing his residence or place of business to another state shall, upon application to the dental commissioners, receive a certificate which shall state that he is a licensed dentist in this state; and such certificate shall be given without payment of any fee.
- Sec. 20-120. Practice of dentistry in clinics, schools of dentistry and state institutions. (a) Any graduate of a recognized dental college may practice dentistry in a clinic for a period not exceeding six months, provided he shall obtain the written consent and approval of the Dental Commission.

- (b) A full-time faculty member of a school of dentistry in this state who is licensed in another state or who has exceptional qualifications as approved by the Dental Commission may be granted a provisional license upon consent and approval of the Dental Commission which provisional license shall be in effect during such time as the licensee is in the full-time employment of a school of dentistry within the state. Such provisional license shall limit the licensee to the practice of dentistry in the school of dentistry of which he is a member of the faculty or in any hospital affiliated with such school.
- (c) Any graduate of a foreign dental school, who has exceptional qualifications, as approved by the Dental Commission, may practice dentistry in any state institution.

Sec. 20-122. Ownership and operation of offices by unlicensed persons or by corporations. No person, except a licensed and registered dentist, and no corporation, except a professional service corporation organized and existing under chapter 594a for the purpose of rendering professional dental services, and no institution shall own or operate a dental office, or an office, laboratory or operation or consultation room in which dental medicine, dental surgery or dental hygiene is carried on as a portion of its regular business; but the provisions of this section shall not apply to hospitals, community health centers, public or parochial schools, or convalescent homes, or institutions under control of an agency of the state of Connecticut, or the state or municipal board of health, or a municipal board of education; or those educational institutions treating their students, or to industrial institutions or corporations rendering treatment to their employees on a nonprofit basis, provided permission therefor has been granted by the State Dental Commission. Such permission may be revoked for cause after hearing by said commission.

- **Sec. 20-122a.** Work authorization for unlicensed person. No dentist shall use the services of any person not licensed to practice dentistry in this state, or the services of any partnership, corporation or association, to construct, alter, repair or duplicate any denture, plate, bridge, splint or orthodontic or prosthetic appliance, without first furnishing such unlicensed person, partnership, corporation or association with a written work authorization on forms prescribed by the Dental Commission, and no unlicensed person, partnership, association or corporation shall perform any of such services for a dentist without first obtaining such written work authorization. Such authorization, which shall be retained by the unlicensed person, partnership, corporation or association to whom it is issued, and a copy thereof, which shall be retained by the issuing dentist, shall be subject to inspection by the department of public health or its authorized agents for a period of one year from its issuance.
- **Sec. 20-122b.** Subwork authorization. Failure of dentist to provide written authorization. (a) If upon receiving such written authorization an unlicensed person, partnership, corporation or association, hereinafter referred to as "contractor", engages another person, partnership, corporation or association, hereinafter referred to as "subcontractor", to perform some of the services relative to such work authorization, such contractor shall furnish to such subcontractor a written subwork authorization with respect thereto on forms prescribed by the Dental Commission. Such subwork authorization, which shall be retained by the subcontractor, and a duplicate thereof, which shall be attached to the work authorization and retained by the contractor, shall be subject to inspection by the department of public health or its authorized agents for a period of one year from its issuance.
- (b) When any unlicensed person, partnership, association or corporation performs for a dentist any service listed in section 20-122a and demands that such dentist furnish him with a written work authorization which such dentist fails or refuses to furnish, such unlicensed person, partnership, association or corporation shall be deemed to have complied with the provisions of this section and said section 20-122a.

Sec. 20-122c. Inspection of authorization files by department of public health. The department of public health or its authorized agent may inspect the written authorization files of any licensed dentist or unlicensed person, partnership, organization or association to determine its compliance with section 20-122a. Any licensed dentist or unlicensed person, partnership, organization or association which violates any provision of said section 20-122a, or refuses to allow the department of public health or its authorized agents to inspect the work authorization or prosthetic dentures, bridges, orthodontic or other appliances or structures to be used as substitutes for or as a part of natural teeth or jaws or associated structures for the correction of malocclusions or deformities in its possession shall be subject to such penalties as are provided in section 20-126.

