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**The manual covers the basic information about requirements.  The contents of this manual will not cover every situation or answer all questions.  If more information is required you should contact the IRP unit directly.
i
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The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a registration reciprocity agreement among states of the United States and provinces of Canada providing for payment of registration fees on the basis of fleet distances operated in various jurisdictions. 
The unique feature of this plan is that, although registration fees are paid to the various jurisdictions in which  vehicles are operated, only one set of registration (license) plates and one cab card (registration certificate) are issued for each vehicle when registered under the plan.  Carriers that belong to IRP will have full reciprocity in all IRP jurisdictions under the new Full Reciprocity Plan (FPR).  The FPR will apply to any new carrier whose registration begins on or after January 1, 2015 and any current carriers whose registrations will expire on January 1, 2015 or after regardless of when they renew.
When registered with an APPORTIONED registration, may be operated within inter-jurisdiction and intra-jurisdiction (between jurisdictions, as well as within Connecticut).  However, an “apportioned vehicle” must be used or intended for use in two or more jurisdictions.   Cab–cards will show all jurisdictions, you will no longer need to select the jurisdictions you intend to operate in.  Trip Permits will no longer be needed for IRP carriers.

Connecticut is a member of the IRP program for apportioned registrations based on distance for commercial vehicles engaged in interstate operations.  The IRP program is established in Connecticut law per Section 14-34a of the Connecticut General Statutes and the associated regulations. Under IRP, interstate carriers must file application(s) with the jurisdiction in which they are based. The base jurisdiction issues registration credentials for each vehicle. Roadside enforcement uses these credentials to verify the registration.  The apportioned plate and cab card are the registration credentials you need to operate on an interstate and intrastate basis in member jurisdictions. Registration fees are calculated according to each jurisdiction's specific registration schedules.  
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Consider the case of a Connecticut-based, for-hire operator of a tractor/trailer that operates in three IRP jurisdictions: Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont.  For the total reporting year, which was the preceding period of July l to June 30, this tractor/trailer combination traveled a total of 86,027 distances, with different distance in each of the three IRP jurisdictions.  Under the apportioned registration, the registration fees will be computed, as in the following example for an 80,000 lbs. vehicle: 
	JURISDICTION
	TOTAL 
DISTANCE
	PERCENT 
OF FEE
	X FULL-YEAR 
FEE
	APPORTIONED FEE

	Connecticut
	54,923
	0.63844
	$l,546.00
	$987.03

	Massachusetts
	7,6l3
	0.08850
	$l,200.00
	$106.20

	Vermont
	23,491
	0.27307
	$1,902.00
	$106.20

	TOTALS
	86,027
	l00.00%
	$4,648.00
	$l,612.61



Travel in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont would be authorized for this vehicle by the IRP cab card credential up to the maximum of 80000 lbs. in each jurisdiction.  The Connecticut base jurisdiction would collect $1,612.61 in a single payment from the registrant. Connecticut would disburse $106.20 to Massachusetts and $519.38 to Vermont on behalf of the registrant.  
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The Performance and Registration Information Systems Management (PRISM) program links the commercial vehicle registration process to motor carrier safety to achieve two purposes, determine the safety fitness of the motor carrier prior to issuing license plates and influence the carrier to improve its safety performance through an improvement process and, where necessary, the application of registration sanctions.
The PRISM program includes two major processes - the Commercial Vehicle Registration process(Registration) and Enforcement, which work in parallel to identify motor carriers and hold them responsible for the safety of their operation. The performance of unsafe carriers is improved through a comprehensive system of identification, education, awareness, data gathering, safety monitoring and treatment. 
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IRP serves as the framework for the PRISM program. The USDOT number of the motor carrier responsible for the safety of every vehicle registered must be identified during the registration process as well as the USDOT Number of the registrant. It is the reasonability of the motor carrier to have updated the information directly on the FMCSA web page http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov. In many of the IRP accounts, the registrant that maintains the IRP account and the motor carrier that is responsible for safety are the same.  
In some cases though, the IRP account registrant and the motor carrier responsible for the safety of individual vehicles on the account may be different. Rental/leasing companies who register in their own name must provide the USDOT Numbers and copies of updated MCS-150 forms to the registration office for the rental/leasing company and also for all lessees who are responsible for safety for the vehicles. In addition, the owner/operator must provide the USDOT Number for the company to whom he/she leases. Updated copies of the MCS –150 must be submitted for the owner/operator and all companies responsible for safety (the lessees). The MCS –150 forms for the companies must be completed by the companies. Companies who use all leased vehicles registered in the name of the lessors (rental/leasing or owner/operators) must provide the lessor with an updated copy of the MCS-150. The lessor will submit it to the state registration office in order to have the vehicle’s registration renewed.
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Connecticut is a member of IFTA, the INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT, which in Connecticut is administered by the Department of Revenue Services.  The carrier's base jurisdiction issues credentials that allow the IFTA licensee to travel in all IFTA member jurisdictions. The carrier files one fuel tax return to the base jurisdiction to report fuel use in all member jurisdictions, and then the carrier is able to make one payment (or receive one refund) which is the total of all tax due or total credits in all jurisdictions. Except Alaska, the Northwest Territory, the District of Columbia, and the Yukon, all contiguous states and Canadian provinces are IFTA member jurisdictions.  
Connecticut is your base jurisdiction for IFTA if:  
· your qualified motor vehicles are registered in Connecticut; a qualified motor vehicle is a motor vehicle used for transportation of persons or property, and has at least two axles and a gross weight exceeding 26,000 lbs. or is used in combination and that combination exceeds 26,000 lbs., or had three or more axles regardless of weight.  
· you have an "established place of business" in Connecticut from which motor carrier operations are performed;  
· you maintain the operational control and operational records for qualified motor vehicles in Connecticut, or can make those records available;  
· you have qualified motor vehicles that actually travel on Connecticut highways.  
IFTA offers the benefits of one license, one set of credentials, one quarterly fuel tax report that reflects the tax or refund due, and one audit (in most circumstances).  Any carrier based in Connecticut and operating one or more qualified motor vehicles in at least one other IFTA member jurisdiction may file an IFTA license application in Connecticut.  If a carrier qualifies as an IFTA licensee but does not wish to participate in the IFTA program, fuel permits must be obtained to travel through member jurisdictions, according to the regulations of each member jurisdictions. 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR ALL INTERSTATE MOTOR CARRIERS FREIGHT FORWARDERS, BROKERS AND LEASING COMPANIES
If you operate a truck or bus in interstate or international commerce, or if you make the arrangements for the transportation of cargo and goods, the registration requirements of the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCR) applies to your business. 
The Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCR) requires individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate or international commerce to register their business with their home state and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet.  Companies operating solely as brokers, freight forwarders or leasing companies are also required to register and pay a fee of $76. Companies providing both motor carrier services as well as broker, freight forwarder or leasing services are required to pay the fee level set at the motor carrier level. Motor private carriers of passengers only are not required to register and pay fees under the UCR. The revenues generated will be used for enforcement of motor carrier safety programs.  
For purposes of determining fees, a “commercial motor vehicle” is defined as a self-propelled or towed vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle: 
(a) has a GVWR or GVW of 10,001 pounds or more; 
(b) is designed to transport 11 or more passengers (including the driver);  
(c) is used in transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding. 
THE FEE BRACKETS FOR MOTOR CARRIERS ARE AS FOLLOWS:
	Fleet size
	
