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I. PROGRAM OVERVIEW

The Department of the Treasury has made over $25 billion available to assist households in the United 

States that are unable to pay rent and utilities due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Acting through the Department of Housing (DOH), the State of Connecticut has implemented the UniteCT 

Program to respond to the housing issues associated with the onset of COVID-19.   

II. FUNDING AVAILABILITY

➢ $235,873,751.10 [Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021]

➢ All funds must be obligated by September 30, 2021

➢ All funds must be expended by December 30, 2021

III. ELIGIBLE ASSISTANCE

Types of assistance: 

➢ Utility Assistance – Arrears*

➢ Rental Assistance – Arrears**

➢ Rental Assistance – Prospective

*Utilities covered by landlord will be considered as part of rental assistance.

** Late fees or additional charges for non-payment are not eligible for rental assistance.

Limitations of assistance: 
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➢ Assistance is dependent on the continued availability of funds in the program;

➢ Total Rental Assistance (Arrears and Prospective) may be provided for a maximum of twelve (12)

months. An additional three (3) months may be available to certain households experiencing

extenuating circumstances;

➢ Total amount of assistance may not exceed fifteen (15) total months;

➢ Total Rental Assistance (Arrears and Prospective) is capped at $10,000;

➢ Up to six (6) months may be requested for outstanding rental and/or utility arrears. The six-month

window begins retrospectively from the date of application;

➢ Rental arrears must be addressed by the program in some manner prior to receiving funds for

prospective rents;

➢ Prospective rental assistance will be issued as a single lump sum payment to eligible landlords

covering a three (3)-month period;

➢ Applicants are required to submit an application every three (3) months (recertification) to

continue receiving prospective rental assistance;

➢ Applicants will be required to contribute a portion of their rents;

➢ Total Utility Assistance is capped at $1,500.

➢ Eligible utilities may only include electric.

See Conditions of Assistance section for more details. 

IV. ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS

Persons eligible to apply: 

➢ Eligible households;

➢ Landlords on behalf of eligible households.

See Eligibility Criteria section to determine what “eligible household” means. 

V. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

To qualify for the UniteCT Program the applicant must meet all of the following criteria: 

➢ Be a permanent or primary resident of the State of Connecticut.

➢ Demonstrate need for assistance prior to or at the time of application as reflected by the

eligibility criteria set forth below.

➢ Meet the definition of “eligible household”.

➢ Complete the online application in full and upload all necessary supporting documentation.

An “eligible household” is defined as a renter household in which one or more individuals meets all of the 

following criteria: 
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➢ Qualifies for unemployment or has experienced a reduction in household income, incurred

significant costs, or experienced a financial hardship due to COVID-19; and

➢ Demonstrates a risk of experiencing homelessness or housing instability; and

➢ Certifies household income at or below 80% of the HUD area median income (AMI).

Income Eligibility Source Documentation 

Applicants may provide either annual or monthly income source documentation to document income. 

➢ The tenant may submit their 2020 annual household income documentation; or

➢ Most recent two months of household income source documentation. This documentation will

be used to annualize household income amounts. If a household is qualified on the basis of

monthly income, the household will be required to re-submit income documentation to re-

certify household income every three months for the duration of assistance.

Income Definition 

➢ The Department has elected to utilize the IRS Form 1040 Adjusted Gross Income method as its

definition of income.

See Acceptable Forms of Documentation section for more information. 

Applications will be deemed ineligible if: 

➢ Applicant is currently receiving other federal or state housing assistance.

➢ Applicant or co-applicant cannot provide third-party verification of occupancy of the unit (such

as a lease, utility bill, or other third-party documentation).

➢ Applicant is subleasing the unit.

➢ Applicant does not provide supporting documentation necessary to determine compliance with

the eligibility requirements and support of amount of assistance required.

VI. CONDITIONS OF ASSISTANCE

➢ Prospective Rental Assistance Tenant Contribution Requirements: Applicants whose income

ranges between 31% and 80% AMI are required provide a contribution towards a portion of their

rental payment in order to receive assistance from the Program.

