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TO: ALL  COMPANIES LICENSED IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT TO 

WRITE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION AND EMPLOYERS LIABILITY 
INSURANCE. 

 
RE: USE OF DEDUCTIBLES FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE 
 
 
Workers’ Compensation and Employers’ Liability insurance filings involving deductibles 
are permitted by §31-345a of the Connecticut General Statutes. Bulletin PC-49 updates 
standards formerly included in Bulletin RD-18, dated April 17, 1989. The standards to be 
followed are: 
 

1. Claim Payments 
 
The insurer must pay the claim in full and seek reimbursement of the deductible 
amount from the employer.  The deductible program form filing shall be 
accompanied by a certified statement, signed by an officer of the insurance 
company, that it will comply with this requirement. 

 
2. Deductible Limit 

 
The National Council on Compensation Insurance program filed on behalf of 
member insurance companies includes deductible limits up to $10,000.  For large 
deductible limits of $15,000 or more, each insurance company must file its 
deductible forms and endorsements. Large deductible rating plans are not 
required to be filed for approval by the Insurance Department.  The company 
must maintain records of the large deductible rating plan and records supporting 
the rating of individual employers under the large deductible rating plan.  The 
records must be available on request for review by or submission to the 
Department. 

 
3. Assessments for the Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Administration Fund 

 
All Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Administration Fund assessments must 
be paid based on the total claim amounts including the deductible portion of 
losses.  The insurer may then seek reimbursement from the employer for the 
portion related to the deductible obligation. 



 
4. Assessments for Workers’ Compensation Second Injury Fund 

 
Insurers shall collect and remit assessments to the Office of the Treasurer in 
accordance with the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, Section 31-
349g-1 through 31-349g-9. 

 
5. Financial Reporting – Reconciliation 

 
Annual statement loss data (Page 15) shall be reported net of the deductible 
portion. 

 
6. Statistics and Experience Rating 

 
Insurance companies must comply with procedures for the filing of statistical 
data with the National Council on Compensation Insurance and the calculation of 
experience rating modifications. 

 
7. Collateral for Deductible 

 
The insurer must make provision to have the deductible amounts secured by 
collateral by the insured, in order to have those amounts covered by the 
deductible declared as an admitted asset. 
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