	Fee Per Company

	TO
	FROM
	AMOUNT

	0
	2
	$76

	3
	5
	$227

	6
	20
	$452

	21
	100
	$1,576

	101
	1000
	$7,511

	1001
	Or more
	$73,346


Example:  A motor carrier operating four tractors and nine straight trucks has a fleet size of thirteen commercial motor vehicles and pays $452.  
To avoid delays it is highly recommended that you register in the national UCR on-line system hosted by the Indiana Department of Revenue. Go to www.ucr.in.gov and follow the step by step instructions. Payments may be made on-line using MasterCard, Visa or e-Check.     
If you decide to register by mail, go to the Connecticut DMV website at www.ct.gov/dmv click on the Forms section, click on All DMV Forms and scroll down to the UCR-1 form for the correct year, print and complete the UCR application form according to the instructions. Make check or money order payable to CT DMV. Please write your USDOT NUMBER on your check or money order.  Mail application and check to the Department of Motor Vehicles, 60 state Street, UCR Section, Wethersfield, CT 06161-1015. For questions, visit the website www.ucr.in.gov or call 860-263-5281. You may not file UCR in person over-the-counter.   
Household Goods Carriers (HHG) must contact the Connecticut Department of Transportation for HHG authorization, and EXEMPT carriers must also contact Connecticut DOT to determine if they must apply for INTRASTATE operating authority for their vehicles.  
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The US DOT number is an identification number issued to motor carriers and shippers by the US Department of Transportation.  The IRP Section requires all applicants for APPORTIONED registration to provide the US DOT NUMBER they operate under, which is either in the name of the registrant or in the name of the motor carrier the registrant is under contract with.  All carriers who engage in interstate commercial operation at 10,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) and over, or transport hazardous material, regardless of weight, must operate under a US DOT NUMBER.  
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, Commercial Vehicle Safety Division, issues Intrastate DOT NUMBERS to Connecticut intrastate commercial carriers operating vehicles meeting any of the following criteria: (1) in excess of 18,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR), (2) transporting placardable amounts of hazardous materials or (3) transporting 15 passengers or more in commerce. 
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DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES - IRP UNIT 
60 State Street, Room 307
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1010 
TELEPHONE: 860-263-5281  
DMV.IRP@ct.gov

ALL IRP TRANSACTIONS ARE PROCESSED AT THE IRP UNIT IN WETHERSFIELD. NO IRP TRANSACTIONS CAN BE PROCESSED AT A DMV BRANCH OFFICE. 
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WINDOW SERVICE HOURS:		Tues, Wed, & Friday 	8:00 AM -11:30 AM
			  		Thurs   			9:15 AM –12:30 PM
TELEPHONE & DROP-OFF BOX:	Monday - Friday	8:00 AM - 4:30 PM 
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IRP RENEWALS ARE NOT PROCESSED AT THE WINDOW.  IRP RENEWALS MUST BE PROCESSED THROUGH THE MAIL, BUT YOU MAY DROP OFF OUR RENEWAL TRANSACTION AT OUR OFFICE IN OUR DROP-OFF BOX. 
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Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles  
UCR Unit, Room 307 
60 State Street 
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1010   
860-263-5281 
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Connecticut Department of Revenue Services 
25 Sigourney Street  
Hartford, CT 06105  
860-541-3222
Drs.ctifta@po.state.ct.us 
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Bureau of Public Transportation 
Motor Transport Services 
2800 Berlin Turnpike, PO Box 3l7546   
Newington, CT 0603l-7546  
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OPERATING AUTHORITY-CONNECTICUT INTRASTATE OPERATORS & HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIERS
860-594-2865
  
OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT PERMITS  
860-594-2880  
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Office of State Fire Marshall 
1111 Country Club Road, P O Box 2794 
Middletown, CT 06457-9294  

[bookmark: _Toc437685934]TRANSPORTATION OF COMBUSTIBLE CARGO AND EXPLOSIVES 
860-685-8190 
[bookmark: _Toc437685935][bookmark: _Toc437939697]Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
Waste Management Bureau 
79 Elm Street, 4th Floor 
Hartford, CT 06l06-5l27 

[bookmark: _Toc437685936]TRANSPORTATION OF HAZARDOUS WASTE/NONHAZARDOUS INDUSTRIAL WASTE 
860-424-4193 
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FEDERAL HEAVY VEHICLE USE TAX (FORM IRS-2290) 
866-699-4096  
[bookmark: _Toc437685938][bookmark: _Toc437939699]US DOT NUMBER AND OPERATING AUTHORITY(Interstate DOT No.)    
800-832-5660    
[bookmark: _Toc437685939][bookmark: _Toc437939700]US DOT Intrastate DOT No. 
Safety Inspections for Commercial Vehicles   
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles  
Commercial Vehicle Safety Division 
60 State St. 
Wethersfield, CT 06161  
860-263-5446   
[bookmark: _Toc437685940][bookmark: _Toc437939701]TRANSPORTATION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 
Department of Consumer Protection 
Liquor Control 
165 Capitol Avenue 
Hartford, CT  06106 
860-713-6200   

