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TO: ALL COMPANIES LICENSED TO WRITE WORKERS' COMPENSATION AND 
EMPLOYERS' LIABILITY INSURANCE IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT. 

RE: USE OF DEDUCTIBLES FOR WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE; 
LARGE RISK ALTERNATIVE RATING OPTIONS 

This Bulletin is intended to update and supersede Bulletin PC-49 by adding information related 
to the use of deductibles and Large Risk Alternative Rating Options for workers' compensation 
Insurance. 

Deductibles for Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability insurance, subject to the 
Insurance Commissioner's approval, are permitted by §31-345a of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. This Bulletin sets forth the Connecticut Insurance Department's (the "Department") 
requirements for such plans. 

1.	 Claim Payments 
Insurers must pay workers' compensation claims in full and seek reimbursement of the 
deductible amount from the insured employer. The Department requires that deductible 
program form filings be accompanied by a certified statement, signed by an officer of the 
insurer, that it will comply with this requirement. 

2.	 Deductible Limit 
The National Council on Compensation Insurance ("NCCI") program filed on behalf of 
member insurance companies includes deductible limits up to $10,000. For large deductible 
limits of more than $10,000, each insurance company must file its deductible forms and 
endorsements with the Department. 

Large deductible rating plans are not required to be filed. Insurers must maintain records of 
their large deductible rating plans and records supporting the rating of individual insured 
employers. Such records must be available upon request for review by the Department. 

3.	 Assessments for the Connecticut Workers' Compensation Administration Fund 
Insurers must pay all Connecticut Workers' Compensation Administration Fund assessments 
based on the total claim amounts including the deductible portion of losses. Insurers may 
then seek reimbursement from the insured employer for the portion of the claim amount 
related to the deductible obligation. 

4.	 Assessments for Workers' Compensation Second Injury Fund 
Insurers shall collect and remit second injury fund assessments to the Office of State 
Treasurer in accordance with Connecticut law and regulations. 

www.ct.gov/cid
 
P.O. Box 816 • Hartford, CT 06142-0816
 

An Equal Opportunity Employer
 



5.	 Financial Reporting - Reconciliation 
Insurers shall report to the Department (and advisory organizations as applicable) annual 
statement loss data net of the deductible amount. 

6.	 Statistics and Experience Rating 
Insurers must comply with procedures for the filing of statistical data with NCCI and the 
calculation of experience rating modifications. 

7.	 Large Risk Alternative Rating Options for Workers' Compensation 
The Department does not prohibit Large Risk Alternative Rating Options ("LRARO") for 
workers' compensation and employers' liability provided the employer meets the eligibility 
thresholds pursuant to Rule 2 of the NCCI Retrospective Rating Plan Manual, as amended. 
Companies should refer to Insurance Department Bulletin PC-72 for workers' compensation 
rate, rule and form filing requirments. Under the NCCI Manual, insureds are eligible to be 
written on a LRARO basis provided the estimated standard premium for workers' 
compensation exceeds $100,000. This eligibility threshold applies whether or not coverage 
for workers' compensation is written on a multi-line basis. The Department acknowledges 
that LRARO's may be structured differently (or have different features) including plans 
based on a guaranteed cost or plans structured on a loss-sensitive basis provided the 
estimated standard premium for workers' compensation exceeds $100,000. 

8.	 LRARO Filings with the Department 
Insurers are required to file LRARO plans with Department including the plan's principal 
features; eligibility requirements; statistical code(s) to be used and a statement that the 
insurer will maintain documentation validating the eligibility of the insured and 
substantiating the premium amounts for individual employers using this rating approach. 
Records must be available for review by the Department upon request. 

9.	 LRARO StatisticslData Reporting 
As with standard workers' compensation policies, insurers must adhere to the approved 
NCCI manual rules including the uniform classification system and uniform experience in 
writing and reporting their LRARO business. 

Questions regarding this Bulletin may be directed to the Insurance Department's 
Property/Casualty Division at: 860.297.3867 or bye-mail to cid.pc(cv,ct.gov. 

Thomas B. Leonardi 
Insurance Commissioner 
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