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TO:	 All Insurance Companies, Fraternal Benefit Societies and Health Care 
Centers Authorized to Conduct Business in Connecticut 

RE:	 Penalties for Late Filing of Annual and Quarterly Financial Statements to be 
Filed with the Insurance Department 

This Bulletin amends and supersedes Bulletin FS-16-08 dated October 21, 
2008. 

These requirements are currently effective for all quarterly statement filings. 

Sections 38a-53(e) and 38a-614(a)(8) of the Connecticut General Statutes , 
impose monetary penalties on any insurance company, fraternal benefit society or 
health care center licensed in Connecticut which fails to file with the Insurance 
Commissioner ("Commissioner") its annual statement or quarterly statement in a 
timely manner. In addition, Conn. Gen. Stat. Sections 38a-53a and 38a-614(a)(1) , 
require the statements to be complete and filed electronically with the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners ("NAIC"). Domestic companies and 
fraternals that file on time with the NAIC must continue to submit paper copies of 
the filings to the Commissioner; foreign companies and fraternals submitting timely 
filings electronically to the NAIC are not required to provide paper copies to the 
Commissioner. 

Section 38a-53(e) provides that any insurance company or health care 
center which fails to file its annual statement by the first of March of each year, or 
its quarterly statement by forty-five days after the end of each quarter, shall pay a 
late filing fee of one hundred seventy five dollars ($175) per day for each day the 
statement remains outstanding after its due date . 

Section 38a-614(a)(8) provides that any fraternal benefit society which fails 
to file its annual statement by the first of March of each year, or its quarterly 
statement by forty-five days after the end of each quarter, shall pay a late filing fee 
of one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175) per day for each day the statement 
remains outstanding after its due date. 

Domestic Entities: In assessing such statutory penalties, the Insurance 
Department will consider an annual statement or quarterly statement as being filed 
on the date postmarked by the United States Postal Service . Statements sent by 
private delivery service will be considered filed on the date physically received by 
the Department. 
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Foreign Entities : In assessing such statutory penalties, the Insurance 
Department will consider an annual statement or a quarterly statement as being 
filed on the date electronically received by the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. 

Please contact the Insurance Department Financial Analysis Division , 860­
297-3814 or ctinsdeptfinancial@ct.gov with any questions about this bulletin . 

Katharine L. Wade 
Insurance Commissioner 