[bookmark: _Toc437939702]International Registration Plan, Inc.  (IRP INC.) 
4196 Merchant Plaza #225
Lake Ridge, VA 22192 
irpmail@irpinc.org
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If your bus or truck vehicle meets the IRP weight/axle criteria (provided below) and you perform interstate commerce, then you must EITHER obtain APPORTIONED registration for your vehicle, OR obtain regular COMMERCIAL registration and then obtain IRP TRIP PERMITS (for a specified period, often 72 hours) from each IRP jurisdiction in which the vehicle will be operated.  Such trip permits are available for every jurisdiction from commercial wire services.  Contact IRP Section for the most current listing of names and phone numbers of these commercial wire services.  
WEIGHT/AXLE CRITERIA: A vehicle must be registered as APPORTIONED (or the registrant must obtain TRIP PERMITS as described above) if the vehicle travels interstate (operates in Connecticut and at least one other jurisdiction), and is used for the transportation of persons-for-hire (operates as a regular route “bus”) or is designed, used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and: 
· is a power unit having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 lbs.; or 
· is a power unit having three or more axles regardless of weight; or 
· is used in combination (tractor/trailer) when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight.  
Vehicles, or combination thereof, having a gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or less and two axle vehicles may register with IRP.
Only your power unit must be registered APPORTIONED, and must be registered at the COMBINED WEIGHT including the weight of any trailer plus load. You obtain regular COMMERCIAL TRAILER plates for your trailer (full or semi-trailer) at any DMV branch office. Converter gear does not require a separate registration.  
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• Government-owned vehicles; 
• City pick-up and delivery vehicles; 
• Trailers 
• Recreational vehicles used for personal pleasure or travel by an individual or family; 
• Vehicles operating with RESTRICTED PLATES (ex;Farm plates, Dealer plates or Transporter plates) that have time, geographic area, mileage or commodity restriction. Commercial haul-for-hire is generally not allowed with such "restricted" plates, and an additional (secondary) COMMERCIAL or APPORTIONED plate would be required (the vehicle would then be said to have “dual registration”). 
Interstate operations of vehicles with any such plates are subject to specific reciprocity agreements between and amongst specific jurisdictions.  Section 14-34 of the Connecticut General Statutes allows reciprocity of vehicles with "foreign" plates that are "substantially similar" to Connecticut plates afforded such reciprocity in the "foreign" jurisdiction.  
If you believe you have a “restrictive” plate, you should contact each jurisdiction you intend to travel in, to verify that the jurisdiction will accept your registration as “restrictive.” If the jurisdiction will not accept the registration as “restrictive,” then it means the jurisdiction will not allow you to enter its borders unless you have APPORTIONED registration or TRIP PERMITS. You may then be a candidate for dual registration.  You can obtain APPORTIONED plates as a secondary registration on your vehicle for the purpose of interjurisdictional travel.    
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It is not necessary for any registrant in the IRP program to contact any other state for registration requirements except their base jurisdiction state.   
Under the IRP program, the interstate carrier is required to file an application with the jurisdiction in which the registrant is based (base jurisdiction).  The base jurisdiction issues an "apportioned" license plate and cab card. The base plate, and the cab card are the only registration credentials required to qualify the carrier to operate INTRASTATE in Connecticut and INTERSTATE in other IRP jurisdictions listed on the cab card.   The base jurisdiction collects the registration fees ("apportioned fees") for each IRP jurisdiction at the time of registration and divides the apportioned fees among the other IRP jurisdictions according to distance traveled in each IRP jurisdiction.  Vehicles registered as APPORTIONED under the IRP "SHALL BE DEEMED FULLY REGISTERED IN ALL JURISDICTIONS. In other words, IRP cab card and APPORTIONED plates are legally equivalent to registration in each US state or Canadian province.
The IRP allows both interstate and intrastate vehicle movements, provided the registrant has proper interstate or intrastate authority from the appropriate regulatory agency or is exempt from regulation by the regulatory agency, and provided oversize or overweight permits are obtained from each jurisdiction traveled through when size or weight exceeds legal limits of the jurisdiction. 
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(Operating Authority, Oversize/Overweight Permits, Municipal & Federal Taxes, Mandatory Liability Insurance Coverage) 
Apportioned registration DOES NOT: 
· Waive or exempt the payment of motor fuel taxes; (In Connecticut, fuel tax is processed through the IFTA Program, administered by Department of Revenue Services) 
· Allow registrants to exceed the maximum length, width, height or axle limitations (Oversize/Overweight Permits); (In Connecticut, Oversize/Overweight Permits are issued by the Department of Transportation); 
· Waive or exempt the payment of tax reporting requirements or Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT); (In Connecticut, vehicles are subject to municipal property tax in the town where the vehicle is garaged; HVUT is paid to the Federal Internal Revenue Services); 
· Exempt a carrier from filing the necessary proof of mandatory insurance liability coverage that may be required in a jurisdiction. (In Connecticut, proof of minimum insurance coverage is required for each vehicle base-registered in Connecticut). 
The names and addresses and telephone numbers of jurisdictional agencies from which to obtain information are listed in this manual in the section OTHER OFFICES/AGENCIES/PROGRAMS. 
NOTE: Any vehicle which is greater than the statutory limits for gross vehicle weight (per axles of vehicle or of total configuration of vehicle combination) requires a Connecticut OVERWEIGHT PERMIT issued by Connecticut DOT in order to operate in Connecticut.   Section 14-270(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes requires the weight listed on the registration credential (cab card) be up to the weight of the OVERWEIGHT PERMIT.   
[bookmark: _Toc436913114][bookmark: _Toc437345815][bookmark: _Toc437346367][bookmark: _Toc437346403][bookmark: _Toc437348997][bookmark: _Toc437349031][bookmark: _Toc437349119][bookmark: _Toc437349143][bookmark: _Toc437349705][bookmark: _Toc437350261][bookmark: _Toc437350913][bookmark: _Toc437350967][bookmark: _Toc437685945][bookmark: _Toc437939707]TYPES OF OPERATIONS 
[bookmark: _Toc437685946][bookmark: _Toc437939708]HAUL-FOR-HIRE (HH) 
A haul-for-hire carrier is a person, firm, or corporation who engages in the transportation by motor vehicle of passengers or property for compensation.  The carrier may be COMMON or CONTRACT.  COMMON carriers offer services to the general public, while CONTRACT carriers are under contract to a particular person, partnership, or corporation.  
[bookmark: _Toc437685947][bookmark: _Toc437939709]EXEMPT CARRIER (EX) 
An exempt carrier is a person, firm, or corporation who engages in the transportation by motor vehicles of exempt property for compensation; the exemption is determined by US DOT (which absorbed the duties of the former ICC 12/31/95 
[bookmark: _Toc437685948][bookmark: _Toc437939710]PRIVATE CARRIERS (PC) 
A private carrier is a person, firm, or corporation that uses its own vehicles to transport its own freight. 
[bookmark: _Toc437685949][bookmark: _Toc437939711]OWNER-OPERATOR VEHICLES 
An owner-operator is a person engaged in the transportation business who leased himself and his vehicle to a motor carrier.  APPORTIONED registration for owner-operators may be accomplished in either of the following ways: 
(l) The owner-operator may be the IRP registrant and the vehicle(s) may be registered in the name of the owner-operator.  The allocation of fees shall be according to the operational records of the owner-operator.  The plates and cab card shall be the property of the owner-operator; or
2) The motor carrier may be the IRP registrant at the option of the owner-operator, and the vehicle may be registered by the motor carrier, but in both the owner-operator's name and that of the carrier, with allocation of fees according to the records of the motor carrier. The plates and cab card shall be the property of the motor carrier. It is the obligation of the motor carrier to reimburse the owner-operator for the unused portion of any registration fees transferred to a newly acquired vehicle when the lease is cancelled between the parties. Reimbursement should be made within 30 days of the transfer. 
[bookmark: _Toc437685950][bookmark: _Toc437939712]BUSES 
Buses used in transportation of chartered parties.  A bus is a common carrier of passengers if it makes scheduled stops on a regular route at which passengers’ board and pay to ride.  Buses engaged in interstate transportation of persons-for-hire which are EITHER two-axle and over 26,000 lbs. gross weight OR three or more axles regardless of weight, when travelling interstate, must EITHER be registered with APPORTIONED plates OR obtain TRIP PERMITS from each jurisdiction traveled in. Connecticut-based common carriers of passengers having any doubt as to whether they should file an apportioned registration application should contact the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, IRP Section for assistance.   
[bookmark: _Toc437685951][bookmark: _Toc437939713]HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIERS (HC) 
These are carriers in the specific business of moving personal effects and property used or to be used in a dwelling, and equipment, fixtures, supplies, etc. of commercial establishments.  Such carriers are hired by the owners of such property, and are commonly known has "movers".  Household goods carriers using equipment leased from service representatives may elect to base such equipment in the base jurisdiction of the service representative, or that of the carrier.  
If the base jurisdiction of the service representative is selected, the equipment shall be registered in the service representative's name and the household goods carrier shall be indicated as the lessee.  The apportionment of fees shall be according to the combined distance records of the service representative and those of the carrier.  Such records must be kept or made available in the service representative's base jurisdiction.  
