Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut

450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford CT 06103-1837

(Rev. 07/20)

Complete in blue or black ink only. Read the instructions before completing this application.

Form REG-8

Application for Farmer Tax Exemption Permit >

For DRS Use Only
Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Approved Denied TPS #

Name of applicant (sole proprietor, partnership, corporation, or LLC)

Social Security Number (SSN)

Spouse’s first name and middle initial Last name (if joint application) Spouse’s SSN .(ifjoint)

Address Number and street PO Box Fe:sraTEmp_onaTD EnberT:ElT) —
City, town, or post office State ZIP code Telephone number

Farm name Check one: [[J New applicant [J Renewal

() Purchased existing farm

Farm location Street address

Town (J Changed business structure
() Start-up farmer (See instructions.)

Check one:
(3 Sole proprietorship

(J General partnership
(J Limited liability partnership (LLP)

aauaad

(J Limited partnership (LP)
(J Limited partnership taxed as a corporation

Single member LLC (SMLLC)
Single member LLC taxed as a corporation

Single member LLC taxed as an S corporation
Limited liability company (LLC) taxed as a partnership

3 Corporation
7 S Corporation
J Qualified subchapter S subsidiary (QSSS)

Limited liability company (LLC) taxed as a corporation
Limited liability company (LLC) taxed as an S corporation
(J Other (explain):

1. Were you engaged in agricultural production as a trade or
business during the preceding taxable year? See instructions.

3 Yes (J No

2. Farmland ownership: Check one.

J own [J Lease [JJ Own part and lease part

3. Total acreage of farm:

Total acres you used in agricultural production during the
preceding taxable year:

5. What farm products including livestock will you produce during
the next two years? See instructions.

4. What farm products including livestock did you produce during

the preceding taxable year? See instructions.

6. Have you been issued a Sales and Use Tax Permit by the

Department of Revenue Services (DRS)? [J Yes [J No

8. If you answered Yes to 6 or 7, enter your Connecticut Tax

Registration Number.

7. Do you have employees? [J Yes (J No Do not enter Farmer Tax Exemption Permit Number or FEIN.
9. State the gross income you derived solely from agricultural production
as reported on your federal income tax return. See instructions. n20  9a. |$ .00
In20 9. |$ .00
Total: Add Lines 9a and 9b. 9. |$ .00
Average: Divide Line 9¢c by 2. od. |$ .00

10. Ifthe amount entered on Line 9b or Line 9d is less than $2,500, but you qualify because you purchased an existing agricultural business
in the current or immediately preceding taxable year, enter the following information. See instructions.

Seller's name

Seller’'s Farmer Tax Exemption Permit Number

Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this application (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge
and belief, itis true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment
for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of owner, partner, LLC member, or corporate officer
Sign Here
Keep a
copy of this

Date

application for| Email address
your records.




Section 2
Detail of Farm Income Reported on Federal Schedule C (Form 1040 or 1040-SR)

If you report farm income on federal Schedule C (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), Profit or Loss From Business (Sole Proprietorship), you must
provide detailed information about your sales and expenses and complete the sections below.

A. How much of the income reported on Schedule C, Part 1, Line 1, is from agricultural production? | $ .00

B. List the agricultural products you raised, the agricultural services you provided, and the gross income from each. The total should
equal the amount reported on Line A above. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Product or Service Gross Income

1. .00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

@ | h | H A (A | H H P

2
3
4
5.
6
7
8

Total: Add Lines 1 through 8. $ .00

C. If any products listed in B were purchased for resale, for example, seedlings or calves, list the products below and indicate the
length of time you raised each of them prior to its sale. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Product Purchased for Resale Length of Time Raised

® N | g ~w N

Attachments (This does not apply to start-up farmers.)
You must attach signed copies of the following pages from your most recently filed federal tax return to your application:
[0 Federal Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, or federal Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for Seniors, Page 1 and Page 2;

federal Form 1041, U.S. Income Tax Returns for Estates and Trusts; Form 1065, U.S. Return of Partnership Income; Form 1120, U.S.
Corporation Income Tax Return; or Form 1120S, U.S. Income Tax Return for an S Corporation, Page 1; and

