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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

 

Office of the Commissioner 
 
 

Bryan Hurlburt 
Commissioner 

860-713-2502 
agr.hemp@ct.gov 

 
Hemp Grower Application Checklist 

(rev. 5.14.19) 
 
 

Applications, supporting documents and payments will only be accepted 
through the DOAG E-License portal. Paper applications will not be 
accepted.   
 

1. Applicant: 
a. Application fee: $50 
b. The applicant can be an individual or a business 
c. If the applicant is a business entity, the person signing the application (the 

“Signing Authority”) must have the authority to bind the business to the terms and 
conditions of a Grower license agreement and to sign legal documents on behalf 
of the business entity.  When you sign the agreement, use your name and 
appropriate title within the organization. This establishes that you're signing on 
behalf of the business entity, not as an individual. 

d. Name, mailing and physical address, email address and date of birth 
e. Federal and State criminal history records check applicant at the grower 

applicant’s expense.  
i. No state or federal felony conviction for a controlled substance during the 

previous 10 years 
ii. Records check forms are obtained from Connecticut Dept. of Agriculture’s 

website. www.CTGrown.gov/Hemp   
 

2. Signing Authority: 
a. The name of the person associated with the business or firm applying for the 

license.  For example:  
If the applicant is Fancy Leaf Hemp Farm LLC then the person who is the 
signing authority and who will sign the application on behalf of the 
applicant. 

b. Federal and State criminal history records check at the grower applicant’s 
expense.  

i. No state or federal felony conviction for a controlled substance during the 
previous 10 years.  Records check forms are obtained from Connecticut 
Dept. of Agriculture’s website. www.CTGrown.gov/Hemp   

 
3. On-site manager: 

a. Must be designated on the application 

 

http://www.ctgrown.gov/Hemp
http://www.ctgrown.gov/Hemp
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b. May be the same as the individual applicant 
c. Name, mailing and physical address, email address and date of birth 
d. Federal and State criminal history records check at the grower applicant’s 

expense.  
i. No state or federal felony conviction for a controlled substance during the 

previous 10 years.  Records check forms are obtained from Connecticut Dept. of 
Agriculture’s website. www.CTGrown.gov/Hemp   
 

4. Hemp seed/propagule source, must be Certified Hemp Seed or Propagule from Certified 
Seed 

a. Name/Address 
b. Variety(ies)  
c. Certification Information (need pdf of certification information for upload as part 

of application) 
 

5. Growing Area 
A. Outdoor growing area location, size of each plot and map(s). Note: must be at least 
200’ from any residence not owned, occupied or controlled by the applicant and 500’ 
from a school or outdoor recreational facility, unless prior approval is received in writing 
from the department. 

a. Complete physical address of each plot 
b. GPS coordinates at the center of each plot 
c. GPS coordinates latitude and longitude in decimal degree format to the ten-

thousandth place for each plot 
d. Plots may be as small as ¼ acre, and may be added together to reach the minimum 

size.  
e. Plots must be physically separated, cleared and easily distinguished from 

adjoining plots. 
f. Maps may be made using tools such as Google Maps and other online mapping 

services, copies of survey maps, or other provided: 
i. The map(s) clearly show the perimeter of each plot 

ii. The map(s) must show proximity to residences not owned or controlled by 
the applicant 

g. Legal description of the plot, taken from the deed or lease for the land. 
h. Written authorization from a property owner (if different from the applicant) to 

grow or store hemp on that property 
i. Must complete the Field Planting Report for each licensed growing address within 

15 days of first planting. 
 

B. Indoor growing area, area in square feet, map(s). Note: must be at least 200’ from any 
residence not owned, occupied or controlled by the applicant and 500’ from a school or 
outdoor recreational facility, unless prior approval is received in writing from the 
department. 

a. A growing area is considered indoors if it is a fully controlled environment. A 
greenhouse would be considered an indoor growing area, but a hoop house with 
open sides would not. 

b. Complete physical address of each plot 

http://www.ctgrown.gov/Hemp
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c. GPS coordinates latitude and longitude in decimal degree format at entrance to 
each indoor growing area 

d. Area in square feet of each indoor growing area 
e. Maps may be made using tools such as Google Maps and other online mapping 

services, copies of survey maps, or other provided: 
i. The map(s) clearly show each indoor growing area and the surrounding 

perimeter of each plot 
ii. The map(s) must show proximity to residences not owned or controlled by 

the applicant 
f. Legal description of the plot, taken from the deed or lease for the land. 
g. Written authorization from a property owner (if different from the applicant) to 

grow or store hemp on that property 
h. Must complete the Greenhouse/Indoor Planting Report for each Licensed 

Growing address within 15 days of planting.  
 