If the base jurisdiction of the household goods carrier is selected, the equipment shall be registered by the carrier and the service representative shall be designated as the lessor.  The apportionment of fees shall be according to the distance records of the carrier and the service representative which must include intrastate distances operated by those vehicles.  The records must be kept or made available in the base jurisdiction of the carrier.  Service representatives properly registered under this selection shall be fully registered for operations under their own authority, as well as under the authority of the carrier. 
[bookmark: _Toc437685952][bookmark: _Toc437939714]RENTAL CARRIERS (RC) 
IRP specifically provides for the registration of various types of rental fleets.  A "rental fleet" is one or more vehicles that are rented or offered for rental without drivers and designated by a rental owner as a rental fleet.  A "rental owner" is an owner principally engaged in renting one or more rental fleets to others or offering for rental the vehicles of such fleets, WITHOUT DRIVERS. 
[bookmark: _Toc437685953][bookmark: _Toc437939715]One-Way Vehicles 
Owner of trucks of less than 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight operated as part of an identifiable one-way fleet will allocate vehicles to the respective jurisdictions based on the mileage factor procedure and fully plate said allocated vehicles in the respective jurisdictions. 
The minimum number of vehicles to be fully registered in Connecticut at the beginning of the registration year shall be determined as follows:  
· List the actual distances traveled by all vehicles in all jurisdictions for the last completed reporting period (July 1 to June 30).
· Determine the Connecticut percentage by dividing the Connecticut distance by total (all jurisdictions) distances in the reporting period (July 1 to June 30).  
· Multiply the Connecticut percentage times the total number of vehicles of owned and/or operated on the first day of the registration year.  The resulting figure shall be the minimum vehicles to be fully registered. 
The vehicles allocated to Connecticut should be representative of the entire fleet of vehicles.  When equipment is added during the (registration) year, the same percentage determined at the beginning of the registration year multiplied times the number of vehicles being added to the fleet will determine the additional vehicles that must be registered in Connecticut.  
Registrants operating this type of rental vehicle shall prepare and maintain yearly summaries of individual vehicle distance and the total fleet distance in all jurisdictions.    
Yearly inventories of all fleet vehicles owned and/or operated must be maintained by the registrant and shall be supported by actual inventory reports.  Upon request, such inventories and distance summaries shall be furnished to the Audit Services Unit of the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. 
[bookmark: _Toc436913115][bookmark: _Toc437345816][bookmark: _Toc437346368][bookmark: _Toc437346404][bookmark: _Toc437348998][bookmark: _Toc437349032][bookmark: _Toc437349120][bookmark: _Toc437349144][bookmark: _Toc437349706][bookmark: _Toc437350262][bookmark: _Toc437350914][bookmark: _Toc437350968][bookmark: _Toc437685954][bookmark: _Toc437939716]LEASED VEHICLES 
An apportioned operator may temporarily lease equipment to another apportioned fleet operator and the lessor shall be responsible for reporting on the proportional application the distances traveled by the leased equipment.  The lessee shall be the person using and operating the equipment according to the lease agreement.  
 Full-fee Connecticut carriers may temporarily lease proportionally registered vehicles bearing proper Connecticut credentials, provided the apportioned carrier reports the distance traveled while the equipment is under lease.  The Connecticut full-fee carrier must send a report of distance traveled while the equipment is under lease. The Connecticut full-fee carrier must send a report of distance traveled by the leased equipment to the apportioned carrier.  It is recommended this be accomplished within 30 days.  
 An apportioned vehicle may be leased to a non-apportioned carrier.  The lessor shall be responsible for reporting the distance traveled by the leased equipment.  The leased vehicle must bear proportional credentials and can be operated in Connecticut only if fees have been paid to Connecticut, otherwise a trip permit will be required.  
[bookmark: _Toc436913116][bookmark: _Toc437345817][bookmark: _Toc437346369][bookmark: _Toc437346405][bookmark: _Toc437348999][bookmark: _Toc437349033][bookmark: _Toc437349121][bookmark: _Toc437349145][bookmark: _Toc437349707][bookmark: _Toc437350263][bookmark: _Toc437350915][bookmark: _Toc437350969][bookmark: _Toc437685955][bookmark: _Toc437939717]OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT PERMITS 
All vehicles operating in Connecticut must comply with size and weight limitations cited in the Connecticut General Statutes.  These specific limitations, which are a function of GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT, NUMBER OF AXLES, and WHEELBASE (distance in feet between first and last axle).  All vehicles that exceed these limitations are required to obtain an OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT PERMIT, issued by the Connecticut Department of Transportation, in order to operate legally in Connecticut.  Vehicles that exceed size/weight limitations in the Connecticut General Statutes therefore require two (2) credentials to operate legally in Connecticut:   
 	(1) A Connecticut registration, or IRP cab card listing "CONNECTICUT,” issued by Connecticut DMV 	for Connecticut-based carriers or issued by a foreign jurisdiction for non-Connecticut-based carriers 
 	(2) A Connecticut Oversize/Overweight permit issued by the Connecticut Department of 	Transportation for both Connecticut-based and foreign-based carriers 
SUCH PERMITS APPLY ONLY TO OPERATION IN CONNECTICUT.  TO TRANSPORT OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT LOADS THROUGH OTHER JURISDICTIONS, CONTACT SUCH OTHER JURISDICTIONS AT THE TELEPHONE NUMBERS PROVIDED IN THE APPENDIX UNDER "JURISDICTIONAL AGENCIES". 
Connecticut regulations make a distinction between "divisible" loads and "indivisible" loads.  Divisible loads beyond statutory weight limitations are subject to special restrictions for the issuance of overweight permits by Connecticut DOT. 
[bookmark: _Toc436913117][bookmark: _Toc437345818][bookmark: _Toc437346370][bookmark: _Toc437346406][bookmark: _Toc437349000][bookmark: _Toc437349034][bookmark: _Toc437349122][bookmark: _Toc437349146][bookmark: _Toc437349708][bookmark: _Toc437350264][bookmark: _Toc437350916][bookmark: _Toc437350970][bookmark: _Toc437685956][bookmark: _Toc437939718]FEDERAL HEAVY VEHICLE USE TAX (HVUT) 
All vehicles registered at or above 55,000 lbs. gross weight are subject to a special federal tax, Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT), as per Section 448 of the Internal Revenue Code.  The owner of such vehicles pays this tax by filing IRS form 2290 with the Internal Revenue Service.  Federal law requires that any state authority issuing a registration to such vehicles verify that the HVUT for the current year has been paid to the IRS for the current tax year (fiscal year July 1 to June 30) before any registration of these vehicles is issued or renewed.  This requirement is further incorporated directly in Connecticut state law: Section 14-12(f)(6), Connecticut General Statutes.  Proof of payment is not required by DMV at time of first registration (if the vehicle was purchased within the last 60 days), but must be presented at every renewal.  
Vehicles 55,000 lbs. and over that are EXEMPT FROM PAYMENT OF THE HVUT (as listed in General Instructions in form no. 2290) must still file IRS form 2290 and obtain the receipted IRS form 2290. 
[bookmark: _Toc437346371][bookmark: _Toc437346407][bookmark: _Toc437349001][bookmark: _Toc437349035][bookmark: _Toc437349123][bookmark: _Toc437349147][bookmark: _Toc437349709][bookmark: _Toc437350265][bookmark: _Toc437350917][bookmark: _Toc437350971][bookmark: _Toc437685957][bookmark: _Toc437939719]MUNICIPAL PROPERTY TAX / PARKING TICKETS 
Vehicles registered in Connecticut are subject to local property taxation by the city/town in which the vehicle is primarily garaged/parked.  Every Connecticut registered vehicle (including IRP registered vehicles) is coded for one TAX TOWN where such property taxes are due.  If the owner of a vehicle who is assessed a municipal property tax fails to pay that tax, the municipality reports that person or company to the Department of Motor Vehicles as DELINQUENT. Section 14-33 of the Connecticut General Statutes prevents the DMV from either issuing or renewing any registrations in the name of such person or company that has been reported as delinquent in the payment of municipal property tax.  DMV may not register or renew any vehicle in the name of such delinquent person or company until the reporting municipality removes the delinquency. 
Similarly, a Connecticut registration cannot be issued or renewed in the name of a person/company if that person or company has been reported as delinquent in the payment of municipal parking ticket violations.  Connecticut municipalities may report the name of such a delinquent person to the DMV when five (5) or more parking violations have not been paid.  DMV may not register or renew any vehicle in the name of such delinquent person or company until the reporting municipality removes the delinquency.  
[bookmark: _Toc436913118][bookmark: _Toc437345819][bookmark: _Toc437346372][bookmark: _Toc437346408][bookmark: _Toc437349002][bookmark: _Toc437349036][bookmark: _Toc437349124][bookmark: _Toc437349148][bookmark: _Toc437349710][bookmark: _Toc437350266][bookmark: _Toc437350918][bookmark: _Toc437350972][bookmark: _Toc437685958][bookmark: _Toc437939720]CONNECTICUT REQUIREMENTS  
You must register your vehicle(s) in Connecticut with Connecticut APPORTION plate(s) if Connecticut is your "base jurisdiction" where you have an "established place of business."    
NOTE: A new carrier enrolling in the IRP program or a carrier renewing in the IRP program must present proof of insurance to the IRP Section for each vehicle being registered under apportioned plates. An Acord Insurance Certificate must be submitted with either blanket coverage for all vehicles or vehicle specific. The certificate must list the registrant's name and address as listed on the IRP account, business address (PO Box will not be accepted as the mail address), policy number, effective and expiration dates, amount of insurance liability, vehicle information if specific, and list CT DMV IRP Unit, 60 State Street Room 260, Wethersfield, CT 06161-1010 as the certificate holder so we will be notified of any insurance cancellation. If you are leased onto a motor carrier an Acord Insurance Certificate must also be submitted with the lessee's insurance information and lessor's name and vehicle information and CT DMV IRP Unit and address as the certificate holder so we will be notified upon cancellation of lease and/or insurance coverage. 	 	 
Each vehicle being added to a registrant's IRP account must be covered with liability insurance.  Proof of insurance must be presented when a SUPPLEMENTAL Schedule C/E application is submitted. 
	Transaction
	Forms required            