➢ Payments are required to be made by the household to their landlord on a monthly basis in

accordance with the terms of their lease. The Department will provide assistance to cover the

remainder of the monthly rent in excess of the Tenant’s contribution. The following thresholds

outline the amount of the required contribution for each income level:

• Income is 51% - 80% of AMI. Required contribution: Monthly amount of 30% of adjusted

gross income. 
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• Income is 41% - 50% of AMI. Required contribution: Monthly amount of 20% of adjusted

gross income. 

• Income is 31% - 40% of AMI. Required contribution: Monthly amount of 10% of adjusted

gross income. 

• Income is 0% - 30% of AMI. No contribution required. The Department will provide

prospective rental assistance payments equaling 100% of monthly need.

➢ Arrears Assistance - Tenant Contribution Requirements: The Department will provide 85% of up

to six (6) months of the rent arrears balance from the date of application. The Landlord is required

forgive the remaining 15% arrears balance as provision of assistance under this program.

Any outstanding rents in arrears beyond the 6-month limit will continue to be the responsibility

of the Tenant, however the Landlord:

• May not pursue eviction, at any time, for nonpayment of such arrears; and

• May not initiate collection proceedings or pursue collections of such arrears with the

Tenant during the period of assistance from the UniteCT program.

Example – Prospective Rents 

The Smith family of four residing in Hartford, CT has a calculated annual household income of $60,000 

($5,000 monthly) and a monthly lease amount of $2,000. The 80% of Area Median Income (AMI) limit for 

a family of four in Hartford is $78,500.  

The Smith family income falls in the 51%-80% AMI range and therefore are required to contribute 30% of 

gross monthly income to their prospective rent payments. As shown below, the Smith family will be 

required to contribute $1,500 during each month of rental assistance provided by the UniteCT program. 

Gross Monthly 
Income 

30% 
Requirement 

Required Tenant 
Contribution 

$5,000    x 30%       = $1,500 

Monthly Rent 
Payment 

Tenant 
Contribution 

Remainder of 
Monthly Rent 

$2,000     - $1,500     = $500 

Monthly UniteCT Rental Assistance Payment 

$500 

Example – Rents in Arrears 

The Anderson family has been unable to pay rent since April 2020. Mr. Anderson applies for UniteCT on 

April 1, 2021 at which time his household has accrued 12-months of past-due rent (April 2020 – March 

2021).  
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The Anderson family may receive up to 85% of rents for the 6-months immediately prior to the month of 

application (October 2020 – March 2021), totaling $7,650 for the 6-months. The remaining 15% must be 

forgiven by the landlord, totaling $1,350 that would be written off for the 6-month time period.  

 

The remaining initial 6-month period (April 2020 – September 2020) is the sole responsibility of the 

Andersons, however the Landlord may not pursue eviction at any time of such arrears, and may not 

initiate or pursue collection proceedings of such arrears with the household during the period that the 

Anderson family benefits from UniteCT assistance.  

 

 # of 
Months 

Monthly 
Rent 

Total 
Rents 

Total Rents in Arrears 12 $1,500 $18,000 

UniteCT Rental Assistance (85%) 6 $1,275 $7,650 

Rent forgiven by Landlord (15%) 6 $225 $1,350 
Remaining rents due by Tenant 6 $1,500 $9,000 

 

 

➢ Utility Arrears Assistance - Tenant Contribution Requirements: 

• No contribution required. The Department will fund 100% of utility arrears up to $1,500 

for a maximum of six (6) months from the date of application.  

 

VII. LANDLORD & UTILITY PROVIDER PARTICIPATION 

 

Assistance payments will be made directly to the landlord or utility company provided that their 

participation and all necessary information has been obtained to make proper payment. 

 

Landlord and Utility Outreach  

 

Outreach will be considered complete if: 

➢ The Department has sent a request for participation in writing, by mail, to the landlord or 

utility provider, and the addressee does not respond to the request within 14 calendar days 

after mailing; or 

➢ the grantee has made at least three attempts by phone, text, or e-mail over a 10 calendar-

day period to request the landlord or utility provider’s participation; or  

➢ a landlord confirms in writing that the landlord does not wish to participate. The final 

outreach attempt or notice to the landlord must be documented. 

