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OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 

Date: January 3, 2020 

To: All Certified EMS Personnel 

From: Raffaella Coler, RN, MEd, Paramedic  
Director, Office of Emergency Medical Services 

Joel Demers, NRP, EMS-I 
EMS Education and Training Coordinator 

Re: New Recertification Requirements 

Effective January 1, 2020, all certified EMS providers (EMR, EMT and AEMT) must complete the 
National Registry of EMT’s “National Continued Competency Program” (NCCR) as outlined on the 
NREMT website. This includes a core body of education specific to each level (the National Component) 
and a flexible or elective number of continuing medical education hours.  Additionally, each provider 
must have their skills validated by a Connecticut EMS instructor or physician medical director. 

The following pages include a listing of the core education and number of CME hours required for each 
level of provider.  Paramedic NCCP requirements are provided as a courtesy to paramedics who choose to 
maintain NREMT paramedic certification.  No continuing education is required to renew a Connecticut 
paramedic license. 

Note that NREMT distinguishes between “Local/State” and “Individual” requirements of CME.  At this 
time, the only required topic under the “Local/State” requirement applies to EMT’s – that they complete 
training in Alzheimer’s and Dementia care.  No specific curriculum or time frame is specified in statute.  
(CGA §20-206mm(e)) 

The OEMS Education webpage contains several forms to aid providers in tracking their continuing 
medical education.  Those providers who currently have an active NREMT certification should utilize the 
NREMT “My Certification” tool to track their education requirements.  Those providers who hold only 
Connecticut certification may utilize the paper forms at the OEMS Education webpage and maintain such 
records for inspection by OEMS upon request. 

Until notified otherwise, providers who do not hold NREMT certification should NOT establish an 
NREMT account.  When a provision for online tracking of education for state certified only providers is 
developed, an advisory will be distributed. 

https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/nccp
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/dashboard/login?redirect=%2Frwd%2Frecertification%2Fcertification
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
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2020 Recertification Requirements  
Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) 

Prior to submitting an application for renewal of EMR certification, the provider shall complete 
the following continuing education and maintain evidence of such training for a minimum of four 
(4) years, subject to inspection by OEMS.  The responsibility to obtain such education and
maintain records is that of the certified provider, not the employer.

1. National Continued Competency Requirement for EMR – 8 hours
(Up to 3 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved.
i. Airway, Respiration, Ventilation – 1 hour

ii. Cardiovascular – 2.5 hours
iii. Trauma – 0.5 hour
iv. Medical – 3 hours
v. Operation – 1 hour

2. Continuing Medical Education
(Up to 7 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved CME – 8 hours
b. Standardized Courses (BLS, PEPP, PHTLS, etc. may be counted in this category.

3. Skills Validation
a. Documentation by an EMS-I that the following skills have been performed by

review of existing call records, laboratory demonstration or skills exam.  This may
be documented using a “T-6 Form” available on the OEMS Education webpage or
any suitable substitute form or document.

i. Medical Assessment and Management
ii. Trauma Assessment and Management

iii. Airway Management and Ventilation
iv. Cardiac Arrest with AED for all ages
v. Hemorrhage Control and Shock Management

4. Completion of the recertification application available online at www.elicense.ct.gov
during the final 6 months of certification.

The provider may claim credit for any continuing education completed since the date of previous 
certification issuance or renewal.  NCCR education is provided by certified EMS instructors.  
Continuing medical education may be provided by certified EMS instructors, subject matter 
experts with approval from OEMS or instructors of Approved Standardized Courses. 

Minimum Classroom = 6 
Maximum Online = 10 

https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
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2020 Recertification Requirements  
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) 

Prior to submitting an application for renewal of EMT certification, the provider shall complete 
the following continuing education and maintain evidence of such training for a minimum of four 
(4) years, subject to inspection by OEMS.  The responsibility to obtain such education and
maintain records is that of the certified provider, not the employer.

1. National Continued Competency Requirement for EMT – 20 hours
(Up to 7 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved.
i. Airway, Respiration, Ventilation – 1.5 hours

ii. Cardiovascular – 6 hours
iii. Trauma – 1.5 hours
iv. Medical – 6 hours
v. Operation – 5 hours

2. Continuing Medical Education
(Up to 17 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved CME – 20 hours
b. Standardized Courses (BLS, PEPP, PHTLS, etc. may be counted in this category.
c. An EMT shall complete at least one element of training in Alzheimer's disease

and dementia symptoms and care. No specific curriculum or timeframe is
required.