	New Account
	Schedule A/E
Schedule B
IRP-24

	Adding Vehicle(s)
	Schedule C/E

	Deleting Vehicle(s)
	Schedule C/E

	Transfer Vehicle
	C/E

	Weight Change
	C/E

	Renewal w/ changes 
	Renewal Form
All changes are made on the renewal form

	Replacement plates
	IRP 5

	Replacement Cab Card
	IRP 5

	Change Address
	C/E


When registering any vehicles with apportioned plates the below documents will be required:
· Form H13
· Proof of Ownership, if newly purchased the original Certificate of Origin or Vehicle title will need to be turned in.
· Bill of Sale
· Federal annual Inspection along with the Inspector qualifications form (Note the Federal annual inspection must be dated within 30 days of the date being registered, the Inspector qualification form must be dated within 30 days from the inspection)
· If vehicle is purchased with an out of state title VIN verification will be required.
· Insurance Cert. (if leased both liability and bobtail cert are required
· Lease agreement if applicable
· IRS 2290 if being registered after 60 days of purchase date
· Power of Attorney will be required if the person presenting the paperwork is not the contact person listed on the account
· Copy of Driver’s license of contact person
· All property tax, parking violations and compliance issues must be paid prior to registering any vehicle
[bookmark: _Toc436913119][bookmark: _Toc437345820][bookmark: _Toc437346373][bookmark: _Toc437346409][bookmark: _Toc437349003][bookmark: _Toc437349037][bookmark: _Toc437349125][bookmark: _Toc437349149][bookmark: _Toc437349711][bookmark: _Toc437350267][bookmark: _Toc437350919][bookmark: _Toc437350973][bookmark: _Toc437685959][bookmark: _Toc437939721]RENEWALS
All Connecticut APPORTIONED registrations are issued for a one year period with monthly staggered registration expiration dates. You receive renewal applications, which are computer-printed "renewal" versions of Schedule B mileage report and Schedule A/E with the information of your account pre-printed at least 90 days before expiration. Verify the pre-printed information, which includes name/address/phone etc. as well as your vehicles. List the mileage data for each jurisdiction of the previously reporting period from July 1 to June 30. Return completed renewal application accompanied with the required documents at least 45 days before your registration expiration date. If not received within 5 days after the expiration date a $150.00 late fee will be charged per vehicle.
[bookmark: _Toc436913120][bookmark: _Toc437345821][bookmark: _Toc437346374][bookmark: _Toc437346410][bookmark: _Toc437349004][bookmark: _Toc437349038][bookmark: _Toc437349126][bookmark: _Toc437349150][bookmark: _Toc437349712][bookmark: _Toc437350268][bookmark: _Toc437350920][bookmark: _Toc437350974][bookmark: _Toc437685960][bookmark: _Toc437939722]AUDIT 
All IRP registrants with any APPORTIONED registrations are subject to specific record-keeping requirements for their distance source documents. A Registrant shall retain the Records on which the Registrant’s application for apportioned registration is based for a period of three years following the close of the Registration year to which the application pertains, and on request, shall make such Records available for Audit. A total of four years. (Article X, Sec. 1000 IRP plan)
Applicants must also make such records available to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles at his request for audit purposes, to determine accuracy of computations, payments, and assessments for deficiencies or allowances for credits.  Failure to maintain records necessary for the filing of APPORTIONED registrations may result in cancellation of the registration privileges provided by the IRP agreement.
If the Records produced by the Registrant for Audit do not, for the Registrant’s fleet as a whole, meet the criterion in Section 1005(a), or if, within 30 calendar days of the issuance of a written request by the Base Jurisdiction, the Registrant produces no Records, the Base Jurisdiction shall impose on the Registrant an assessment in the amount of twenty percent of the Apportionable Fees paid by the Registrant for the registration of its Fleet in the Registration Year to which the Records pertain. In an instance where the Base Jurisdiction knows that it is the Registrant’s second such offense, the Base Jurisdiction shall impose an assessment of fifty percent of the Apportionable Fees paid by the Registrant for the registration of its Fleet in the Registration Year to which the Records pertain. When the Base Jurisdiction knows it is the Registrant’s third offense, and on any subsequent offenses of the Registrant known to the Base Jurisdiction, the Base Jurisdiction shall impose an assessment of 100 percent of the Apportionable Fees paid by the Registrant for the registration of its Fleet in the Registration Year to which the Records pertain. 
If the Registrant fails or refuses to make Records available for audit, or if the Records made available are, as a whole, so inadequate that they cannot be audited, the Base Jurisdiction shall impose the assessment described. 
The Records maintained by a Registrant under Section 1000 shall be adequate to enable the Base Jurisdiction to verify the distances reported in the Registrant’s application for apportioned registration and to evaluate the accuracy of the Registrant’s distance accounting system for its Fleet. (Article X, Section 105, IRP plan)
Mileage records (IVDRs) must contain the following elements: 
(a) For Records produced by a means other than a vehicle-tracking system: 
(i) The beginning and ending reading from the odometer, hubodometer, engine control module (ECM), or any similar device for the trip
(ii) The origin and destination of the trip 
(iii) The route of travel 
(iv) The beginning and ending dates of the trip to which the Records pertain
(v) The total distance of the trip 
(vi) The distance traveled in each Jurisdiction 
(vii) The Vehicle identification number or Vehicle unit number 
(b) For Records produced wholly or partly by a vehicle-tracking system, including a system based on a global positioning system (GPS): 
(i) The original GPS or other location data for the Vehicle to which 
the Records pertain 
(ii) The date and time of each GPS or other system reading 
(iii) The location of each GPS or other system reading 
(iv) The beginning and ending reading from the odometer, hubodometer, engine control module (ECM), or any similar device for the period to which the Records pertain 
(v) The calculated distance between each GPS or other system reading 
(vi) The route of the Vehicle’s travel 
(vii) The total distance traveled by the Vehicle 
(viii) The distance traveled in each jurisdiction 
(ix) The Vehicle identification number or Vehicle unit number 
(c) Summaries: 
(i) A summary of the Fleet’s operations for each month, which includes both the full distance traveled by each Apportioned Vehicle in the Fleet during the calendar month, and the distance traveled in the month by each Apportioned Vehicle in each Jurisdiction. 
(ii) A summary of the Fleet’s operations for each calendar quarter, which includes both the full distance traveled by Vehicles in the Fleet during the calendar quarter, and the distance traveled in each Jurisdiction by the Vehicles in the Fleet during the calendar quarter. 
(iii) A summary of the quarterly summaries.
Sample distance record forms (INDIVIDUAL VEHICLE DISTANCE RECORD (IVDR), Form No. IRP-29) are available at the IRP Section, or may be downloaded from our DMV web site (www.ct.gov/dmv).  
Distance records must be accurate to the single whole mile.  DO NOT ROUND OFF DISTANCE FIGURES.  Cases of "actual" distance data consistently ending in 0's imply improper rounding, and such cases may be referred to auditors. 
You must report all actual distances of every vehicle in your fleet, even if any or all vehicles did not leave Connecticut during the distance reporting period.  You must report all actual distances operated in Connecticut, even for trips beginning and ending within Connecticut, as well as all actual distances operated in all other jurisdictions.  Any Motor Carrier is subject to State Audits.