[0 Federal Schedule F (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), Profit or Loss From Farming, or Schedule C (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). Applicants who
are not required to file federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR must also submit the same information as would be reported on Schedule C
or Schedule F even though they are not required to file those schedules for federal tax purposes.
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Important Information for Start-Up Farmers

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(63)(E) allows a start-up
farmer to receive an exemption permit if:

* You intend to carry on agricultural production for
at least two years;

* Your gross income from farming will be at least
$2,500 in the second year or an average of $2,500
per year for both years; and

* Your gross expenses from farming will be at least
$2,500 in the second year or an average of $2,500
per year for both years.

If you are a start-up farmer applying as a veteran,
attach a copy of your DD 214, Report of Separation.

You must pay use tax on all purchases made using an
exemption permit if you do not meet these conditions.

See Informational Publication 2018(19), Farmer’s
Guide to Sales and Use Taxes, Motor Vehicle Fuels
Tax, Estimated Income Tax, and Withholding Tax.

General Instructions

If you engage in agricultural production as a trade or
business, use Form REG-8, Application for Farmer Tax
Exemption Permit, to request a Farmer Tax Exemption
Permit. The Farmer Tax Exemption Permit allows a farmer
to purchase tangible personal property and motor vehicle
fuels used exclusively in the agricultural production process
without paying Connecticut sales and use taxes and motor
vehicle fuels excise tax.

If you are applying as a start-up farmer, read the Important
Information for Start-Up Farmers above.

A Farmer Tax Exemption Permit is valid for up to two years
depending on the application date. An exemption permit
issued October 1, 2020, or later, is valid until September 30,
2022.

The Department of Revenue Services (DRS) will issue a
Farmer Tax Exemption Permit if you meet all three of the
following conditions:

1. You are engaged in agricultural production as a trade or
business. To be engaged in agricultural production as a
trade or business, you must materially participate in the
activity with a profit motive;

2. For federal income tax purposes, you reported gross
income of $2,500 or more from agricultural production:

* For the preceding taxable year; or
» On average for the preceding two taxable years.

This gross income is generally reported on federal
Schedule C (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), or Schedule F
(Form 1040 or 1040-SR). An applicant must submit the
same information as would be reported on Schedule F
even though it is not required to file a Schedule F for
federal income tax purposes. See instructions for Line 9
on Page 4; and

REG-8 (Rev. 07/20)

3. You must attach copies of the required pages of your
federal income tax return and schedules. See the table on
Page 4 for guidance on which year’s return to submit with
the application. Failure to attach the required documents
may delay the processing of the application.

* Individuals must furnish signed copies of federal
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Pages 1 and 2, and the
specified federal income tax return schedules, for
example, Schedule C (Form 1040 or 1040-SR) or
Schedule F (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). A husband and
wife who file a joint federal income tax return can
submit a joint Form REG-8. Both must enter and sign
their names on the application.

» If you reported farm income on a federal Schedule C,
you must complete Section 2, Detail of Farm Income
Reported on Federal Schedule C (Form 1040 or
1040-SR), on Page 2 of this application.

» Fiduciaries of estates or trusts must furnish signed
copies of federal Form 1041, Page 1 and any federal
income tax return schedules that detail the income
and expenses, for example, Schedule C (Form 1040
or 1040-SR) or Schedule F (Form 1040 or 1040-SR).
If the fiduciaries submitted the pro forma Schedule C,
complete Section 2 on Page 2 of this application.

» Partnerships must furnish signed copies of federal
Form 1065, Page 1 and the specified federal income
tax return schedules that detail the income and
expenses, for example, Schedule C (Form 1040 or
1040-SR) or Schedule F (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). If
the partnerships submitted the pro forma Schedule C,
complete Section 2 on Page 2 of this application.

