STATE OF CONNECTICUT                                                    May 25, 2006
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION

Occupational & Professional Licensing Division

165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut  06106

AUTOMOTIVE GLASS WORK AND FLAT GLASS WORK LICENSE TYPES:
In accordance with Connecticut General Statute Chapter 393 Sections 20-330 through 20-341, all persons engaged in flat glass and automotive glass work must be licensed.  The following is information regarding licensure and penalties for failure to comply.
FG-1 – (Unlimited Contractor’s license for Flat Glass Work)
The holder of this license may perform the installation, maintenance, or repair of flat glass in residential or commercial structures. An Unlimited Contractor's License for flat glass work may be issued to any person who has served as a Journeyperson in the Flat Glass Work trade for not less than two years and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade by successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination.

Application fee:
$75.00
Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp  Examination Information web site: www.psiexams.com
FG-2 – (Unlimited Journeyperson’s License for Flat Glass Work)
The holder of this license may perform the installation, maintenance, or repair of flat glass in residential or commercial structures. An Unlimited Journeyperson's License may be issued to any person who has completed a bona fide apprenticeship program, including not less than three years' experience in the Flat Glass Work trade and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade by successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination.

Application fee:
$45.00

Applications web site: www.ct.gov/dcp   Examination web site: www.psiexams.com
AG-1 – (Unlimited Contractor’s license for Automotive Glass Work)

"Automotive glass work" means installing, maintaining or repairing fixed glass in motor vehicles. An Unlimited Contractor's License for Automotive Glass Work may be issued to any person who has served as a Journeyperson in the Automotive Glass Work trade for not less than two years.

The holder of this license may install, maintain, or repair fixed glass in motor vehicles.
Application fee:
$75.00

Applications web site: www.ct.gov/dcp Examination web site: www.psiexams.com
AG-2 – (Unlimited Journeyperson’s License for Automotive Glass Work) 
"Automotive glass work" means installing, maintaining or repairing fixed glass in motor vehicles. An Unlimited Journeyperson's License may be issued to any person who has completed a bona fide apprenticeship program, including not less than one year experience in the Automotive Glass Work trade and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade by successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination.
Application fee:
$45.00

Applications web site: www.ct.gov/dcp    Examination web site: www.psiexams.com
Journeyperson Applicants’ must submit a “Letter of Apprenticeship Completion” obtained from the State of Connecticut, Department of Labor with their application for the Unlimited Journeyperson’ License for License Types AG-2 and FG-2 types.

Connecticut Department of Labor

Office of Apprenticeship Training

200 Folly Brook Boulevard

Wethersfield, CT.  06109-1114

Telephone:
(860) 263-6085

Facsimile:
(860) 263-6088

Website:
http://www.ctapprenticeship.com
Limited Auto glass repair license types 
The following limited Auto Glass Repair License types may be issued by the Commissioner of Consumer Protection for a durational period of time and limited Repair scope of work provided that such applicant for licensure has experience and related instruction that the Commissioner deems necessary for the effective enforcement of Public Act. 01-66; and until an examination is created using the A.N.S.I. Standards of practice for auto glass repair, and /or other reference’s the Commissioner deems necessary to qualify such person to be issued a Auto Glass Repair journeyperson or contractor type license.

Limited Auto glass Repair Contractor (AG-3)
The holder of this license may perform work limited to the repair of damage occurring in laminated glass in compliance with the conditions set forth in the Connecticut Automotive Glass Standards of Practice section titled: Windshield Repair. A Limited Auto glass Repair Contractor license may be issued to any person who has served as a Journeyperson in the Automotive Glass Work trade for not less than two years and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade by successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination.

.

  All repairs may be made, but not more than five (5) in total, which do not exceed the following conditions:

Do not exceed the following repair conditions:

1. The impact point is not larger than 3/8” 

2. Individual impact damage (not classified as “Combination Break”) is not larger than 1” (or just slightly larger than a U.S. quarter) 

3. A combination break has cracks of less than 6” and the entire damage area can be completely covered by a U.S. $1 bill 

4. Crack damage is not caused by “stress” 

5. No more then one repair, not larger than 3/8” is permitted inside the acute area which is defined as “within the area covered by the sweep of the driver’s side wiper originally provided by the manufacturer or in the case of one original wiper provided by the manufacturer, the driver’s side half of the windshield” 

Limited Repair Journeyperson (AG-4). 

The holder of this license may perform work limited to the repair of damage occurring in laminated glass in compliance with the conditions set forth in the Connecticut Automotive Glass Standards of Practice section titled: Windshield Repair and only while under the direct employ of a properly licensed Contractor for such work.