 

Once it is determined that the landlord will not participate in the program, the Department will no longer 

attempt to provide assistance for the requested address. The Department encourages tenants in this 

situation to access relocation support assistance, identify a new housing unit, and re-apply to this program 

for the new unit with a new landlord. 
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The Department will proactively provide assistance payments directly to the utility company on behalf of 

the tenant for any approved arrears assistance for the tenant.  

 

VIII. PRIORITY FACTORS 

 

Eligible applicants will be prioritized for assistance if the household meets either of the following criteria: 

➢ Eligible household has an income less than 50% of area median income; or 

➢ One or more members of the household has: 

• Been unemployed as of the date of the application; and 

• Been unemployed beginning on or after March 13, 2020; and  

• Not been employed within 90 days prior to the submittal of this application. 

 

IX. ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF DOCUMENTATION 

Application Documentation Requirements 

The following matrix details the types of documentation that will be accepted under each eligibility 

factor. Each eligibility factor will require one (1) item of supporting documentation. The applicant 

must select one (1) of the acceptable documentation items under each eligibility factor listed, in order 

to satisfy the requirement. The applicant is not required to provide each item of documentation listed 

below. Some items of documentation may satisfy more than one eligibility factor, in such cases, 

reference the Notes column below which will indicate that a secondary upload is not necessary. 

 

 

Eligibility Factor Acceptable Documentation  Notes 

Tenant 

Identification* 
• Driver’s License 

• State ID 

• Military ID 

• Native American Tribal ID 

• Passport 

• Permanent Resident Card 

• Other photo ID 

* Expired photo identification 

will be accepted if no other 

photo I.D. available. 

Tenant 

Application Entry 

in UniteCT 

RentRelief Portal 

The Tenant will enter the following information 
in the application Portal*: 

• Address of the rental unit requesting 
assistance 

• Information for household occupants 

• Rental unit information such as number 
of bedrooms, lease terms, monthly rent 
obligation, & amount of rental arrears 

• Landlord information including name, 
address, email, phone number 

* This is not a comprehensive 

list of the application entry. 
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Landlord 

Identification 

 

 

 

 

If the landlord is a company*: 

• Business License 

I.D. of representative (see individual 

landlord below for list of allowable 

support) 

If the landlord is an individual: 

• Driver’s License 

• State ID 

• Military ID 

• Native American Tribal ID 

• Passport 

* Property Managers may act 

in place of landlord. 

Documentation should be 

provided that demonstrates 

the relationship between 

landlord and Property 

Manager. 

Landlord 

Application Entry 

in UniteCT 

RentRelief Portal 

The Landlord will enter the following 
information in the application Portal*: 

• Name 

• Representative Name (if applicable) 

• Tax Identification Number 

• Address of rental unit requesting 
assistance 

• Lease or rental agreement for applicant 
& rental unit 

• Applicant name and rental unit 

• Amount of rental arrears owed by the 
applicant 

* This is not a comprehensive 

list of the application entry. 

Landlord 

Business 

Verification 

• W-9 

• Federal Tax Return (1040, 1065, etc.) 

 

Landlord 

Property 

Ownership 

• Mortgage documents/Mortgage 
Statement* 

• Property Tax Statement 

• Home Insurance documentation 

• Property Deed 

* Mortgage documents should 

explicitly relate to the property 

requesting assistance. 

Annual 

Household 

Income 

 

Income must be 

verified for each 

household 

member over the 

age of 18. 

Employment/Income Support* 

• Annual Income Support: 
o 2020 1040 Federal Income Tax 

Return 
o 2020 CT Income Tax Return 
o Wage Statements 
o Interest Statements 
o Unemployment Compensation 

Statements** 
o Bank Statements 

*Please provide one of the 

following.  

*Documentation in connection 

with another local, state, or 

federal government assistance 

program may be used to verify 

the applicant’s income. 
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o Business Profit & Loss
Statement

** Unemployment benefits 

must include a letter of 

program inclusion and 

evidence of payment with 

amount and frequency. 

