## ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES FOR PERSONS SEEKING PAWNBROKER, SECONDHAND DEALER AND PRECIOUS METALS AND STONES DEALERS LICENSING

- 1. Complete the Application for Licensing under C.G.S. Chapter 409 (DPS-403-C)
- 2. Applicants are required to complete the appropriate Advisement of Requirements form(s) DPS-404-C1, DPS-405-C1, and DPS-405-C for each license you are applying for.
- 3. Bring the application, the Advisement of Requirements form(s) and any additional pages for the application process to a Notary Public and sign the appropriate forms in the presence of Notary Public.
- 4. Pawnbroker and Secondhand Dealer Application: Applicants, employees, officers, shareholders, financial backers or creditors or any other individual with a relationship to the entity that is similar to that of an officer, shareholder, financial backer or creditor are required to submit to state and national criminal history checks.
- 5. Precious Metal and Stones Dealer Application: Applicants are required to submit to state and national criminal history checks.
- 6. Criminal history checks require the submission of two complete sets of fingerprints, one on State of Connecticut Applicant Card (Green Card) and the second on a FBI Applicant Card (Blue Card). Fingerprinting can be completed at any law enforcement agency, Resident Trooper's Office, a State Police Troop (check with Troop for fingerprint times) or at DESPP Headquarters. Please note, fingerprinting for criminal records checks must be completed by a law enforcement agency. Fingerprints taken by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection are subject to a \$15.00 fee.
- 7. Both fingerprint card for each individual fingerprinted are to be sent with the application to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.
- 8. The following fees will apply;
  - a. Application Licensing or Renewal Fee
    - Pawnbrokers initial fee \$50.00, Pawnbroker Renewal fee \$25.00
      - 1. If such person is also licensed as a Secondhand Dealer for such business the renewal fee and bond is waived only for the Pawnbrokers License.
    - ii. Secondhand Dealer initial fee \$250.00, Secondhand Dealer renewal fee \$100.00
    - iii. Precious Metal or Stones initial fee \$10.00 Precious Metal or Stones renewal fee \$10.00
  - b. FBI Criminal Background Inquiry fee \$16.50, separate check or money order
  - c. State of Connecticut Criminal background Inquiry fee \$50.00, separate check or money order

The application packet must include (3) separate checks or money order for each of the fees listed above under a, b and c. All checks are to be made payable to TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT.

9. The application, advisement of requirements form(s), fingerprint card and checks or money order are to be sent to:

DESPP – Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, 1111 Country Club Road Middletown CT 06457-2389

ATTN: Chapter 409/414 Licensing Section

- 10. Applications for licenses that require the filing of a bond at the time such license is issued will be contacted by the Special Licensing and Firearm Unit.
- 11. Upon issuing a license, SLFU will provide the applicant with a CD containing an EXCEL spreadsheet which will serve as the electronic document for submission of transactions.

Failure to comply with these procedures could result in the delayed processing of you application or renewal. Any questions should be directed to the SLFU Chapter 409/414 Licensing Section at 860-685-8046.