The requirements to qualify for this limited license exam shall be the completion of a Department approved training program or equivalent experience and training as determined and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade by successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination.

.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:

Q: If a repair shop installs its own windshields in its salvage vehicles that it is rebuilding, regardless of whether or not the work is for a customer, is a license required?

A. Yes.  An AG-1 licensee (contractor) with employees that hold an AG-2 license (journeyperson) is required. 

Q. If a used car dealer installs windshields in some of its used vehicles that are offered for sale, is a license required?

A.  Yes.  An AG-1 licensee with employees that hold an AG-2 license is required.

Glass Repair licenses types AG-3 (contractor) with employees that hold an AG-4 (journeyperson) are limited to repair work only and not replacement. Should the repair work lead to replacement, then an AG-1 with employees that hold an AG-2 license is required. 

Individuals holding an AG-1 license with employees that hold an AG-2 license are legally able to perform repair work.   Repair work is within the scope of allowable work as defined within their license type(s).

Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 393 

 Sec. 20-334. License or card of registration. Requirements. Suspension or revocation. 

(a) No person shall engage in, practice or offer to perform the work of any occupation subject to this chapter in this state unless such person has first obtained a license as provided in section 20-333, or possesses a card of registration from the Labor Department or the board and is subject to all of the regulations adopted under this chapter for the purpose of governing apprenticeship training, or has been issued a license for such particular work under this chapter prior to July 6, 1967.

(b) The Department of Consumer Protection shall furnish to each qualified applicant a license certifying that the holder thereof is entitled to engage in the work or occupation for which the person has been issued a license under this chapter, and the holder of such license shall carry it on his person while engaging in such work or occupation. Such license shall be shown to any properly interested person on request. No such license shall be transferred to or used by any person other than the person to whom the license was issued. Contractors shall display their state license number on all commercial vehicles used in their business and shall display such number in a conspicuous manner on all printed advertisements, bid proposals, contracts, invoices and on all stationery used in their business. The department shall keep a register in which shall be entered the names of all persons to whom such licenses are issued. The register shall be at all times open to public inspection.

(c) Each board established under section 20-331 may suspend or revoke any license or certificate granted or issued by it under this chapter if the holder of such license or certificate is convicted of a felony, is grossly incompetent, engages in malpractice or unethical conduct or knowingly makes false, misleading or deceptive representations regarding his work or violates the regulations adopted under this chapter. Before any such license is suspended or revoked, such holder shall be given notice and opportunity for hearing as provided in regulations adopted by the Commissioner of Consumer Protection. Any person whose license has been suspended or revoked may, after ninety days, apply to the board to have such license reinstated.
Sec. 20-341. Penalties for violations.
The appropriate examining board may, after notice and hearing, impose a civil penalty on any person who engages in or practices the work or occupation for which a license or apprentice registration certificate is required by this chapter, Chapter 394 or Chapter 482 without having first obtained such a certificate or license, or who willfully employs or supplies for employment a person who does not have such a license or certificate or who willfully and falsely pretends to qualify to engage in or practice such work or occupation, or who engages in or practices any of the work or occupations for which a license or certificate is required by this chapter, Chapter 394 or Chapter 482 after the expiration of the license or certificate or who violates any of the provisions of this chapter, Chapter 394 or Chapter 482 or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Such penalty shall be in an amount not more than one thousand dollars for a first violation of this subsection, not more than one thousand five hundred dollars for a second violation and not more than three thousand dollars for each violation of this subsection occurring less than three years after a second or subsequent violation of this subsection, except that any individual employed as an apprentice but improperly registered shall not be penalized for a first offense.

ALL CONTRACTOR LICENSE TYPES NOTE: No such license shall be transferred to or used by any person other than the person to whom the license was issued. Contractors shall display their state license number on all commercial vehicles used in their business and shall display such number in a conspicuous manner on all printed advertisements, bid proposals, contracts, invoices and on all stationery used in their business.

Finally, to confirm whether or not an individual holds the proper credentials for the flat glass work and automotive glass work they are performing, a consumer can access the following website for this information 

http://www.ct.gov/dcp                     or e-mail:  occprotrades@ct.gov
If you have any questions or need further clarification on any of these issues, please feel free to call our office anytime.

Department of Consumer Protection                                        contact;  Robert Kuzmich
Occupational & Professional Licensing Division
165 Capitol Ave. Room 110 Hartford, CT. 06106                     Phone: 860-713-6145  FAX#: 860-713-7230
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