Sec. 20-123. Practice of dentistry defined. Exceptions. Any person who owns or carries on a dental practice or business, or who, by himself or by his servants or agents or by contract with others, performs any operation in or makes examination of, with intent of performing or causing to be performed any operation in, the mouth and surrounding and associated structures, or who describes himself by the word "Dentist" or letters "D.D.S." or "D.M.D.", or in other words, letters or title in connection with his name which in any way represents such person as engaged in the practice of dentistry, or who diagnoses or treats diseases or lesions of the mouth and surrounding and associated structures, replaces lost teeth by artificial ones, attempts to diagnose or correct malposition thereof, or who, directly or indirectly, by any means or method, furnishes, supplies, constructs, reproduces or repairs any prosthetic denture, bridge, appliance or any other structure to be worn in the human mouth, except upon the written direction of a licensed dentist, or who places such appliance or structure in the human mouth or attempts to adjust the same, or delivers the same to any person other than the dentist upon whose direction the work was performed, or who sells or distributes materials, except to a licensed dentist, dental laboratory or dental supply house, with instructions for an individual to construct, repair, reproduce or duplicate any prosthetic denture, bridge, appliance or any other structure to be worn in the human mouth, or who advertises to the public, by any method, to furnish, supply, construct, reproduce or repair any prosthetic denture, bridge, appliance or other structure to be worn in the human mouth, or gives estimates on the cost of treatment, or who advertises or permits it to be done by sign, or card, circular, handbill or newspaper, or otherwise indicates that he, by contract with others or by himself, will perform any of such operations, shall be deemed as practicing dentistry or dental medicine within the meaning of this chapter. Any person who, in practicing dentistry or dental medicine, as defined in this section, employs or permits any other person except a licensed dentist to so practice dentistry or dental medicine shall be subject to the penalties provided in section 20-126. The provisions of this chapter shall not prevent any practicing physician or surgeon from treating lesions or diseases of the mouth and jaws or from extracting teeth. No provision of this section shall be construed to prevent regularly enrolled students in dental schools approved as provided in this chapter or medical schools approved as provided in chapter 370 from receiving practical training in dentistry under the supervision of a licensed dentist or physician in a dental or medical school in this state or in any hospital, infirmary, clinic or dispensary affiliated with such school; or to prevent a person who holds the degree of doctor of dental medicine or doctor of dental surgery or its equivalent and who has been issued a permit in accordance with section 20-126b from receiving practical training under the supervision of a licensed dentist or physician in an advanced dental education program conducted by a dental or medical school in this state or by a hospital operated by the federal government or licensed pursuant to subsection (a) of section 19a-491; or to prevent any regularly enrolled student in or graduate of an accredited school of dental hygiene from receiving practical training in dental hygiene under the supervision of a Connecticut licensed dentist or a Connecticut licensed dental hygienist in any approved school of dental hygiene in the state or in any hospital, infirmary, clinic or dispensary affiliated with such school or to prevent controlled investigations or innovative training programs related to the delivery of dental health services within accredited dental schools or schools of dental

hygiene, provided such programs are under the supervision of a licensed dentist or physician and are conducted within a program which is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or such other national professional accrediting body as may be recognized by the United States Department of Education.

Sec. 20-123a. Anesthesia and sedation: Definitions. For purposes of this section and section 20-123b:

- (a) "Conscious sedation" means a drug-induced state in which the patient is calmed and relaxed, capable of making rational responses to commands and has all protective reflexes intact, including the ability to clear and maintain his own airway in a patent state, but does not include nitrous oxide sedation or any orally administered sedation;
- (b) "General anesthesia" means a controlled state of unconsciousness produced by pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic methods, or a combination thereof, accompanied by a partial or complete loss of protective reflexes including an inability to independently maintain an airway and to respond purposefully to physical stimulation or verbal commands; and
 - (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public health.
- **Sec. 20-123b.** Permit for use of anesthesia required. Regulations. (a) On and after the effective date of the regulations adopted in accordance with subsection (d) of this section, no dentist licensed under this chapter shall use general anesthesia or conscious sedation, as these terms are defined in section 20-123a, on any patient unless such dentist has a permit, currently in effect, issued by the commissioner, initially for a period of twelve months and renewable annually thereafter, authorizing the use of such general anesthesia or conscious sedation.
- (b) No applicant shall be issued a permit initially as required in subsection (a) of this section unless (1) the commissioner approves the results of an on-site evaluation of the applicant's facility conducted in consultation with the Connecticut Society of Oral and Maxillo-Facial Surgeons by an individual or individuals selected from a list of site evaluators approved by the commissioner, provided such evaluation is conducted without cost to the state, (2) the commissioner is satisfied that the applicant is in compliance with guidelines in the American Dental Association Guidelines for Teaching and the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry and (3) such initial application includes payment of a fee in the amount of two hundred dollars.
- (c) The commissioner may renew such permit annually, provided (1) application for renewal is received by the commissioner not later than three months after the date of expiration of such permit, (2) payment of a renewal fee of two hundred dollars is received with such application and (3) an onsite evaluation of the dentist's facility is conducted in consultation with The Connecticut Society of Oral and Maxillo-Facial Surgeons by an individual or individuals selected from a list of site evaluators approved by the commissioner, provided such evaluation is conducted without cost to the state on a schedule established in regulations adopted pursuant to this section and the commissioner approves the results of each such evaluation.
- (d) The commissioner, with the advice and assistance of the State Dental Commission, shall adopt regulations in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54 to implement the provisions of this section.
- **Sec. 20-124.** False representations. No person shall falsely claim to hold a certificate of registration, license, diploma or degree granted by a society, school or by the Board of Dental Commissioners, or, with intent to deceive the public, pretend to be a graduate of any dental college or

college, or append the letters "D.D.S." or "D.M.D." or "M.D.S." to his name, without having the degree indicated by such letters conferred upon him by diploma from a college, a school or a board of examiners empowered to confer the same.