6. Hemp Research plan 
a. Variety yield studies 
b. Variety oil production studies 
c. Fiber production studies 
d. Food ingredient studies (note: currently animal foods cannot contain hemp as an 

ingredient) 
e. Building material studies 
f. Other 

 
7. Hemp marketing plan (how you intend on marketing hemp you harvest or process) Note: 

for the purposes of this program, processing means “to treat or transform harvested hemp 
from its natural state for distribution in commerce.” 

a. What hemp or hemp products do you intend on marketing and for what purpose? 
i. Hemp oil, hemp seed, hemp fiber, other 

ii. as a food, or a food or drink ingredient? 
iii. as an ingredient in a beauty or skin product 
iv. other 

b. Describe your intended customer? 
c. How do you intend to market the hemp or hemp product that you produce 

i. wholesale for further processing 
ii. in retail packaging? 

iii. other 
d. Who will process the Hemp?  

i. Name/address 
ii. What will they do (extract resins or oils, heat, grind, other) 

 
 

8.  Licensing: 
a. Application complete 
b. Signed and fully executed Grower License Agreement 
c. Fee of $50 per acre for grower license, paid online 
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*Note:  Conditional License 
During 2019, because the federal and state criminal history records check will not be 
completed by the time the grower license application is completed online, the 
commissioner has the discretion to issue conditional grower licenses, without the 
completion of this records check.  Once the state and federal criminal history records 
check has been completed, the Commissioner shall revoke or terminate any conditional 
grower license, if the applicant’s or conditional licensee’s, (including signing authority 
and on-site manager) results do not meet the requirements of the federal act, the Public 
Act and the Compliance Policy.  

9. Inspections- The Department will contact the applicant to schedule an inspection to: 
• Verify seed/ propagule to be planted or planted 
• Verify GPS coordinates of each plot  

 
10. Pre-harvest testing for THC content. Note: our pre-harvest sampling requirements include: 

• Hemp grower shall collect a pre-harvest sample no more than fifteen (15) days before the 
intended harvest date, in accordance with the department published pre-harvest hemp 
sampling protocol.  

• The hemp grower shall submit the pre-harvest sample to the laboratory within twenty-
four (24) hours of sample collection in accordance with the department published 
protocol for pre-harvest sampling and laboratory submission.  

• A hemp sample fails THC testing if the test report indicates that the sample contains an 
average THC concentration greater than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. 

• The licensed grower shall not harvest hemp until the department receives the pre-harvest 
sample test results from the laboratory, and authorizes the harvest in writing to the 
grower. 

• Upon receipt of the department’s authorization to harvest, the licensed grower shall 
harvest the crop not more than fifteen (15) days following the date of sample collection 
by the grower, unless an extension of the fifteen (15) day period is authorized in writing 
by the department. 

• Any laboratory conducting testing to determine levels of THC in hemp or hemp products 
grown in this state shall meet the requirements under the Public Act and the Compliance 
Policy and use a scientifically validated method for the measurement of THC in cannabis 
sativa, including but not limited to post-decarboxylation or other similarly reliable 
methods. 

 
The department reserves the right to sample any hemp or hemp product at any time and have it 
analyzed for THC content at a laboratory of its choosing. 
 
11. Harvest/Destruction Report 

• A completed Harvest/ Destruction report form from the licensee shall be provided 
to the Department within 15 days prior to the expected harvest date and include 
the date and time of sample collection.   

12. Post-Harvest Repot 

• Post-Harvest Report form is due for every plot (both indoor and outdoor) within 
15 days of post-harvest. 


