

The Equivalency Examination may be taken as one of the prerequisites for issuing the Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation.

Note: Taking an approved combination boating/personal watercraft/waterskiing course is recommended.

The Equivalency Examination is written for experienced boaters who know the rules and regulations for safe boating on all Connecticut waters. The examination covers general information and safety topics, including, but not limited to:

- 1. Registration
- 2. Certification
- 3. Towing
- 4. Anchoring
- 5. PFD requirements and fit
- 6. Visual Distress equipment
- 7. Fire prevention

- 8. Sound signals
- 9. Carbon monoxide
- 10. Hypothermia
- 11. Boating Under the Influence
- 12. Aquatic Nuisances Species
- 13. Rules of the nautical road

- 14. Safety equipment
- 15. Aids to navigation
- 16. Speed regulations
- 17. Age restrictions
- 18. Water sports
- 19. Operation of all recreation vessels
- * Most, but not all, of the questions are covered in the CT Boater's Guide which can be picked up at your local town hall, DMV offices, local DEEP offices, and public libraries or downloaded from the internet at https://portal.ct.gov/deep/boating/boating-and-paddling

Additional details about the exam

- * The Exam covers all aspects of a basic boating/personal watercraft/waterskiing course.
- * A score of 80% or better is required to pass. A score of 78% or below is a failing score and the examinee would then be required to take an eight (8) hour course that is approved by the State of Connecticut and the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
- * The equivalency exam may only be taken once.

Test dates, time and location

Virtual examinations will be through Zoom and in-person examinations will be at Marine Headquarters in Old Lyme, CT. Exams begin promptly at 8:30am EDT.

3 Conservation ID number

You must have a Conservation ID Number before taking the exam. If you do not have a Conservation ID Number, you can create one (free of charge) at: https://ct.aspirafocus.com/internetsales/

Fees

- * \$75.00 to take the Equivalency Exam (check or money order made payable to the "DEEP" mailed to DEEP Boating Division, P.O. Box 280, Old Lyme, CT 06371, attention Gwendolynn Flynn. NO CASH OR CREDIT CARD IS ACCEPTED VIA MAIL. The exam fee must be received 1 week before the exam date.
- * A \$50.00 fee for the Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation is to be paid online after successful completion of the exam.

If you have additional questions, email deep.boating@ct.gov or call 860-434-8638