Sec. 20-124a. Dental referral services: Disclosure of acceptance of fee for referral required. It shall be an unfair or deceptive trade practice, in violation of chapter 735a, for any person, firm, partnership, association, corporation or agent or employee thereof that engages in for profit, any business or service that in whole or in part includes the referral or recommendation of persons to a licensed dentist or dental practice for any form of dental care or treatment, to fail to disclose to a prospective patient, at the time the prospective patient makes initial contact by any means including advertising with the for-profit business or service, that the licensed dentist has paid a fee for such referral.

Sec. 20-125. Appeal. Any licensee aggrieved by a final decision of the Dental Commission in suspending or revoking any license under the provisions of this chapter may appeal therefrom as provided in section 4-183. Appeals brought under this section shall be privileged with respect to the order of trial assignment.

Sec. 20-126. Penalties. Any person who violates any provision of this chapter shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than five years or both. Any person who continues to practice dentistry, dental medicine or dental surgery, after his license, certificate, registration or authority to so do has been suspended or revoked and while such disability continues, shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than five years or both. For purposes of this section each instance of patient contact or consultation which is in violation of any provision of this section shall constitute a separate offense. Failure to renew a license in a timely manner shall not constitute a violation for the purposes of this section.

Sec. 20-126a. Payment for dental care of patients in chronic and convalescent hospitals and convalescent homes. Payment for dental care rendered to patients in chronic and convalescent hospitals or convalescent homes shall be made directly to the dentist rendering or directing such care. The Commissioner of Social Services shall not be required to recognize the cost of employing or contracting with a dentist in the rates established for convalescent homes pursuant to section 17b-340.

Sec. 20-126b. (Formerly Sec. 20-126v). Permit for advanced dental education. No person shall participate in an advanced dental education program unless he has received a permit issued by the Department of Public Health. The permit shall be issued solely for purposes of participation in an advanced dental education program conducted by a dental or medical school or by a hospital operated by the federal government or licensed pursuant to subsection (a) of section 19a-491. No person shall received a permit until a statement has been filed with the department on his behalf by the program administration certifying that he is to be enrolled in the program and that he has received the degree of doctor of dental medicine or doctor of dental surgery or its equivalent.

Public Act 03-124

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened: Section 1. (NEW) (*Effective October 1, 2003*) Any person who practices dentistry for no fee, for at least one hundred hours per year at a public health facility, as defined in section 20-126l of the general statutes, and does not otherwise engage in the practice of dentistry, shall be eligible to renew a license, as provided in section 19a-88 of the general statutes, for a fee of one hundred dollars.

- Sec. 2. Subsection (a) of section 19a-88 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (*Effective October 1, 2003*):
- (a) Each person holding a license to practice dentistry, optometry, midwifery or dental hygiene shall, annually, during the month of such person's birth, register with the Department of Public Health, upon payment of the professional services fee for class I, as defined in section 33-182l in the case of a dentist, except as provided in section 1 of this act, the professional services fee for class H, as defined in section 33-182l in the case of an optometrist, five dollars in the case of a midwife, and fifty dollars in the case of a dental hygienist, on blanks to be furnished by the department for such purpose, giving such person's name in full, such person's residence and business address and such other information as the department requests.

REGULATIONS OF CONNECTICUT STATE AGENCIES CONCERNING EVALUATION OF CANDIDATES WITH PREVIOUS LICENSURE

Section 19a-14-1 to 19a-14-5

19a-14-1 Application for licensure after license has become void

A person previously licensed in Connecticut whose license has become void pursuant to section 19-a-88 of the Connecticut General Statutes, may apply for licensure under the terms of these regulations. In determining the qualifications of such a candidate, pursuant to section 19a-14 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the Department of Health Services shall refer the application to the appropriate Board or Commission for review, evaluation, and recommendations. If no Board or Commission exists for the profession in question, the Department of Health Services may make the review and evaluation.

19a-14-2 Review and evaluation of application

When reviewing and evaluating applications pursuant to section 19a-14-1 of these regulations, the Board, Commission or Department shall consider at least the following: (1) credentials presented for initial licensure; (2) length of practice as a licensed professional; (3) time elapsed since leaving active practice; (4) whether the candidate had been the subject of complaints, investigations or disciplinary actions as a licensed professional; and (5) any continuing education undertaken by the candidate. The Board, Commission or Department must determine whether or not these factors, taken together, meet current licensure requirements.

19a-14-3 Recommendations regarding acceptability

After completion of the review prescribed in section 19a-14-2 of these regulations, the Board or Commission shall make recommendations to the Department regarding the acceptability for licensure of the candidate. At its discretion, the Department may, after considering all licensure requirements and make recommendations of the Board or Commission, grant licensure to the candidate.

19a-14-4 License shall not be issued until or unless complaint resolved

No license shall be issued if there is a complaint awaiting adjudication against the applicant in another state or with the Department of Health Services until such a time as it is resolved in favor of the candidate.

19a-14-5 Suspended or revoked license

An applicant whose license has been suspended or revoked pursuant to section 19a-17 of the Connecticut General Statutes cannot reapply for licensure under the terms of these regulations.

Statement of Purpose: To allow persons previously licensed in Connecticut to have their work experience as a licensed person be considered when applying for a new license in dentistry.