
Safe Drinking Water Primacy Summary  
CT State Fiscal Year 2021 Cost to Support Primacy under the Federal Safe Drinking 

Water Act (SDWA) 

Section 75 of Public Act 19-117, signed into law in June 2019, authorizes the Department of Public Health 
(DPH) to collect an assessment from water companies that own Non-Transient Non-Community public water 
systems (NTNC) and Community public water systems (CWS).  Assessment fees are established within the 
Public Act, based upon the classification and size of the owned system.  The DPH will begin collecting the 
assessment, in accordance with a timeline specified in the Public Act, to support the department's ability to 
maintain primacy under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA).  

Primacy is the responsibility to implement and enforce the SDWA. Since 1977, the DPH has been delegated 
primacy from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Critical core functions of Connecticut’s drinking 
water primacy program include: 

• Operating an enforcement program to ensure the public water systems comply with all safe drinking 
water requirements; 

• Maintaining an inventory of public water systems throughout the state; 
• Compiling a database to contain compliance information on public water systems; 
• Conducting sanitary surveys of public water systems; 
• Reviewing and approving public water system plans and specifications; 
• Providing technical assistance to managers and operators of public water systems; 
• Enforcing public notification, ensuring that public water systems regularly inform their consumers 

about the quality of the water that they are providing; 
• Certifying laboratories that test drinking water samples; 
• Administering Connecticut’s Drinking Water State Revolving Fund program, which provides low 

interest loans to public water systems for planning, design and construction projects; 
• Administering an Operator Certification, Backflow Prevention and Cross-Connection Program; 
• Public interaction with citizens, chief elected officials, school officials and local health directors 

including addressing consumer complaints and water quality concerns;   
• Education of all entities regarding new requirements; and 
• Source water assessment and protection. 

 

The summary below outlines the law's requirements concerning these assessments: 

• All NTNCs = $125 annual fee 

• CWSs with less than 50 service connections = $125 annual fee 

• CWSs with 50 to 99 service connections = $150 annual fee 

• CWSs with 100 or more service connections = $1.87 per service connection 

Section 75 (c) of the Public Act requires the DPH, on or before October 1, 2020 and in consultation with the 
Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management, to post the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2021 costs to support 
the DPH’s ability to maintain primacy under the federal SDWA.  These costs are shown in the following table:
  

Estimated SFY 2021 Total Costs to Maintain Primacy under the SDWA – 61.50 FTEs     10,198,312         
 
 

Less Federal and Baseline State Funding 
 

 ($8,638,312) 
SFY 2021 Safe Drinking Water Primacy Assessment              $1,560,000 

 



 

 

Important Dates 

1. On or before October 1, 2020: DPH shall post costs to support primacy under the SDWA on DPH 
website. 

2. On or before November 1, 2020: DPH shall prepare and post a year-end report to the Department’s 
web site.  A thirty-day public comment period follows. 

3. On or before January 1, 2021: DPH submits the year-end report to the Governor and General 
Assembly. 

4. On or before January 1, 2021: DPH issues invoices to CWSs and NTNCs. 
5. On or before March 1, 2021:  

a. 50% of the assessment is due for CWSs with 100 or more service connections; and  
b. NTNC payments are due in full. 

6. On or before May 1, 2021: Payments are due in full for CWSs. 
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