[bookmark: _Toc436913121][bookmark: _Toc437345822][bookmark: _Toc437346375][bookmark: _Toc437346411][bookmark: _Toc437349005][bookmark: _Toc437349039][bookmark: _Toc437349127][bookmark: _Toc437349151][bookmark: _Toc437349713][bookmark: _Toc437350269][bookmark: _Toc437350921][bookmark: _Toc437350975][bookmark: _Toc437685961][bookmark: _Toc437939723]GLOSSARY DEFINITIONS 
AD VALOREM - A tax charged by some states in proportion to the estimated value of the vehicle.  This tax is collected as a part of the registration fee.   
ALLOCATED VEHICLE - Vehicle to which a particular state's basic registration plate or apportioned registration plate is attached upon payment of the state's full basic registration fee.  A portion of each fleet of ONE-WAY VEHICLES is "allocated" to each jurisdiction into or through which the fleet travels (each vehicle of the fleet need not enter every jurisdiction).  An "allocated vehicle" registered APPORTIONED is issued a cab card with only its allocated state listed.  
APPLICANT - Person, firm, or corporation in whose name(s) an application is filed for registration under the Plan.  
APPORTION FEE - A periodic recurring fee required for licensing or registering vehicles in a jurisdiction.  The fee is generally a percentage of the jurisdiction's regular (intrastate) commercial fee proportional to the percentage of distance traveled in the jurisdiction.  
APPORTION VEHICLE - Any vehicle (except recreational vehicles, vehicles displaying a RESTRICTED PLATE, city pick up and delivery vehicles and government-owned vehicles), used or intended for use in two or more member IRP jurisdictions that allocate or proportionally register vehicles, and used for the transportation of persons-for-hire or designed, used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property and:  
(l) is a power unit having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 pounds; or 
(2) is a power unit having three or more axles, regardless of weight; or 
(3) is used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.  
If a vehicle or combination is APPORTIONED, then to travel interstate it must either be registered under an IRP APPORTIONED REGISTRATION or, if registered under a COMMERCIAL (NON-IRP) REGISTRATION, obtain TRIP PERMITS for each jurisdiction traveled in.  
APPORTION REGISTRATION - IRP registration allowing an APPORTION VEHICLE (COMMERCIAL or BUS) to comply with registration requirements of more than one jurisdiction, and to pay registration fees based on the percentage of operation in those jurisdictions.  
ARTICULATED VEHICLE - See "COMBINATION".  
AUDIT - A physical examination of carrier's record, including source documents, to verify fleet distance and accuracy of record keeping.  Records of the current registration year and previous three completed registration years are subject to audit, and must be maintained.  An audit of a registrant's account may result in a balance due billing or a refund, for any jurisdiction the registrant has listed as an apportioned jurisdiction.  
AVERAGE PER VEHICLE DISTANCE – When a vehicle that DID NOT accrue any actual distance during the reporting period, the base jurisdiction shall assess registration fees for the vehicle based on the average per vehicle distance in each member jurisdiction 
AXLE - An assembly of a vehicle consisting of two or more wheels whose centers are in one horizontal plane by means of which a portion of the weight of a vehicle and its load, if any, is continually transmitted to the roadway.  For purchase of registration, an "axle" is any such assembly, whether or not it is load-bearing only part of the time.  For example, a single unit truck with a steering axle and two axles in a rear-axle assembly is an apportioned vehicle even though one of the rear axles is a so-called "dummy," "drag," "tag," or "pusher-type" axle.  
AXLE WEIGHT - The weight transmitted to the road surface by one axle, or a combination of axles, in a tandem assembly.  
BASE JURISDICTION - The jurisdiction where the registrant has "an established place of business," where distance is accrued by the fleet and where operational records of such fleet are maintained or can be made available.  
BASE PLATE - The plate issued by the base jurisdiction and is the only registration identification plate issued for the vehicle by any member jurisdiction. Base plates shall be identified by having the word "APPORTIONED" and the jurisdiction's name on the plate.  
BOBTAIL INSURANCE - (non-trucking liability insurance) A form of liability insurance which covers a commercial-type vehicle (designed to carry a load) only when such vehicle is empty, such as a cab travelling without a trailer, but not when carrying a load. Bobtail insurance does NOT BY ITSELF satisfy Connecticut's mandatory insurance requirement for commercial vehicles.  This type of insurance is acceptable only in conjunction with other insurance, such that the vehicle and the load are completely covered for operation.   
BUS (BS) - A motor vehicle designed to carry more than 10 passengers, and used for the transportation of persons. A BUS is APPORTIONABLE if it travels a regular route interstate, makes regular stops and each passenger pays to ride.  
CAB CARD - A registration card issued for a vehicle of an apportioned fleet which identifies the specific vehicle, the base jurisdiction of the fleet, the registered weight of the vehicle in each jurisdiction, and the jurisdictions where the vehicle is properly registered.  The CAB CARD is a legal registration for each jurisdiction listed.  
CARRIER - (or MOTOR CARRIER) An individual, partnership, or corporation engaged in the business of transporting persons or property. The IRP REGISTRANT may be the CARRIER, or the REGISTRANT may be leased to a CARRIER, and operate under the US DOT NUMBER in the name of the CARRIER. The following are the types of CARRIER:  
COMMON CARRIER - Any motor carrier which holds itself out to the general public to engage in the transportation by motor vehicle of passengers or property for compensation. 
CONTRACT CARRIER - Any motor carrier transporting persons or property for compensation or hire under contract to a particular person, firm or corporation.  
EXEMPT CARRIER - An individual, partnership, or corporation engaged in the business of transporting exempt goods or persons for compensation.  
PRIVATE CARRIER - A person, firm, or corporation which utilizes its own trucks to transport its own freight.  
CAVR - CANADIAN AGREEMENT FOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION. Canadian provinces in IRP are also members of CAVR, a plan for registering vehicles that travel in two or more Canadian member jurisdictions.  When a Canadian jurisdiction is a member of both plans, the IRP supersedes the CAVR. 
CHARTERED BUS - A motor vehicle used as a limited passenger vehicle exclusively for the conveyance of a person or group of persons to whom or for whose use the vehicle is chartered at a fixed price for the use of the whole vehicle.   
COMBINATION - A power unit used in combination with trailers and/or semi-trailers.  A "combination" vehicle is also called an "articulated" vehicle.  
COMBINATION OF VEHICLES - A power unit used in combination with one or more Trailers, Semi-Trailers, or Auxiliary Axles.  
COMBINED GROSS WEIGHT - Total empty weight of a combination of vehicles plus the total weight of the maximum load carried on that combination of vehicles.  
COMMERCIAL REGISTRATION - In Connecticut, non-IRP COMMERCIAL VEHICLES operated intrastate for the transportation of property are registered with COMMERCIAL plates.   
COMMERCIAL VEHICLE - Any vehicle operated for the transportation of persons or property in furtherance of any commercial or industrial enterprises -- for hire or not for hire.  Vehicles operated for the transportation of persons are structurally designed to carry 10 or more persons.  Vehicles operated for the transportation of property are structurally designed to carry a load.  
COMMISSIONER - The jurisdiction's official in charge of registration of vehicles.  In Connecticut, this official is the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles.  
CONVERTER DOLLY - An auxiliary undercarriage assembly with a fifth wheel and tow bar used to convert a semi-trailer to a full trailer.  (Sometimes called, "CONVERTER GEAR.")  
CONVERTER GEAR - Auxiliary axle undercarriage assembly with a fifth wheel and tow bar used to convert a semi-trailer to a full trailer.  
CREDENTIALS - The plate, and cab card issued by a base state to reflect the apportioned registration of a vehicle, which constitute the legal registration of the vehicle in all jurisdictions listed on the cab card.  
DEADHEAD - To operate a commercial vehicle from one point to another without transporting any type of cargo.  
DISTANCE - Measure of distance which is expressed in the unit "distances" with equivalencies in the unit "kilometers".  
IN-JURISDICTION DISTANCE - The total number of distance operated by a fleet of proportionally registered vehicles in a base jurisdiction during the preceding year.  In those cases where the registrant operated a fleet of proportionally registered vehicles in jurisdictions that require no apportionment and grant reciprocity, Connecticut adds such distance to the Connecticut in-jurisdiction distance. 
TOTAL DISTANCE - The total number of distances operated by a fleet of proportionally registered vehicles in all jurisdictions during the preceding year, including distances operated under IRP trip permits/temporary authorizations.  
DISTANCE REPORTING YEAR - A period of twelve (12) consecutive months immediately prior to the beginning of the registration or license year for which apportioned registration is requested.  Applicants for IRP apportioned registration issuance or renewal must provide the distance per jurisdiction traveled in during this period, and apportioned registration fees are based on the distance percentage in each jurisdiction.  For Connecticut, the DISTANCE REPORTING YEAR is the last completed FISCAL YEAR prior to the registration year beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30.   
DIVISIBLE LOAD - Any load consisting of a product, material or equipment which can be reduced in height, weight, length and/or width to the specified statutory limit.  In Connecticut, overweight permits issued by the Connecticut Department of Transportation for divisible loads are subject to special weight restrictions.  Overweight permits issued for divisible loads are generally restricted to lower weight levels than overweight permits issued for indivisible loads.    