3. Skills Validation
a. Documentation by an EMS-I that the following skills have been performed by

review of existing call records, laboratory demonstration or skills exam.  This may
be documented using a “T-6 Form” available on the OEMS Education webpage or
any suitable substitute form or document.

i. Medical Assessment and Management
ii. Trauma Assessment and Management
iii. Airway Management and Ventilation
iv. Cardiac Arrest with AED for all ages
v. Hemorrhage Control and Shock Management
vi. Spinal Motion Restriction
vii. Splinting, Simple and Traction

4. Completion of the recertification application available online at www.elicense.ct.gov
during the final 6 months of certification.

The provider may claim credit for any continuing education completed since the date of previous 
certification issuance or renewal.  NCCR education is provided by certified EMS instructors.  
Continuing medical education may be provided by certified EMS instructors, subject matter 
experts with approval from OEMS or instructors of Approved Standardized Courses. 

Minimum Classroom = 16 
Maximum Online = 24 

https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
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2020 Recertification Requirements  
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) 

Prior to submitting an application for renewal of AEMT certification, the provider shall complete 
the following continuing education and maintain evidence of such training for a minimum of four 
(4) years, subject to inspection by OEMS.  The responsibility to obtain such education and
maintain records is that of the certified provider, not the employer.

1. National Continued Competency Requirement for AEMT – 25 hours
(Up to 7 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved.
i. Airway, Respiration, Ventilation – 2.5 hours

ii. Cardiovascular – 7 hours
iii. Trauma – 3 hours
iv. Medical – 7.5 hours
v. Operation – 5 hours

2. Continuing Medical Education
(Up to 18 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved CME – 25 hours
b. Standardized Courses (BLS, PEPP, PHTLS, etc. may be counted in this category.

3. Skills Validation
a. Documentation by a physician medical director that the following skills have

been performed by review of existing call records, laboratory demonstration or
skills exam.  This may be documented using a “T-6 Form” available on the OEMS
Education webpage or any suitable substitute form or document.

i. Medical Assessment and Management
ii. Trauma Assessment and Management
iii. Airway Management and Ventilation
iv. Cardiac Arrest with AED for all ages
v. Hemorrhage Control and Shock Management
vi. Spinal Motion Restriction
vii. Splinting, Simple and Traction
viii. IV/IO Therapy
ix. IV/IO Medication Administration
x. Advanced Airway Devices
xi. Advanced Cardiac Care (megacode, etc.)

4. Completion of the recertification application available online at www.elicense.ct.gov
during the final 6 months of certification.

The provider may claim credit for any continuing education completed since the date of previous 
certification issuance or renewal.  NCCR education is provided by certified EMS instructors. 
Continuing medical education may be provided by certified EMS instructors, subject matter 
experts with approval from OEMS or instructors of Approved Standardized Courses. 

Minimum Classroom = 21.5 
Maximum Online = 28.5 

https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
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2020 Paramedic NREMT Recertification 

This information is provided as a courtesy to Connecticut Licensed Paramedics who elect to 
follow the NREMT National Continued Competency Program or to maintain NREMT 
certification as an NRP. 

1. National Continued Competency Requirement for paramedic – 30 hours
(Up to 10 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved.
i. Airway, Respiration, Ventilation – 3.5 hours

ii. Cardiovascular – 8.5 hours
iii. Trauma – 3 hours
iv. Medical – 8.5 hours
v. Operation – 6.5 hours

2. Continuing Medical Education
(Up to 25 hours may be online)

a. State OEMS or CAPCE approved CME – 30 hours
b. Standardized Courses (BLS, PEPP, PHTLS, etc. may be counted in this category.

3. Skills Validation
a. Documentation by a physician medical director that the following skills have

been performed by review of existing call records, laboratory demonstration or
skills exam.  This may be documented using a “T-6 Form” available on the OEMS
Education webpage or any suitable substitute form or document.

i. Medical Assessment and Management
ii. Trauma Assessment and Management
iii. Airway Management and Ventilation
iv. Cardiac Arrest with AED for all ages
v. Hemorrhage Control and Shock Management
vi. Spinal Motion Restriction
vii. Splinting, Simple and Traction
viii. IV/IO Therapy
ix. IV/IO Medication Administration
x. Advanced Airway Devices
xi. Advanced Cardiac Care (megacode, etc.)

