# **Trainee Registration Process**

### **Prerequisites:**

- When employee apprentice registration is requested for an area of the trade
  which is not available through the Connecticut Department of Labor, said
  contractor shall make his/her request for a trainee registration to the Connecticut
  Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) and obtain such prior to the
  employment of the employee.
- See Connecticut general Statutes Sec. 20-334. License or card of registration.
- No person that has been issued an apprentice or trainee registration shall at any
  time engage in any work for which a license is required without direct supervision
  by a properly licensed person. Direct supervision shall mean in the presence
  and/or hearing distance of said licensed person and not exceeding one
  apprentice or trainee to each person on such work site.

### **Application Required Documentation:**

- Attach your in house employer training program outline including content of work related duties and hours for on the job training which shall be followed by such employee trainee. Credit shall be based on a 40 hour work week and will not exceed 2000 hours a calendar year.
- Attach your in-house employer training program outline including content and hours for related instruction training which shall be followed by such employee trainee.
- Attach reference material used for related instruction.
- Attach list of all licensed persons and license numbers and type(s) that are available to supervise and train such applicant.

#### **Applications and Forms:**

Trainee Application (click here)

### Approvable areas by license type for a DCP trainee registration program.

### Limited conveyor journeyperson's license (R-8) ANSI B-20

On the job training hours – 2000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course
OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour)
Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

### Limited hoist, cranes and lifts journeyperson's license (R-10) ANSI B-30

On the job training hours – 2000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour) Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

# Limited sheet metal journeyperson hood systems (SM-6)

On the job training hours – 2000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 30 course Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

### Limited heating cooling journeyperson's license (VT-2) Valve Tech

On the job training hours – 6000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour) Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

### Limited heating cooling journeyperson's license (MT-2) Machinist Tech

On the job training hours – 6000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour) Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

### Limited heating cooling journeyperson's license (HPG-2) Gas Hearth

On the job training hours – 1000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour) Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

### Limited process piping journeyperson license (PP-2) Food grade

On the job training hours – 2000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour) Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

# Limited heating piping and cooling journeyperson license (G-2) LP or natural gas.

On the job training hours – 1000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

### Limited electrical sign journeyperson's license (C-8)

On the job training hours – 2000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 30 course OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour) Trade specific course not less than 40 hour

#### Limited welding journeyperson license (G-8)

On the job training hours – 1000

Minimum Related Instruction

OSHA 10 course
OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour)
Trade specific course not less than 40 hour
Welder qualifications proof
Pre-and post-weld heat treatment process

Trainee shall have obtained one of the following welder qualifications for completion of the training period:

A. 6" dia. Schedule 40 – Schedule 120, A53 carbon steel pipe, open root in 6G position, 37 ½ degree bevel, using the SMAW process (Root: E-6010, Fill: E-7018)

#### <u>or</u>

B. 2 in. - 6 in. dia. Schedule 40 - Schedule 180, A53 carbon steel pipe, open root in 6G position,  $37 \frac{1}{2}$  degree bevel, using the GTAW process (Root: E705-2, Fill: E70-5-2) or (Root: E705-2, Fill: E-7018) to all requirements of Section IX of the ASME Boiler Code.

Note: CRES 304, 308 and 309 (stainless) may be substituted for (B) with matching weld wire to ASME Boiler Code, Section IX.

Certified welding certificate procedure must be performed and certified in the presence of an AWS certified inspector.