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Operations Memo 2023-08 

 

To: Purchase of Service Contracted Private Providers 

 

From:  Sean Bannon, Operations Center Director 

 

CC: Jordan Scheff, Commissioner, Elisa Velardo, Deputy Commissioner, Katie Rock-Burns, Chief of 

Staff, Scott McWilliams, Chief of Fiscal/Administrative Services, Regional Directors, Private ARDs,  

Resource Administrators, The Alliance, The ARC CT 

 

Date: September 9, 2022 

 

RE: FY2022 Financial Reporting Requirements 

 

All residential, day and/or clinical support providers that expended financial compensation from the 

Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and/or other state agencies equal to or in excess of one 

hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) during the 2022 fiscal year are subject to financial reporting 

requirements. The following is a guideline on which reports must be completed and the timeline for 

submission.  

 

Financial Audit Requirements  

Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand 

dollars ($100,000) must submit one of the following:  

 

• Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred 

thousand dollars ($100,000) but less than three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) in FY2022 are 

required to submit a report completed by a Certified Public Accountant detailing the provider’s 

compliance with the standard DDS Agreed upon Procedures. Providers must submit the report no 

later than December 31, 2022.  

• Non-Profit providers with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars 

($300,000) or more paid by any combination of a fiscal intermediary, a purchase of service contract 

for supports authorized by the Department of Developmental Services and all other revenue funded 

by State of Connecticut agencies shall submit a single audit for the fiscal year in accordance with the 

State Single Audit Act (Sections 4-230 through 4-236 of the Connecticut General Statutes). The State 

Single Audit Reports are due to the Office of Policy and Management (OPM), who is the cognizant 

agency for DDS. Providers must electronically submit the report by December 31, 2022 for the fiscal 

year ended June 30, 2022, unless an exemption or extension was granted by OPM.  
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• For-Profit providers (including LLC’s, Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, S-Corporations, and C 

corporations) with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or 

more by a fiscal intermediary and/or a purchase of service contract for supports authorized by the 

Department of Developmental Services must submit a financial audit for the fiscal year July 1, 2021 

– June 30, 2022 along with a management letter and audit recommendations. The audit must be 

submitted to the Operations Center at DDS Central Office by December 31, 2022. Financial audits 

for a time period other than the State of Connecticut fiscal year must receive prior approval from the 

Operations Center.  

 

Financial Reporting Requirement:  

Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand 

dollars ($100,000) must submit one of the following:  

 

• A provider that received a total financial compensation for supports authorized by the Department of 

Developmental Services in FY2022 of more than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and the 

financial compensation from the Purchase of Service contract was less than three hundred thousand 

dollars ($300,000) shall prepare and deliver an End of Year Expense Report for fiscal year July 1, 

2021 - June 30, 2022. The End of the Year Expense Report can be found on the DDS Website. The 

report must be electronically filed no later than 4:00 p.m. on October 15, 2022 to your assigned 

Operation Center provider specialist.  

• A provider that received financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or 

more through a purchase of service contract is required to file the 2022 Annual Report of Residential 

and Day Services for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2022. The report must be uploaded to the Myers 

and Stauffer website no later than 4:00 p.m. on October 15, 2022.  

 

Annual Report Requirements:  

Providers that are required to submit the FY2022 Annual Report of Residential and Day Services must 

submit one of the following:  

 

• For-Profit (including LLC’s, Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, S-Corporations, and C corporations) 

providers are required to submit an Annual Report that has been certified by a Certified Public 

Accountant.  

• Non-Profit providers are required to submit a Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual 

Report of Residential and Day Services. The Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual 

Report of Residential and Day Services is included in the 2022 Annual Report download. The 

reconciliation assures the State of Connecticut that the expenses reported in the Annual Report are 

based on the audited costs reported in the Financial Statements. The reconciliation must be 

electronically submitted no later than December 31, 2022.  

 

If the Annual Report is filed late, Regulation Sec. 17-313b-4 notes that for each day that the ACOR (Annual 

Report of Residential and Day Services) is not filed, a penalty shall be assessed. The Commissioner may 

approve a request for an extension to the filing date only if he deems that extraordinary circumstances will 

prevent the timely filing of the Cost Report. The request for an extension should be sent to the attention of 

Commissioner Scheff in writing prior to October 15, 2022. It is recommended that the request be submitted 



   
 

   
 

as soon as the extraordinary circumstances are identified. Approved annual report submission extensions will 

be effective no earlier than the date the request was received by the department.  

 

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Purchase of Service Contract That Received 

Financial Compensation less than $100,000   

An agency with a Purchase of Service contract that received financial compensation less than $100,000 is 

required to file an End of Year Expense Report for fiscal year July 1, 2021-June 30, 2022 to your assigned 

provider specialist no later than October 15, 2022.  

 

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Total Financial Reimbursement of Less Than 

$100,000 by a Fiscal Intermediary  

None.  

 

Executive Director Maximum Salary Reimbursement  

PA No. 22-140, Sec. 7 (Exec. Director Salary Cap) has increased. The FY2022 maximum allowable salary 

reimbursement by DDS for the executive director of an agency is $125,000.  

 

Related Party Disclosure:  

The provider shall comply with the related party disclosure and reporting requirements established by the 

department. “Related Parties” means persons or organizations related through marriage, ability to control, 

ownership, family or business association. Past exercise or influence or control need not be shown, only the 

potential or ability to directly or indirectly exercise influence or control. Whenever costs are incurred 

between related parties, allowable costs shall be defined as and limited to the cost to the related party. The 

related party principle applies to any transaction between a provider and a related party, including but not 

limited to one time or multiple transactions involving services or supplies and one time sales or lease of the 

facility itself. Related party transactions must be identified as such in the Annual Report or the Attachment D 

and the unallowable portion excluded in the appropriate section of the cost report. All Related Party 

transactions must be approved by the DDS Ethics Committee on a yearly basis. Transactions over $2,500 

must receive approval from the Ethics Committee before the cost is incurred. Reporting related party 

transactions on the annual report does not replace the need to submit a request for prior approval from DDS 

in conformance to the DDS Ethics Protocols.  

 

Adherence to the OPM Cost Standards  

Providers are to report costs based on the OPM costs standards. The standards define and enumerate 

allowable and unallowable costs, including Administrative and General (A&G) costs, and require 

documentation of all allowable administrative costs in a formal cost allocation plan. Here is the link to the 

Cost Standards: http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2981&Q=382994&opmNav_GID=1806  

 

Administrative Vehicle Limit  

The DDS limit for the vehicle lease/loan/rental payment of each administrative vehicle is $4,800 per year. 

The limit applies to the annual payment for the acquisition of the vehicle exclusive of gas and maintenance 

costs. Costs over the $4,800 limit are disallowed and no exceptions will be granted. 
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