4. Completion of the recertification application available online at www.NREMT.org during
the final 6 months of certification.

The provider may claim credit for any continuing education completed since the date of previous 
certification issuance or renewal.  NCCR education is provided by certified EMS instructors.  
Continuing medical education may be provided by certified EMS instructors, subject matter 
experts with approval from OEMS or instructors of Approved Standardized Courses. 

Licensed paramedics must still renew their license annually and pay the statutory fee in order 
to practice in Connecticut.  NREMT certification alone is not sufficient. 

Minimum Classroom = 25 
Maximum Online = 35 

https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public
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Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Recertification 

1. Can an applicant for recertification count hours from prior to 2020?
a. Yes.  Education completed during the entire previous certification cycle may be counted.

This includes drills, in-service training, CAPCE approved training, OEMS approved
training, sponsor hospital approved education and other reasonable EMS related
education.

2. Does an applicant need to create an account on NREMT.org?
a. OEMS is working with NREMT on this. Applicants who do not have an active NREMT

certification or account do not need to create an account.  If this changes, OEMS will
notify users.

b. Current NREMT certified personnel may use their NREMT.org account to track
continuing education requirements.

3. Is continuing education from other states acceptable?
a. Yes – Continuing education is acceptable from any state if it is approved by the state or

local EMS authority or by CAPCE.
4. How does an applicant for renewal demonstrate compliance with CME requirements?

a. An applicant shall maintain records, paper or digital, including certificates or letters of
completion, for at least four (4) years, subject to inspection by OEMS.  CME tracking
record sheets are available on the EMS Education Page under “Training Updates”

b. The applicant shall keep such records and produce them if requested to do so by OEMS.
5. How can an applicant be sure that the course they attend is approved for EMS providers?

a. In-state programs are approved by OEMS, and have an approval number.  Ask your
instructor for this number and check it online at the EMS Education Page under
“Approved EMS Continuing Education.”

b. Programs in other states will have approval from the EMS authority having jurisdiction.
This may be a state approval, regional or county approval, or medical director approval.

c. Nationally provided programs may have CAPCE approval.
6. Is there a test for renewal of a certification?

a. No – refresher exams are no longer required and are not available.
7. What happens after 90 days beyond expiration?

a. A certified provider may no longer practice after the 90 day period.  Also, when applying
for reinstatement, the applicant must demonstrate compliance with the Mental Health
First Aid training requirement, as reinstatement qualifies as a new certification.

During the first recertification cycle of this model of continuing education, applicants may apply 
continuing education hours from any program that would have received approval from OEMS prior to 
OEMS offering approval.  For example, a person may claim credit for attending a hospital sponsored 
skill-session or lecture from 2017-2019 when OEMS approval was not available.  This option will not be 
available after 2021. 

CT DPH OEMS 

https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-Education-and-Training
http://www.capce.org/
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EMS Recertification References 

NREMT Agency Guide to Recertification – This document outlines the NREMT requirements for 
recertification continuing education.   

NREMT One Page Grid – All Levels of NCCR – Outline the topic and hour requirement for NCCR 
continuing education by level of certified provider. 

Detailed education outlines for NCCR programs: 
 EMR NCCP
 EMT NCCP
 AEMT NCCP
 Paramedic NCCP

One-page flyers regarding NCCR programs: 
 EMR Brochure
 EMT Brochure
 AEMT Brochure
 Paramedic Brochure

NREMT Standardized Course Guide 

NREMT Webpage about NCCP 

https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/Agency_Guide_Recert_8_18.pdf
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/national-nccp-2016.pdf
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/2016_EMR_NCCP_final.pdf?v=1
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/2016_EMT_NCCP_final.pdf?v=1
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/2016_AEMT_NCCP_final.pdf?v=1
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/2016_NRP_NCCP_final.pdf?v=1
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/emr-nccp-brochure.pdf
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/emt-nccp-brochure.pdf
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/aemt-nccp-brochure.pdf
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/paramedic-nccp-brochure.pdf
https://content.nremt.org/static/documents/NCCR%202016%20V3%20-%20Standard%20Course%20to%20SubTopics.pdf
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/nccp



