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NOTE: The following guidelines supersede the November 9, 2009 edition of the Filing Review 
Guidelines Related to Underwriting Coastal Homeowners Insurance Policies.  Insurance companies 
are advised to distribute these revised guidelines to all areas of the company involved with matters 
related to underwriting homeowners business. 

On January 23, 2007, the Insurance Department (the “Department”) released  guidance to the 
industry regarding the Insurance Department’s  review of Underwriting Guidelines Related to 
Coastal Homeowners Insurance Policies (the “2007 Guidelines”)1  required by Conn. Gen. Stat. 
Section 38a-689.  Those Guidelines were later modified in 2008 and 2009.  In the aftermath of 
Tropical Storm Irene in 2011, these revised Guidelines are intended to clarify and provide direction 
to the insurance industry that the Department will only allow hurricane deductibles to be imposed 
with respect to losses due to a hurricane occurring anywhere in the State of Connecticut as reported 
by the National Weather Service of which the National Hurricane Center is a part, or its successor 
(collectively referred to herein as the “NWS”) when such hurricane results in maximum sustained 
surface winds of 74 miles per hour or more anywhere in the State of Connecticut.  Such hurricane 
deductibles may be applied only during the period commencing with the issuance of a hurricane 
warning bulletin for any part of the state by the NWS and concluding the earlier of: (i) 24 hours 
following termination of the last hurricane warning issued for any part of Connecticut by the NWS; 
or (ii) 24 hours after the hurricane is downgraded from a hurricane by the NWS for any part of 
Connecticut.   

    
I. New Business Over 2,600 feet of the Coast.  With respect to “New Business” over 

2,600 feet of the coast, the 2007 Guidelines provide that an insurer may impose both a hurricane 
deductible (not to exceed 2%) and reasonable windstorm mitigation requirements for protection of 
the insured’s dwelling.  Since publication of the 2007 Guidelines, the Department has found that 
substantially all companies have imposed either an actuarially justified hurricane deductible or a 
requirement to undertake windstorm shutter mitigation, including the use of pre-cut, pre-drilled 
plywood for window protection for properties located over 2,600 feet of the coast.   As a result, the 
Department wishes to advise insurers that company underwriting guidelines for New Business over 
2,600 feet of the coast may no longer impose both a hurricane deductible and reasonable windstorm 
mitigation requirements for protection of the insured’s dwelling.  The company shall permit the 
insured to choose either: (i) a hurricane deductible (not to exceed 2%); or (ii) reasonable windstorm 

                                                 
1 The 2007 Guidelines and amendments to those Guidelines can be found on the Department’s website at: 
http://www.ct.gov/cid/cwp/view.asp?a=1271&Q=427680   
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mitigation requirements for protection of the insured’s dwelling.  Underwriting Guidelines for 
properties located within 2,600 feet of the coast may continue to impose both a hurricane deductible 
and reasonable shutter mitigation requirements in accordance with the 2007 Guidelines.  
 
 II. Hurricane Deductibles and Hurricane Duration Language.  The Department’s 
2009 Guidelines, defined “hurricane” by reference to the declaration by the NWS of a category 1-5 
hurricane.  All weather-related terminology used in these Guidelines is as defined by the NWS.  
Currently, a hurricane is defined as a tropical cyclone in which the maximum sustained surface wind 
is 74 miles per hour or more.  The Department wishes to make clear that hurricane deductibles 
allowed pursuant to these Guidelines may be applied only to losses due to a hurricane occurring 
anywhere in the State of Connecticut as reported by the NWS when such hurricane results in 
maximum sustained surface winds of 74 miles per hour or more anywhere in the State of Connecticut 
and for the durational timeframe set forth below. 
 
Homeowners Hurricane Deductibles: 
 
In light of the above definition, carriers may not apply mandatory or optional hurricane deductibles 
over a broad category of wind-related events but may include hurricane deductibles separate from 
any overall policy deductible provided that: 

 
o the hurricane deductible is applied only to losses due to a hurricane occurring 

anywhere in the State of Connecticut as reported by the NWS when such hurricane 
results in maximum sustained surface winds of 74 miles per hour or more anywhere 
in the State of Connecticut and for the durational timeframe set forth below; 

o the hurricane deductible is specifically identified and prominently highlighted on the 
declarations page of the policy; 

o when issuing a new policy or renewing a policy that previously did not have a 
separate hurricane deductible, the company must notify the policyholder in writing of 
the new hurricane deductible amount; 

o the policy reflects a premium credit associated with the reduced coverage resulting 
from the imposition of a hurricane deductible; and 

o if the hurricane deductible is not a flat dollar amount but rather a percentage of the 
covered value of the property, the declarations page of the policy must set forth the 
calculation of the dollar equivalent of the hurricane deductible and be prominently 
highlighted. 

 
Homeowners Hurricane Deductible Duration: 
 
In order to provide direction and consistency around the use of hurricane deductibles, the Department 
is setting the following timeframe as to when a hurricane deductible may be imposed in the State of 
Connecticut:  

 
When the Hurricane Deductible begins: 
Commencing with the issuance of a hurricane warning by the NWS for anywhere in the State 
of Connecticut.   
 