Other Income* 

• 2020 Federal Income Tax Return

• 2020 CT Income Tax Return

• Welfare Benefits statement & payment
amount

• Taxable amount of Social Security
Benefits & payment amount

• Disability Benefits statement &
payment amount

Monthly 

Household 

Income 

Income must be 

verified for each 

household 

member over the 

age of 18. 

Employment/Income Support* 

• Most recent two-months of Income
Support:

o Wage Statement
o Interest Statement
o Unemployment Compensation

Statement**
o Bank Statements
o Business Profit & Loss

Statement

*Please provide one of the

following.

*Documentation in connection

with another local, state, or

federal government assistance

program may be used to verify

the applicant’s income.

** Unemployment benefits 

must include a letter of 

program inclusion and 

evidence of payment with 

amount and frequency. 

Other Income 

• Welfare Benefits statement & payment
amount

• Taxable amount of Social Security
Benefits & payment amount

• Disability Benefits statement &
payment amount

Verification of 

no employment 

• Self-Certification of Zero-Income

• Student Transcript*

* Income earned by HH

Members over 18 who are full-

time students will be excluded

from income calculation in

excess of $480.

COVID-19 

Financial 

Hardship 

• Employer Verification of employment
termination*

• Unemployment Income letter and/or
payment schedule **

* Termination or layoff must

have occurred due to the

impacts of COVID-19 and

cannot have occurred prior to

March 13, 2020.
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• Written Attestation signed by the 
applicant. 

• Other documentation*** 

 

** Unemployment benefits 

must be dated after March 13, 

2020 and state the amount 

and frequency of the 

payments. 

 

*** Documentation of 

increased expenses or other 

financial hardship as a result of 

COVID-19 related issues. 

Risk of 

Homelessness/H

ousing Instability 

• Past due rent notice 

• Past due utility notice 

• Notice to Quit 

• Notice of Eviction 

• Notice of utility shut-off 

• Demonstration that rent payment is 
more than 30% of income: lease or rent 
payment schedule 

  

Current 

Connecticut 

Residency 

• Utility/Rent or other bill dated within 
the last 3 months, evidencing resident 
address. 

• Bank Statement dated within the last 3 
months, evidencing resident address. 

• Income documents showing tenant 
residency. 

• Current lease evidencing resident 
address. 

 

Primary 

Residence 

 

 

• Photo ID address matches rental/utility 
assistance address. 

• Tax Return does not indicate mortgage 
interest/property tax deduction. 

• Bank Statement dated within the last 2 
months matches rental/utility 
assistance address. 

• Income documents showing tenant 
residency. 

• Current lease evidencing resident 
address. 

 

Arrears 

• Rent Statement for all months in 
arrears, and 
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Rental 

Assistance - 

Applicant 

• Evidence of non-payment
o Past due rent notice
o Payment ledger
o Certification from Landlord

(signed)

* Overdue rental costs prior to

March 13, 2020 are not eligible

for reimbursement.

Prospective 

• Lease or written agreement to include:
o Term of rental agreement
o Monthly rent amount
o Number of adult occupants
o Agreement signed by landlord

and tenant

• Bank Statements, check stubs, email
payment confirmations, or other
documentation that show the regular
payment of rent to verify tenant’s
obligation (2 months consecutive).

Rental 

Assistance - 

Landlord 

Arrears 

• Rent Statement for all months in
arrears, and

• Evidence of non-payment
o Past due rent notice
o Payment ledger

Prospective 

• Lease or written agreement to include:
o Term of rental agreement
o Monthly rent amount
o Number of adult occupants
o Agreement signed by landlord

and tenant

Utility Assistance Arrears 

• Utility Statement for all months in
arrears*, and

• Evidence of non-payment
o Past due utility notice.
o Letter from utility company.

* UniteCT will reimburse utility

costs associated with the

applicant’s monthly electricity

usage. Utility statements

should clearly outline the cost

of electricity usage.




