
Return for period ended 	 	 Due on or before
M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

	 Connecticut Tax Registration Number



	 Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)



Out of business	 

Amended return	 

Name

Street address

City/town	 State	 Zip code

Complete the return in blue or black ink. Do not use staples.

Form OP-300
Tobacco Products Tax Return
(Rev. 09/19)

Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 5014
Hartford CT 06102-5014
OP300 1117W 01 9999

Did you purchase tax paid tobacco products during this reporting month? If Yes, attach Schedule A. 	 

1.	 Tobacco products, excluding snuff tobacco products, cigarette roll-your-own, and 
cigars in excess of $1.00 per cigar, purchased, imported, received, acquired, or 
manufactured in Connecticut: From Schedule A-1 or Schedule A-2.	 1.	 	 .00

2.	 Roll-your-own cigarette tobacco, purchased, imported, received, or acquired in 
Connecticut: From Schedule E.	 2.	 	 .00

3.	 Subtotal: Add Line 1 and Line 2.	 3.	 	 .00

4.	 Tobacco products, excluding snuff tobacco products and cigars in excess of 
$1.00 per cigar, exported from Connecticut or sold to the federal government: From 
Schedule C and/or Schedule D.	 4.	 	 .00

5.	 Amount subject to tax: Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.	 5.	 	 .00

6.	 Tax due on tobacco products: Multiply Line 5 by 50% (.50).	 6.	 	 .00

7.	 Total ounces of snuff tobacco products purchased, imported, received, acquired, or 
manufactured in Connecticut: From Schedule A-3 or Schedule A-4.	 7.	 

8.	 Total ounces of snuff tobacco products exported out of Connecticut or sold to the 
federal government: From Schedule C-1 and/or Schedule D-1.	 8.	 

9.	 Total ounces of snuff tobacco products subject to tax: Subtract Line 8 from Line 7.	 9.	 

10.	Tax due on snuff tobacco products: Multiply Line 9 by $3.00.	 10.	 	 .00

11.	 Total number of cigars, in excess of $1.00 per cigar, purchased, imported, received, 
acquired, or manufactured in Connecticut: From Schedule A-5 or Schedule A-6.	 11.	 

12.	Total number of cigars, in excess of $1.00 per cigar, exported out of Connecticut or 
sold to the federal government: From Schedule C-2 and/or Schedule D-2.	 12.	 

13.	Total number of cigars, in excess of $1.00 per cigar, subject to tax. Subtract Line 12 
from Line 11.	 13.	 

14.	Tax due on cigars in excess of $1.00 per cigar. Multiply Line 13 by 50¢ (.50).	 14.	 	 .00

15.	Total Tax Due: Add Lines 6, 10, and 14.	 15.	 	 .00

16.	Penalty: 10% (.10) of total tax due or $50, whichever is greater.	 16.	 	 .00

17.	Interest: 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from due date to date of payment.	 17.	 	 .00

18.	Total Amount Due: Add Lines 15, 16, and 17.	 18.	 	 .00

No	 Yes

Complete Declaration and Signature on the reverse side.



Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment 
for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Sign 
Here

Keep a 
copy of 

this return
for your
records.

Form OP-300 (Rev. 09/19) 
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Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Declaration and Signature

–	 –

Taxpayer’s signature	 Title	 Date (MMDDYYYY)

Print taxpayer’s name	 Telephone number	 Taxpayer’s SSN

Paid preparer’s signature	 Preparer’s address	 Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Taxpayer’s email address


Effective October  1, 2017, distributors and unclassified importers of 
tobacco products must maintain records related to tobacco products 
on the premises where such tobacco products are possessed, stored or 
sold. Such records must be maintained (physically or electronically) for a 
period of three years and must be available at all times.
Effective December 1, 2017, there is a 50% reduction of the tax imposed 
on tobacco products that the United States Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) has determined to be a “modified risk tobacco product” pursuant to 
21 U.S.C. § 387K. If you are in possession of or are selling a product that 
has been approved by the FDA as a “modified risk tobacco product” please  
contact the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) at 860‑541‑3224. 
See Special Notice 2017(9), 2017 Special Session Tax Increases for 
Cigarettes and Snuff.

General Instructions
Complete the return in blue or black ink only.
Taxpayers must file a return for each calendar month by the twenty‑fifth 
day of the following month.