» Corporations must furnish a signed copy of federal
Form 1120 or 1120S, Page 1. In addition, a corporation
must also submit the same information as would
be reported on federal Schedule C (Form 1040 or
1040-SR) or Schedule F (Form 1040 or 1040-SR),
even though it is not required to file a Schedule C
or Schedule F for federal income tax purposes.
The items reported must correspond with what was
reported on the corporation’s Form 1120 or 1120S. If
the corporations submitted the pro forma Schedule C,
complete Section 2 on Page 2 of this application.
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Calendar Year Filers

If you apply: You must submit:

After April 15, 2020, but | 2019 federal return or 2020
before April 15, 2021 federal return if filed with the IRS.

After April 15, 2021 2020 federal return

Fiscal Year Filers

If your fiscal year ends: You must submit:

April to November 2020 2019 federal return

January to March 2021 2020 federal return

Line Instructions

If you are applying for a permit as a start-up farmer, answer
only those questions that are applicable. Enter None if the
question asks for information about a year when you were
not engaged in agricultural production as a trade or business.

Line 1

Check Yes if you are engaged in one of the following as a
trade or business:

* Raising and harvesting any agricultural or horticultural
commodity;

« Dairy farming;

*  Forestry. However, persons who purchase standing
timber or who cut timber and resell the logs to a mill are
not considered to be engaged in agricultural production;

* Raising livestock (including horses), bees, poultry,
fur-bearing animals, or wildlife;

* Raising and harvesting fish, oysters, clams, mussels,
or other molluscan shellfish; or

* Boarding horses.

Line 4 and Line 5

Describe in detail the farm products produced by you for sale.
For example, a dairy farmer who owns milk cows should list
milk as the product. A vegetable farmer should list the specific
vegetable(s) grown for sale.

Products purchased by you for resale, for example, cut
flowers and plants, are not agricultural products produced
by you in agricultural production.

Line 9

The amounts on Lines 9a and 9b are generally the amounts
reported for each of the last two years either on federal
Schedule F, Line 2 (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), or on federal
Schedule C, Line 1 (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). Persons filing
Schedule F who are accrual basis taxpayers report the
amount entered on Schedule F, Line 37. If you are in the
business of raising, feeding, caring for, training, or managing
livestock including horses, you must enter the total gross
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income received from these activities. If your gross income
was less than the $2,500 requirement and your income from
agricultural production reported on your federal return for
the last two years averaged $2,500, you may qualify for the
exemption permit. Provide your gross income for each year
only if you are using this method to qualify for the exemption
permit.

Use the chart to the left to determine which income years you
should enter for Line 9. Fill in the appropriate year.

Start-Up Farmers: Enter “0” and do not submit federal
returns.

Line 10

If the gross income entered on Line 9d was less than $2,500
and in the current orimmediately preceding taxable year you
purchased an agricultural trade or business from a seller who
was issued a Farmer Tax Exemption Permit at the time of the
purchase, enter the seller’'s name and Farmer Tax Exemption
Permit number.

Sales and Use Tax Permit Required

Afarmer selling goods must register for a Sales and Use Tax
Permit and collect sales tax on the taxable sales. Taxable
goods commonly sold by farmers include plants, certain
seeds, hay, feed, mulch, fertilizer including manure, livestock,
poultry, rabbits, living or cut Christmas trees, wreaths,
decorated or carved pumpkins, and flowers.

Horse Farms

A farmer that reports income from a horse farm should
indicate in Sections 2A and 2C on Page 2 whether the
income is from:

* Boarding horses;

* Breeding horses;

» Selling horses;

+  Commissions;

* Lessons or training;

* Pony or horse rides; or

»  Other: Give full description.

For More Information
Call DRS Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at:

* 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater
Hartford calling area only); or

* 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users may transmit inquiries
anytime by calling 860-297-4911. Taxpayers may also call
711 for relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator
the number he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will
dial it and then communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.

Forms and Publications

Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and
print Connecticut tax forms and publications.
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