When the Hurricane Deductible ends: 
Ending the earlier of: (i) 24 hours following termination of the last hurricane warning issued 
for any part of Connecticut by the NWS; or (ii) 24 hours after the hurricane is downgraded from 
a hurricane by the NWS for any part of Connecticut. 
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III. Shutter Mitigation Requirements.  Since the 2007 Guidelines were published, 
the Department has found that, in general, underwriting guidelines submitted by insurers allow 
for a range of shutter mitigation options including plywood shutters.  However, the Department 
is also hearing of instances where companies are being inflexible in allowing alternatives to 
plywood, even when the alternative may be considered better than the plywood shutters; for 
example, flexible wind abatement screen systems, fabric pull-down shutters and fabric panel 
systems.  There are pros and cons to each of these products as described in the materials 
developed by the Institute for Business and Home Safety (“IBHS”).  This information can be 
found on the IBHS website located at: www.disastersafety.org/main.asp?id=1102 (select 
“Shutter Guide” under “Additional Resources”).  Therefore, in order to address shutter 
technology mitigation developments in this area, the Department would like to provide the 
following information: 

 
a.  New and Renewal Business.  The 2007 Guidelines provide that the Department 

requires insurers to allow homeowners to use any number of IBHS recommended window 
protection measures, such as plywood shutters, to help protect against loss.  The Department 
originally settled on the pre-cut pre-drilled plywood as a “minimum” standard as IBHS had 
determined that plywood would provide sufficient protection to a structure if installed correctly.  
To provide further direction in this area, the Department is hereby notifying insurers that they 
must accept shutter protection systems that meet or exceed any of the testing standards set forth 
below.  Many of the mitigation systems outlined by IBHS meet or exceed these standards as 
well.  In the event the Department finds that an insurer is declining to waive the deductible 
requirement on new or renewal business due to the type of window protection mitigation product 
that a consumer intends to use, the Department will take necessary and appropriate enforcement 
action against such insurer.     

 
Storm shutters which meet the following tests and procedures are deemed by the 

Department to be acceptable means of hurricane mitigation: 
 

*ASTM E 1886 
ASTM E 1996 

 
* ASTM: American Society for Testing 
& Materials International 
 

**TAS 201 
    TAS 202 
    TAS 203 

**TAS: Florida Building Code’s Test Protocol 
for HVHZ (High Velocity Hurricane Zone) 

  
In addition to the above, companies are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the 

2003 International Residential Code portion of the 2005 State Building code, State of 
Connecticut.  Part III Building Planning and Construction, Chapter 3 Section R 301.2.1.2 states 
that “Internal Pressure-Windows in buildings located in windborne debris regions shall have 
glazed openings protected from windborne debris…..Glazed opening protection for windborne 
debris shall meet the requirements of the Large Missile test of ASTM E 1996 and of ASTME E 
1886 referenced therein”.  

 
b.  Options and Resources.   Plywood shutters are not the only acceptable storm 

mitigation method—insureds need to be offered options concerning the specific type of shutters 
allowed by an insurer in accordance with its homeowners underwriting guidelines. 

 



The Department does not recommend or endorse a particular type of window mitigation 
product but would like consumers to know that there are various materials that can be used, each one 
having its advantages and disadvantages.  In order to help insurers and consumers better decide the 
types of mitigation methods that can be used to protect structures, please see the information links at 
the bottom of this page.2   
 

 
IV. Mandatory Wind or Wind or Hail Deductibles.  The Department would also ask 

the company to re-familiarize themselves with the Department’s study entitled A Report on the 
Availability of Homeowners Insurance along the Connecticut Coastline dated December 5, 2006.  
With the publication of that report, the Department changed its position on the use of mandatory 
wind, wind/hail deductibles and advised it would only allow the industry to use a “hurricane 
deductible” for new and renewal business for losses due to a hurricane occurring anywhere in the 
State of Connecticut as reported by the NWS.  The Department expected, with this publication, that 
any company using a mandatory wind or wind and hail deductible would convert the homeowner 
policy at renewal to a hurricane deductible or offer the insured the option of accepting either the wind 
deductible or a hurricane deductible.  If a company chose the latter option, they would be expected to 
show the insured the differences between the two deductible options so an informed decision could 
be made by the insured.  

 
 
V. Resubmissions; Force and Effect of 2007 Guidelines.  Insurers are not required to 

resubmit their homeowners underwriting guidelines to the extent they comply with the matters set 
forth in this notice.  In addition, the 2007 Guidelines as amended will continue in force and effect 
except to the extent they are inconsistent with this Notice.  The Department requests that companies 
operate in the spirit of these revised Guidelines as of the date of this Notice and seek to file the 
changes to their homeowners underwriting guidelines and hurricane deductible policy forms to 
comply with this Notice on or before March 1, 2012. 

 
 
 
 
 

      
  Thomas B. Leonardi 

     Insurance Commissioner 

                                                 
2    http://www.fema.gov/plan/prevent/howto 
 

  http://www.fema.gov/library/viewRecord.do?id=2102 
 

  http://www.scseagrant.org/oldsite/text_version/pubs/library_extbull_shutter.htm 
 

      http://www.scseagrant.org/pdf_files/window_door.pdf 
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