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  Memo 

 
TO:  Connecticut Licensed Dentists and Dental Hygienists 

 

FROM: Commissioner Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH 

 

CC:  Deputy Commissioner Heather Aaron, MPH, LNHA 

  Barbara Cass, RN, Branch Chief, Healthcare Quality and Safety Branch 

  Christian Andresen, MPH, CPH, Section Chief, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations 

 

DATE:  July 17, 2020 

 

SUBJECT:  Ongoing Dental Guidance Updates 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

The Department of Public Health acknowledges the efforts that dental practices throughout Connecticut have made to 

reduce the likelihood of COVID-19 transmission in dental settings. 

Components of the Best Practices for Dental Offices Considering Expanding Operations Beyond Emergency Care to 
Include Non-Urgent and Elective Procedures During the COVID-19 Pandemic document that was distributed a few 
weeks ago have since been updated multiple times.   This has created understandable confusion and concern 
among dental hygienists, dental assistants, dentists and other staff working in dental settings. 
 
As the response to COVID-19 evolves and moving forward, dental practices in Connecticut should prioritize following the 

most recent Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Interim Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for 

Dental Settings During the COVID-19 Response.   The CDC guidance is referenced in Connecticut General Statutes Section 

20-114(a)(15) that relates to the practice of dentistry.  The most updated version of the CDC guidance can be found 

here:  https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/dental-settings.html 

The June 17, 2020 changes to the CDC guidance are: 

• The recommendation to wait 15 minutes after completion of clinical care and exit of each patient without 
suspected or confirmed COVID-19 to begin to clean and disinfect room surfaces has been removed to align with 
CDC Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations for Patients with Suspected or Confirmed 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) in Healthcare Settings. 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/dental-settings.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html


 

 

 

• The time period recommended for patients to inform the dental clinic if they develop symptoms or are 
diagnosed with COVID-19 following a dental appointment has been changed to 2 days (down from 14 days) to 
align with CDC’s Healthcare Personnel with Potential Exposure Guidance. 

• Clarifying language has been added to Engineering Controls. 

Guidance issued by the American Dental Association and the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration 

(OSHA) can be used to complement or supplement the CDC guidance. 

The Department encourages ongoing COVID-19 infection control and prevention communication between dentists and 

dental health care practitioners and other staff working at the practice, especially as the CDC guidance is updated.   The 

Department’s recent experience working with dental practices where COVID-19 related concerns have been raised by 

staff has shown that most offices have taken appropriate precautions.  However, staff were often not sufficiently trained 

or clearly informed about the measures taken by the practice to mitigate COVID-19 transmission risk.  Clear 

communication and training of staff will assist in reducing unnecessary COVID19 related tensions and fears in the 

workplace. 

We appreciate all of your efforts. Thank you and please be safe. 

 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/guidance-risk-assesment-hcp.html