DOUBLE BOTTOM COMBINATION - A COMBINATION of a power unit pulling two (2) semi-trailers or a semi-trailer and a full trailer.  
DUMP TRUCK (DT) - A truck whose contents are unloaded by tilting the truck bed backwards with the tail.  
DUAL PLATE PROGRAM - A Connecticut-specific program developed to allow a vehicle registered in Connecticut as a WRECKER, well driller, crane SPECIAL MOBILE EQUIPMENT, or heavy duty equipment (having a wrecker plate, or a Connecticut intrastate Commercial plate) to be registered in the IRP program with an APPORTIONED plate.   
EMPTY WEIGHT - The weight of a vehicle fully equipped for service, excluding the weight of any load, also called "light weight", "light vehicle weight (LVW)", or "unladened weight."  
EQUIPMENT NUMBER - Arbitrary number assigned by the IRP applicant to each unit in the account (listed on Schedule A/E), which must be unique for each vehicle.  Also called OWNER EQUIPMENT NUMBER (OEN) or Unit Number.  
ESTABLISHED PLACE OF BUSINESS - A physical structure, owned, leased or rented by a registrant, the location of which is designated by street number or road location, and which is open for business and shall be staffed during regular business hours by one or more persons employed by the Applicant or Registrant on a permanent basis (i.e., not an independent contractor) for the purpose of the general management of the Applicant's or Registrant's trucking-related business (i.e., not limited to credentialing, distance and fuel reporting, and answering telephone inquiries). The Applicant or Registrant need not have land line telephone service at the physical structure. Operational Records concerning the Fleet shall be maintained at this physical structure (unless such records are to be made available in accordance with the provisions of the Plan). The Base Jurisdiction may accept information it deems pertinent to verify that an Applicant or Registrant has an Established Place of Business within the Base Jurisdiction.   
EXCEPTION - Means a deviation from the Plan by a Member Jurisdiction, which has been approved by all Member Jurisdictions.  
EXTENSION - A period of time from the expiration date or end of a Grace Period during which Registrants may operate on expired Credentials by reason of the inability of the Base Jurisdiction to provide current Credentials. 
FACTORY LIST PRICE - The manufacturer's retail price, excluding trade-in and sales tax, including accessories or modifications to the vehicle.  Applications for "apportioned" registration must include this price because certain states collect an ad valorem tax as a part of the registration fee.    
FEDERAL HEAVY VEHICLE USE TAX (HVUT) - The tax paid to the US Federal government by all interstate carriers with vehicles having a gross weight of 55,000 lbs. (24,947 kg) or more.  The OWNER of such a vehicle is liable for this tax. Verification of payment of this tax during the current FISCAL YEAR is required for issuance or renewal of an apportioned registration at or above 55,000 lbs.  Verification of tax payment is a receipted form no. IRS-2290 Schedule 1 in owner's name or previous owner's name for the current FISCAL YEAR.  Unreceipted Schedule 1 will be accepted with a photocopy of front and back of cancelled check.  The Schedule 1 must show the VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN), except when the Schedule 1 covers a FLEET of over 21 vehicles.  Vehicles with "suspended" taxes (5,000 miles or less, or 7,500 miles or less for agricultural vehicles) must be listed. Applications for vehicles exempted from the tax must show the reason for exemption by writing "NOT FOR HIGHWAY USE" or "POLITICAL SUBDIVISION", etc.  You are not required to present proof of HVUT payment for any vehicle registered within 60 days of purchase.    
FIFTH WHEEL COUPLER- A device that is mounted on the vehicle chassis and that consists of a skid plate, associated mounting brackets and latching mechanism that couples or connects to a kingpin located on the other vehicle or component.  
FISCAL YEAR - In Connecticut, the fiscal year is the twelve consecutive months beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30 of the following calendar year.  The last completed FISCAL YEAR is the DISTANCE REPORTING YEAR for apportioned registration.  
FLEET - One or more apportionable vehicles registered for operation in the same jurisdictions.  
FULL RECIPROCITY PLAN (FRP)- Implemented in 2015; which cab cards will show all jurisdictions.  Any vehicle registered with IRP can travel through any jurisdiction without requiring a trip permit.
FULL TRAILER - See TRAILER.  
GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT (GVW) - The EMPTY (or light or unladen) WEIGHT plus the weight of the heaviest load to be carried by the vehicle. In the case of a tractor/trailer unit registered at COMBINED GROSS WEIGHT, the weight is the empty weight of the tractor, the empty weight of the trailer, plus the weight of the heaviest load to be carried. "Gross" weight is thus the number of pounds derived by adding the weights on all of the axles of a vehicle or combination of vehicles. The registration fee in most jurisdictions including Connecticut is based on the "gross" weight of vehicle(s) calculated to include the heaviest load.  
GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT RATING (GVWR) - The value specified by the manufacturer as the maximum loaded weight that a single or combination (articulated) vehicle is able to carry.    
HAUL-FOR-HIRE (HH) - A motor carrier engaged in the transportation of passengers or persons as a COMMON, CONTRACT, or EXEMPT CARRIER (see under heading CARRIER).    
HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER - A motor carrier engaged in the "for hire" transportation of "household goods" which are personal effects and property used or to be used in a dwelling when a part of the equipment or supply of such dwelling; furniture, fixtures and equipment of stores, offices, museums, institutions, hospitals or other commercial establishments when a part of the stock, equipment or supply of such stores, offices, museums, institutions, hospitals or other commercial establishments and articles, including objects of art, displays and exhibits which, because of their unusual nature or value, require specialized handling and equipment.  
HUNTER'S PERMIT - 20 day temporary permit issued to an owner/operator who has terminated a lease and has to surrender his apportioned plate/cab card to the carrier; such permit allows the operation of a vehicle or combination on the highways, travelling empty, for the purpose of locating a new job. 
IFTA - INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT.  A cooperative agreement among many states and Canadian provinces to simplify the permitting of, and reporting of fuel use tax by, interstate motor carriers. Under IFTA, a carrier can obtain a single fuel tax license and decals for all qualified vehicles by reporting to the carrier's base jurisdiction the fuel used in all jurisdictions which are IFTA members.  The carrier then makes one payment (or receives one refund) which is the total of all tax due (or total credits) in all jurisdictions.    
INDIVISIBLE LOAD - A vehicle or load which cannot be dismantled, disassembled, or loaded so as to meet the specified statutory limit for height, weight, length and/or width of the subject vehicle.  
IN-JURISDICTION DISTANCE - All of the distance operated during the Reporting Period. 
INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION PLAN (IRP) - An agreement between Connecticut and a number of other JURISDICTIONS for prorating registration fees based on mileage traveled by a fleet in each jurisdiction.  The IRP uses the "single state" and "single credential" concepts, meaning that the registrant applies only to his BASE JURISDICTION to obtain registration CREDENTIALS valid in all IRP JURISDICTIONS traveled in.  
IDENTIFICATION - see CREDENTIALS  
INTER-JURISDICTION MOVEMENT - Vehicle movement between or through two or more Jurisdictions.  
INTRA-JURISDICTION MOVEMENT - Vehicle movement from one point within a Jurisdiction to another point within the same Jurisdiction.  
IRP - See INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION PLAN  
I.V.D.R. - Individual Vehicle Distance Record.  Document completed by the driver of a commercial vehicle for each trip.  This document contains the relevant details of the trip, such as the dates of the trip, origin/destination, total distance, distance in each jurisdiction, etc.  I.V.D.R.'s are source documents from which the distance data required for the IRP program are obtained.   
JURISDICTION - A state, territory or possession of the U.S.A., the District of Columbia, or a province of Canada.  An IRP JURISDICTION is a jurisdiction that is a MEMBER JURISDICTION of the IRP.   
LEASE - A written document vesting exclusive possession of, control of, and responsibility for the operation of the vehicle to the lessee for a specific period of time.  See LONG-TERM LEASE and SHORT-TERM LEASE.  
LESSEE - An individual, partnership or corporation that has the legal possession and control of a vehicle owned by another under the terms of a lease agreement.  
LESSOR - An individual, partnership or corporation that, under the terms of a lease, grants the legal right of possession of, control of, and responsibility for the operations of the vehicle to another individual, partnership or corporation. 
LIENHOLDER - An individual, partnership, or corporation having a "lien" on a piece of property such as a motor vehicle; such "lien" constitutes a legal right to claim or dispose of property in payment of or as security for a debt or charge.  A "lien" on the motor vehicle prevents the sale or disposition of the vehicle until approved by the lienholder.  In Connecticut, the certificate of title, which is required to sell or dispose of a vehicle, is delivered by the Connecticut DMV to the lienholder, who maintains this certificate as security for payment of the debt or charge.  The LIENHOLDER is NOT the OWNER of the motor vehicle.  
LIGHT WEIGHT - See EMPTY WEIGHT  
LONG-TERM LEASE - A lease which covers 30 days or more.  
MEMBER JURISDICTION - A state, territory or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or a province of Canada which are members of the IRP.  