Example: The tobacco products tax return for January 1 through January 31 
must be filed on or before February 25.

Taxpayers must file a return even if no tax is due. All supporting 
schedules can be found on the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS
The owner, a partner, or a principal officer must sign this return.
Pay Electronically: Visit portal.ct.gov/TSC to use the Taxpayer Service 
Center (TSC) to make a direct tax payment. After logging onto the TSC, 
select the Make Payment Only option and choose a tax type from the drop 
down box. Using this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw from 
your bank account (checking or savings) a payment on a date you select 
up to the due date. As a reminder, even if you pay electronically you must 
still file your return by the due date. Tax not paid on or before the due date 
will be subject to penalty and interest.
If you do not pay electronically, make check payable to Commissioner of 
Revenue Services. DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.
Mail to:	 Department of Revenue Services 
	 State of Connecticut 
	 PO Box 5014 
	 Hartford CT 06102-5014

Specific Instructions
Line 1
Resident Distributor: Enter from Schedule A‑1 the wholesale sales price of 
tobacco products (excluding snuff tobacco products, cigarette roll‑your‑own, 
and cigars in excess of $1.00 per cigar) purchased, imported, received, 
acquired, or manufactured in Connecticut by the distributor.
Nonresident Distributor: Enter from Schedule A‑2 the wholesale sales 
price of tobacco products (excluding snuff tobacco products, cigarette 
roll‑your‑own, and cigars in excess of $1.00 per cigar) imported into 
Connecticut by the distributor.
Line 2 - Enter from Schedule E the wholesale sales price of cigarette 
roll‑your‑own products (excluding other tobacco product, snuff tobacco 
product, and cigars in excess of $1.00 per cigar) purchased, imported, 
received, acquired, or manufactured in Connecticut by the distributor.

Line 4 - Enter from Schedule C and Schedule D the wholesale sales price of 
tobacco products (excluding snuff tobacco products and cigars in excess of 
$1.00 per cigar) exported from Connecticut or sold to the federal government 
that were imported, received, purchased, acquired, or manufactured in 
Connecticut by the distributor. Prepare a separate Schedule C for each 
state of destination.
Line 7 - Enter from Schedule A‑3 or Schedule A‑4 the total ounces of snuff 
tobacco products manufactured, purchased, imported, received, or acquired 
in Connecticut by the distributor.
Line 8 - Enter from Schedule C‑1 or Schedule D‑1 the total ounces of 
snuff tobacco products exported out of Connecticut or sold to the federal 
government.
Line 11 - Enter from Schedule A‑5 or Schedule A‑6 the total number 
of cigars, in excess of $1.00 per cigar, purchased, imported, received, 
acquired, or manufactured in Connecticut.
Line 12 - Enter from Schedule C‑2 or Schedule D‑2 the total number of 
cigars, in excess of $1.00 per cigar, exported out of Connecticut or sold to 
the federal government.

Definitions
Tobacco Products means: Any product, regardless of form, that is made 
from or otherwise contains tobacco. Tobacco products do not include 
cigarettes, electronic nicotine delivery systems, or vapor products.
Snuff Tobacco Products means: Tobacco products that have imprinted 
on the packages the designation “snuff” or “snuff flour” or the federal tax 
designation “Tax Class M,” or both.
Cigars in excess of $1.00 per cigar means the tax will not exceed $0.50 
per cigar.
Cigars weighing more than three pounds per thousand meet the definition 
of a tobacco product in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12‑330a(2).
Cigars weighing less than three pounds per thousand meet the definition of 
a cigarette in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12‑285b(1) and are taxed as a cigarette. 
Packs of such cigars are required to have cigarette tax stamps applied.
Wholesale Sales Price means:
•	 In the case of a distributor that is the manufacturer of the tobacco 

products, the price set for these products or, if no price has been set, 
the wholesale value of these products.

•	 In the case of a distributor that is not the manufacturer of the tobacco 
products, the price at which the distributor purchased the products. 

For Further Information
If you need additional information or assistance, please call the Excise 
Taxes Unit at 860-541-3224, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS to 
download and print Connecticut tax forms and publications.
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime 
by calling 860-297-4911.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS
https://portal.ct.gov/TSC
https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

