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OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER GUIDANCE 
Regarding Depreciation of Qualified Improvement Property for Connecticut Tax Purposes 
 

Background on Federal Treatment 

 

Prior to the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (“CARES Act”), the depreciable 

life of qualified improvement property for federal purposes (“QIP”) was 39 years. The CARES 

Act revised I.R.C. § 168(e) and (g) to provide QIP with a depreciable life of 15 years under the 

general depreciation system and a depreciable life of 20 years under the alternative depreciation 

system. The changes made by the CARES Act make QIP eligible for bonus depreciation and are 

applicable to QIP placed in service after December 31, 2017. 

 

Revenue Procedure 2020-25 allows a taxpayer to change its depreciation and claim the additional 

bonus depreciation under I.R.C. § 168 for QIP placed in service by the taxpayer after December 

31, 2017, in taxable year 2018, 2019 or 2020, pursuant to revisions to the CARES Act.   Taxpayers 

changing the depreciation method and claiming the additional bonus depreciation may do so by 

either: 

 

 Filing Form 3115, Application for Change in Accounting Method, with the taxpayer’s 

timely federal income tax return for the year of change, provided the I.R.C. § 481(a) 

adjustment reported on Form 3115 includes the amount of any adjustment attributable to 

all property; or  

 Filing an amended return or amended Form 1065, US Return of Partnership Income, for 

the placed in service year of the qualified improvement property on or before October 15, 

2021. 

 

Corporation Business Tax 

 

For corporation business tax purposes, Connecticut conforms to the calculation of depreciation 

under the Internal Revenue Code, except for I.R.C. § 168(k). Therefore, Connecticut conforms to 

the changes made to the depreciable life of QIP by the CARES Act, but does not conform to the 

ability to claim bonus depreciation on such assets.  

 

If a company files an amended federal return to reflect the QIP depreciation change, the company 

must file the corresponding amended corporation business tax return to report the depreciation 

change, except that it must calculate the depreciation deduction for Connecticut purposes without 

regard to the provisions of I.R.C. § 168(k) (i.e., bonus depreciation). Alternatively, if a company 

files federal Form 3115 to claim additional QIP depreciation as a I.R.C. § 481(a) adjustment, it 

must report such adjustment on the corresponding corporation business tax return, except that such 

adjustment must be calculated for Connecticut purposes without regard to the provisions of I.R.C. 

§ 168(k). 
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Individual Income Tax and Pass-Through Entity Tax 

 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, for purposes of the calculation of 

Connecticut adjusted gross income under the personal income tax and Connecticut taxable income 

under the pass-through entity tax, any amount of bonus depreciation allowed under I.R.C. § 168(k) 

for property placed in service after September 27, 2017, must be added back to the extent 

deductible in determining federal adjusted gross income.  However, for each of the four succeeding 

taxable years, the taxpayer is allowed to deduct 25% of the amount added back.   

 

If the taxpayer files federal Form 3115, the amount of the I.R.C. § 481(a) adjustment that relates 

to bonus depreciation must be added back to calculate Connecticut taxable income.  The taxpayer 

may claim a subtraction equal to 25% of the amount added back in each of the four years following 

the taxable year for which the add back was reported. 

 

If a taxpayer files an amended federal return to reflect the QIP depreciation change, the taxpayer 

must file the corresponding Connecticut amended return to report the depreciation change.  The 

taxpayer must add back any amount of depreciation allowed under I.R.C. § 168(k). The taxpayer 

may claim a subtraction equal to 25% of the amount added back in each of the four years following 

the taxable year for which the add back was reported. 

 

Additional Questions: Send an e-mail to the DRS Legal Division at legal.division@po.state.ct.us  

 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries by calling 860-297-4911.  

 

For Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS 
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