MOBILE HOME TOTER (MT) - See ROAD TRACTOR under the heading TRUCK.  
MOTOR VEHICLE - Power unit, which in the IRP is the TRUCK or the BUS type vehicle, defined under these headings.  Non-powered units are defined under TRAILER.  
ONE-WAY VEHICLES - Trucks of less than 26,000 lbs. (11,800 kg) gross weight operated as part of an identifiable one-way fleet; such vehicles will be allocated and fully plated to the respective jurisdictions based on the fleet mileage factor.    
OPERATIONAL RECORDS - Source documents supporting distances traveled in each jurisdiction and total distance traveled, such as, fuel reports, trip sheets, and logs.  Operational records of the current and previous three (3) registration years must be maintained as they are subject to AUDIT.  
OPERATING AUTHORITY - The authorization of common and contract motor carriers by the US Department of Transportation (which assumed the duties of the former ICC abolished 12/31/95) to operate interstate, upon demonstration by the motor carrier that proper insurance coverage is in effect.  Insurance requirements vary, depending upon whether the carrier is a carrier of freight or passengers; if freight, whether the carrier is a carrier of hazardous commodities, non-hazardous commodities, or exempt commodities; if passengers, whether the vehicle has a seating capacity of 16 or more, or less than 16.    
OVERWEIGHT PERMIT - In Connecticut, the authorization issued by the Connecticut Department of Transportation to operate a vehicle through Connecticut when the weight of the vehicle exceeds statutory limits. These limits vary by AXLE number and WHEELBASE.  All vehicles operating in excess of 80,000 lbs. require an OVERWEIGHT PERMIT for operation in Connecticut.  Similar permits are required when vehicle dimensions exceed statutory limits.  Other jurisdictions may also require such permit authorization for the operation of such vehicles on their highways.  Note the telephone numbers listed for "Jurisdictional Agencies" in the section of this manual so labeled.   
OWNER - An individual, partnership, or corporation (other than a lienholder) holding legal title to a vehicle. For vehicles registered as APPORTIONED, the OWNER and the REGISTRANT need not be the same.   
OWNER EQUIPMENT NUMBER (OEN) - See EQUIPMENT NUMBER.  
OWNER-OPERATOR - Equipment lessor (owner) who leases a vehicle, with driver, to a motor CARRIER. Either the OWNER-OPERATOR or the CARRIER may be the IRP REGISTRANT. 
PRIVATE CARRIER - An individual, partnership, or corporation which utilizes its own trucks to transport its own freight.  
PROPORTION - A part, share, etc., in its relation to the whole.  This term is used synonymously with "apportion" which means to divide and distribute proportionally.  For example, when a carrier in the IRP program pays Connecticut 70% of the full Connecticut Commercial fee because 70% of the distances of the route where in Connecticut, such carrier pays a "prorated" or "apportioned" fee.   
PRORATED - [from the Latin pro rata, "in proportion"] Proportioned or apportioned.  This term is used to describe a fee which is some percentage of a full fee, which percentage may be based on the proportion of total miles or on the proportion of a registration year for which a credential is issued.  For example, a fee 1/2 of the full fee charged for issuance of a registration when only 1/2 of registration year remains is a PRORATED registration fee.  
PURCHASE PRICE - Actual price of the vehicle paid by the current owner, excluding trade-in and sales tax, but including accessories or modifications attached to the vehicle.  See FACTORY LIST PRICE.  
QUAL – Vehicle is properly registered to operate within a particular jurisdiction.  
RECIPROCITY - Reciprocal granting of rights and/or privileges to vehicles properly registered under the IRP and to vehicles not so registered if such vehicles are subject to separate reciprocity agreements, arrangements, declarations, or understandings among or between jurisdictions.   
RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT - An agreement, arrangement or understanding between two or more Jurisdictions under which each of the participating Jurisdictions grants reciprocal rights or privileges to properly registered vehicles that are registered under the laws of other participating Jurisdictions.  
RECREATIONAL VEHICLE - A vehicle designed or converted and used for personal pleasure or travel by an individual or family and not in connection with any commercial endeavor.  
REGISTERED WEIGHT - The maximum weight at which a vehicle or combination may operate within a particular jurisdiction.  
REGISTRANT - An individual, partnership or corporation in whose name a vehicle is properly registered.  For IRP APPORTIONED REGISTRATIONS, the REGISTRANT is the APPLICANT for a registration in whose name or names the vehicle or fleet will be properly registered.  For APPORTIONED REGISTRATION, the REGISTRANT is not necessarily the OWNER of the vehicle nor the CARRIER, but may be OWNER and/or CARRIER.  
REGISTRATION YEAR - The twelve-month period during which the registration plates issued by the base jurisdiction are valid according to the laws of the base jurisdiction.    
RESTRICTED PLATE - Vehicle registration type that has time (less than a registration year), geographic area, distance, or commodity restriction.  There is no definitive list in the IRP, and therefore a particular plate may be subject to interpretation by a jurisdiction as to whether it is "restricted".  
REGISTRATION - For IRP apportioned vehicles, the REGISTRATION is the CAB CARD. 
SEMI-TRAILER - A vehicle without motor power that is designed to be drawn by a motor vehicle and is constructed so that a part of its weight rests upon or is carried by a towing vehicle.   
SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE - One who furnishes facilities and services, including sales, warehousing, motorized equipment and drivers under contract or other arrangements to a carrier for transportation of property by a household-goods carrier.  
SHORT-TERM LEASE - A lease which covers less than 30 days.  
TON – A unit of eight equal to 2,240 pounds.  
TOTAL DISTANCE - Means all distance, including that accrued on Trip Permits, operated by a Fleet of Apportioned Vehicles in all Member Jurisdictions during the Reporting Period.  
TRACTOR - A motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles, but not so constructed as to carry a load other than part of the weight of the vehicle and load so drawn.  
TRAILER - Non-powered vehicle unit, pulled by a power unit to form a COMBINATION OF VEHICLES or ARTICULATED VEHICLE.    
FULL TRAILER (FT) - A vehicle without motive power, designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, and so constructed that no part of its weight rests upon the towing vehicle.  
SEMI-TRAILER (ST) - A vehicle without motive power, designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, and so constructed that some part of its weight and that of its load rests upon or is carried by the towing vehicle.  
UTILITY TRAILER (UT)- A full trailer or semi-trailer, not to exceed 6,000 lbs., constructed solely for the purpose of carrying property.  
TRIP PERMIT - A temporary registration credential for a period of days (commonly 72 hours), intended to cover operation during a single trip, issued by a jurisdiction, in lieu of IRP APPORTIONED REGISTRATION.  If a vehicle is APPORTIONABLE, but is not registered in the IRP program, a TRIP PERMIT is then required for each IRP jurisdiction the vehicle travels in. Or if a vehicle having an APPORTIONED REGISTRATION travels in a jurisdiction not listed on the CAB CARD, a TRIP PERMIT would be required for that jurisdiction. The cost for a TRIP PERMIT, the time period, and whether or not the trip permit is required prior to entry, varies by jurisdiction.  TRIP PERMITS can be obtained from commercial wire services (current list and telephone numbers provided by IRP Section).  
TRUCK -(SINGLE) (TK) - Motor vehicle designed, used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property.   
TRACTOR (TR) - A motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles but not so constructed as to carry a load other than a part of the weight of the vehicles and load so drawn.  
TRUCK TRACTOR (TT) - A motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles but so constructed as to carry a load other than a part of the weight of the vehicle and load so drawn.  
ROAD TRACTOR (RT) (MOBILE HOME TOTER) - Every motor vehicle designed and used for drawing other vehicles and not so constructed as to carry any load thereon either independently or any part of the weight of a vehicle or load so drawn. 
SPECIAL MOBILE EQUIPMENT - Vehicles not designed or used primarily for transportation of persons and property, and only occasionally operated or moved over the highway, e.g., ditch digging equipment, self-propelled cranes, earth-moving equipment.  Movement over the highways is usually restricted to and from construction sites.    
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN) - Identifying numbers and letters assigned UNIQUELY to a vehicle at the time of manufacture for the purpose of identification in titling and registration.  Since 1981 VIN's are 17 (alphanumeric - letters and numbers) characters, and encode make, model, year, country of origin, and certain other specific facts concerning the vehicle.  The last six characters are a numeric serial number identifying a specific vehicle.    
UNLADEN WEIGHT - see EMPTY WEIGHT  
UTILITY TRAILER - see TRAILER  
WHEELBASE - The distance in feet between the first and last axle of a vehicle.  Per Section 14-267a of the Connecticut General Statutes, a 4 axle single unit or tractor semi-trailer requires an OVERWEIGHT PERMIT if over 67,400 lbs., unless the WHEELBASE is not less than 28 feet, in which case the maximum weight without an OVERWEIGHT PERMIT is 73,000 lbs.  
WIRE SERVICES - Commercial operations that issue TRIP PERMITS to carriers upon payment of fee.  They generally accept credit cards and transmit credentials electronically.  A list of current active WIRE SERVICES can be obtained from the IRP Section.  
WRECKER - A vehicle registration which restricts use exclusively to towing or transporting wrecked or disabled motor vehicles for compensation.  A WRECKER may be registered in Connecticut's DUAL PLATE PROGRAM, which would allow other uses (commercial hauls). 
