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GUIDELINES FOR PERSONAL USE GILL NET FOR MENHADEN 

LICENSE IN CONNECTICUT 
(Rev. 04/2023) 

 
PERSONAL USE GILL NET LICENSE ............................................................... $100.00 

ALL GILL NETS MUST BE PERSONALLY ATTENDED AT ALL TIMES BY THE 
PERSONAL USE GILL NET LICENSE HOLDER. 
AUTHORIZES THE LICENSEE TO: 
Take menhaden (“bunker”) for personal use, not for sale, from marine waters only, 
by the use of a single tended gill net not more than 60 feet in length. 

LICENSING AND NUMBERING REQUIREMENTS 
A license is required by any person engaged in taking menhaden by use of a gill net. No license is required 
by those who accompany and assist the license holder when setting and tending the gill net, however, the 
license holder must be present whenever the gill net is set or tended.  

Licenses must be carried by the license holder during all times that the holder is engaged in the permitted 
activity. A numbered license plate will be issued with each license and must be displayed from all vessels 
engaged or assisting in use of a gill net.  

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
A daily record of gill netting activity is required on the form provided for this purpose. The completed form 
must be submitted to the DEEP Marine Fisheries Program at the end of the year. A report indicating "did 
not fish" is required if you did not use a gill net during the reporting period.  
Persons failing to report will be prohibited from renewing their license. 
Individually identifiable catch information is confidential and protected by the Connecticut General Statutes 
from disclosure for any reason other than fisheries management, research, development, and conservation 
law enforcement. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR PERSONAL USE GILL NET LICENSE 
1. Personal Use Gill net licenses are issued to the individual identified on the license application and are 

non-transferable. Licenses are valid for a calendar year. 

2. Each Personal Use Gill net license holder is authorized to use a single gill net of not more than 60 feet 
in length to take menhaden from Connecticut marine waters for personal use. 

3. All gill nets must be personally attended at all times by the Personal Use Gill net license holder. 

4. The sale of any catch from the net is prohibited.  

5. The taking of any species other than menhaden from the net is prohibited. 

6. Any vessel used to tend a gill net must display the license plate supplied with the license. Mark the 
end buoys of your gill net with your license plate number.  

7. The minimum mesh size for all gill nets authorized under this license is 3" stretched, when wet after 
use. 

https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP
https://www.facebook.com/CTDEEP/
https://twitter.com/CTDEEPNews
https://www.instagram.com/ct.deep/
https://www.youtube.com/ctdeepvideos
https://www.linkedin.com/company/ctdeep
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR PERSONAL USE GILL NET LICENSE (CONTINUED) 
 
8. Personal-use gill nets may only be used in the marine waters of the State where not otherwise 

prohibited (see prohibited areas below). Demarcation lines between inland and marine districts are 
detailed in the Anglers Guide and the Marine Fisheries Information Circular. Contact the Marine 
Fisheries Program for more information. 

9. Connecticut marine water areas closed to gill nets: 
a) Connecticut River easterly of a straight-line extending northerly from the western tip of Griswold 

Spit to the easterly abutment of the first railroad bridge in the town of Old Lyme (therefore, gill 
nets are prohibited in the Lieutenant, Back and Black Hall rivers, as well); 

b) Darien in the waters north and west of a line drawn from the southeasterly point of Hay Island 
in the town of Darien to the southeasterly point of Indian Rocks and thence to the southeasterly 
point of Great Island, also in Darien; 

c) Fairfield in the waters north of a line drawn from the breakwater on what is known as Long 
Beach to the Penfield Reef lighthouse, and thence along said Penfield Reef to the shore or 
mainland in the town of Fairfield; 

d) Mystic River; 
e) Niantic River above the first railroad crossing; 
f) Pawcatuck River, between sunset on Friday and sunrise on Monday from March twentieth to 

June first; 
g) Thames River above the first railroad crossing. 

10. Placing any fixed net or gear in U. S. Coast Guard marked navigable channels is prohibited. The 
setting of fixed fishing gear is prohibited in mooring areas from May 1st through October 15th, and 
throughout the year in "fairways" if such areas are defined in an approved Harbor Management Plan. 
For the purposes of this regulation, "fairway" is defined as a harbor channel which is not marked by 
USCG channel markers but is designated as a navigation channel in an approved Harbor Management 
Plan, and mooring area is defined as an area in which vessels are commonly moored with permanent 
mooring tackle. Consult local authorities for information on any approved Harbor Management Plans. 
Fixed fishing gear includes gill nets anchored or tied in a fixed position. 

11. This license type is not affected by the commercial fishing license moratorium specified in section 26-
142b of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

For further information, contact: 
DEEP MARINE FISHERIES PROGRAM   (860)434-6043 

      deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov        https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP-FishingLicense 
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