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Do not send payment with this return.
Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
 State of Connecticut
 PO Box 2930
 Hartford CT 06104-2930

I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying 
schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, 
and correct.  I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to 
DRS is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than fi ve years, or both.

Signature  ______________________________________________________

Title ____________________________________  Date  _________________  

1. Connecticut tax withheld from wages   1.

2. Total Connecticut wages reported   2.

3. Number of W-2s submitted  3.

00

00

Separate here and mail return to DRS. Make a copy for your records. 

Name

Address

City State ZIP code

Enter name and address below. Please print or type.

General Instructions
Complete this return in blue or black ink only.
Form CT-W3 HHE is used by household employers only. Do not 
make a payment with this return.
A household employer not registered with the Department of 
Revenue Services (DRS) for Connecticut income tax withholding 
purposes should enter the words “HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER” in 
the space reserved for the Connecticut Tax Registration Number 
on this return.
When to File
If fi ling electronically, you will fi le a Form CT-W3, which is due 
the last day of March 2014 and will be completed as part of the 
electronic filing process when you upload Copy 1 of federal 
Forms W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. If fi ling electronically do not 
mail Form CT-W3 HHE. If fi ling by paper, Form CT-W3 HHE is due 
the last day of February 2014.
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next 
business day is the due date. 
Employers must file every Copy 1 of federal Form W-2 with
Form CT-W3 HHE even if Connecticut income tax was not withheld.
Where to File
Use the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) 
to electronically file this return. You must 
have a Connecticut household employer Tax 
Registration Number to fi le through the TSC. 
See TSC on back. If filing by paper, mail 
completed return including Forms W-2 to the address on the return.
Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your returns 
and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include
1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts 
that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two 
or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include 
cents and round off only the total. 
Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the total 
($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and entered 
on the line.

Line Instructions
Line 1
Enter total Connecticut income tax withheld from wages during  
calendar year 2013. This should equal the Total line on the back 
of this return.
Line 2
Enter total Connecticut wages reported during calendar year 
2013. Connecticut wages are all wages paid to employees who 
are residents of Connecticut, even if those wages are paid for work 
performed outside Connecticut by those resident employees, and 
wages paid to employees who are nonresidents of Connecticut if 
those wages are paid for work performed in Connecticut by those 
nonresident employees.
Line 3
Enter the number of W-2 forms submitted with this return.
Reminders
Complete all requested information on the front and back of this 

return.
Do not send a payment with this return. Payments are 

made using Form CT-941 HHE, Connecticut Reconciliation 
of Withholding for Household Employers or Form CT-941X, 
Amended Connecticut Reconciliation of Withholding.

Sign and date the return in the space provided.

 Check if you are a household employer and you 
withhold Connecticut income tax from the wages 
of household employees.

 Check if you are a household employer and you 
do not withhold Connecticut income tax from the 
wages of household employees. 
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Separate here and mail return to DRS. Make a copy for your records. 

Taxpayer Service Center
The TSC allows taxpayers to electronically fi le, pay, and manage 

state tax responsibilities. To make electronic 
transactions or administer your tax account 
online visit www.ct.gov/TSC and select 
Business.

Electronic Reporting Information
Connecticut taxpayers can either key in or upload their
Form CT-W3 and Forms W-2 electronically through the TSC. The 
TSC does not have a separate form designation for household 
employers.

Electronic reporting requirements are available on the DRS 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS/ew2 or by calling DRS at 
1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford 
calling area only) or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). TTY, TDD, 
and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries by calling 
860-297-4911.

Amending Form CT-W3 HHE
Do not use Form CT-941X to amend Form CT-W3 HHE. 

To amend Form CT-W3 HHE, submit a revised Form CT-W3 
HHE clearly labeled “AMENDED.” The total Connecticut tax 
withheld on Form CT-941 HHE or Form CT-941X, Line 3, must 
agree with the total reported on Form CT-W3 HHE, Line 1.

The total gross Connecticut wages on Form CT-941 HHE or 
Form CT-941X, Line 2, must agree with the total Connecticut 
wages reported on Form CT-W3 HHE, Line 2. 

Include Copy 1 of all wage and tax statements reporting Connecticut 
wages paid during the calendar year with this return.
Electronic Reporting Information
Connecticut taxpayers can either key in or upload their
Form CT-W3 and Forms W-2 electronically through the TSC. The 
TSC does not have a separate form designation for household 
employers.

Electronic reporting requirements are available on the DRS website 
at www.ct.gov/DRS/ew2 or by calling DRS at 1-800-382-9463 
(Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) or  
860-297-5962 (from anywhere). TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone 
users only may transmit inquiries by calling 860-297-4911.

  This should equal Line 1 on the front of this return.



 Period Connecticut Income 
  Tax Withheld From Wages

Complete for Each Period

January 1 -
March 31 1st Quarter

April 1 -
June 30 2nd Quarter

July 1 - 
September 30 3rd Quarter

October 1 -
December 31 4th Quarter

            Total 00


