
_______  / _______  / ___________

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-316 imposes a cigarette tax on the storage or 
use within Connecticut of any unstamped cigarettes in the possession 
of any person other than a licensed cigarette distributor, licensed 
cigarette dealer, or a carrier for transit from outside Connecticut to a 
licensed cigarette distributor or licensed cigarette dealer in Connecticut. 
Unstamped cigarettes are cigarettes in packages that do not bear 
stamps evidencing payment of the Connecticut cigarette tax. Under 
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-320, the cigarette tax does not apply and you 
need not file this return if you bring no more than 200 cigarettes into 
Connecticut on your person or in accompanying baggage.

	 1.	 Carton - 10 packages of 20 cigarettes	 $43.50 	per carton	 1.	 $

	 2.	 Package - 20 cigarettes per package	 $4.35 	per package	 2.	 $

	 3.	 Carton - 10 packages of 25 cigarettes	 $54.375 	per carton	 3.	 $

	 4.	 Package - 25 cigarettes per package	 $5.4375 	per package	 4.	 $

	 5.	 Carton - 8 packages of 25 cigarettes 	 $43.50 	per carton	 5.	 $

	 6.	 Cigarette tax due: Add Lines 1 through 5 of Column 4.		  6.	 $

	 7.	 Interest: Multiply Line 6 by 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from the date the 
tax was due to the date of payment.		  7.	 $

	 8.	 Penalty: Multiply Line 6 by 10% (.10) or enter $50, whichever is greater.		  8.	 $

	 9.	 Purchase price: Include shipping and handling charges.		   9.	 $

	10.	 Subtotal: Add Line 6 and Line 9 of Column 4.		  10.	 $

	11.	 Calculated use tax: Multiply Line 10 by 6.35% (.0635 ).		  11.	 $

	12.	 Sales or use tax paid to other jurisdictions (if any)		  12.	 $

	13.	 Use tax due: Subtract Line 12 from Line 11. If less than zero, enter 0.		  13.	 $

	14.	 Total amount due: Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 13 of Column 4.		  14.	 $

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this declaration (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a 
fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all 
information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

If you did not file this return within 24 hours after coming into possession of unstamped cigarettes, you must add interest and penalty as indicated 
on Line 7 and Line 8. Make check or money order payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.
If you need additional information or assistance, call the Department of Revenue Services, Audit Division, Excise Taxes Subdivision at 
860-541-3224, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax forms.

Form AU-75
Tax Return for Persons in 

Possession  
of Unstamped Cigarettes

Taxpayer’s name (Print) 	 Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Date and time you came into possession of unstamped cigarettes	 Social Security Number SSN

Telephone number	

Mailing address	 Number and street	 City, town, or post office	 State	 ZIP code	

Physical location	 Number and street	 City, town, or post office	 State	 ZIP code	







Due Within 24 Hours of Purchase
DRS use only

Department of Revenue Services
Excise Taxes Unit
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford CT 06103-1837
(Rev. 11/17) 

Tax Computation



 

















Date of purchase 

In addition to the cigarette tax, unstamped cigarettes are also subject to 
Connecticut sales and use tax. You must attach an original or a photocopy 
of the invoice or numbered slip issued at the time of purchase. Enter 
on Line 9 the amount you paid for the unstamped cigarettes, including 
shipping and handling charges. If you paid sales or use tax to another 
jurisdiction on your purchase of unstamped cigarettes, you may enter 
on Line 12 the amount of sales or use tax paid to the other jurisdiction 
as long as the invoice or slip shows the amount of tax paid to the other 
jurisdiction. You must file this return within 24 hours after coming 
into possession of unstamped cigarettes. Mail this form to the return 
address in the upper left corner of this page.

	Taxpayer’s signature			   Title	 Date

	Paid Preparer’s signature	 Print Preparer’s name 		  Preparer’s SSN or PTIN	 Date

	Preparer’s address				    Preparer’s Telephone #
(      )

	  Column 1	 Column 2	 Column 3	 Column 4
				    Cigarette Tax
	 Type of Unit	 Number of Units	 Rate	 Column 2 x Column 3


