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TO: All PERSONS OPERATING AS A THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR IN 

CONNECTICUT   
 
RE: PUBLIC ACT 11-58 – Third Party Administrator Licensing or Registration 

Requirements 
 
 

Effective October 1, 2011, Third Party Administrators (“TPA”) who operate in Connecticut will be 
required to be licensed with the Connecticut Insurance Department (“Department”).   Entities 
that are specifically exempt by statute from TPA licensure but that perform elements of TPA 
services must annually register with the Insurance Commissioner. 1 

Sections 20 through 36 of Connecticut Public Act 11-58 (“Act”), establish licensing and market 
conduct requirements for TPAs operating in Connecticut. The Act defines a TPA as a person 
who directly or indirectly underwrites, collects premiums or charges; or adjusts or settles claims 
on Connecticut residents with respect to life, annuity, or health coverage offered or provided by 
an insurer.  “Insurer” or “insurance company” is defined by the Act as any person or combination 
of persons doing any kind or form of insurance business other than a fraternal benefit society, 
including a captive insurer, a licensed insurance company, medical service corporation, hospital 
service corporation, health care center and a consumer dental plan that provides employee 
welfare benefits on a self-funded basis or as defined in section 38a-577 of the Connecticut 
general statutes. TPAs servicing lines of business other than life, annuity or health are not 
required to be licensed or registered under this law.    

The Act establishes that the Commissioner has authority to regulate those activities provided by 
a TPA for an insurer, as defined by the Act, that are undertaken for the administration of a self-
insured health plan that are consistent with the Commissioner’s authority to regulate insurance 
and the business of insurance as provided for in the Employee Retirement Income Security Act 
of 1974 (“ERISA”)2. The Act does not authorize the Commissioner to regulate the underlying 
self-insured benefit plan that is subject to ERISA. The Act sets forth minimum operating 
requirements for TPAs operating in Connecticut including, but not limited to: requiring written 
agreements between the insurer or other person utilizing the TPA’s services and the TPA, 
itemized and detailed billing for services, access to books and records, record retention 
requirements, and audit rights.  

 
1 Sec. 31 of PA 11-58 requires registration of those entities exempted from licensing requirements of 
section 20 or 21 
2 29 USC §1144 



Licensure Process/Requirements  
An applicant for a TPA license must submit to the Connecticut Insurance Department an 
electronic TPA application with the required $500 application fee through National Insurance 
Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com. This application will be available as of August 15, 
2011. Section 30 of the Act details the application requirements. Applicants should take care to 
submit complete applications to ensure timely processing. Applicants should pay specific 
attention to the surety bond requirement of the application. Applicants applying for a TPA 
license must include with their application evidence that a surety bond has been executed in an 
amount determined by the Commissioner sufficient to protect insurers and other persons 
utilizing the services of the TPA, but in no event less than the penal sum of $500,000. The 
surety bond requirement may be waived for applicants who submit the two most recent annual 
audited financial statements proving the applicant has a positive net worth.  
TPAs that administer self-insured governmental or church plans in this state are required to 
provide evidence of an additional surety bond, which will not be waived, in the greater of 
$100,000 or 10% of the aggregate total amount of self-funded coverage under the governmental 
or church plans handled in this state and all additional states in which the TPA is authorized to 
conduct business.  
Any license issued to a third-party administrator shall be in-force until September 30th of the 
next year.  
Effective October 1, 2011, any unlicensed TPA operating in Connecticut will be subject to 
administrative action for conducting business without a license.  
Connecticut Licensed Insurer Exemption/Registration Requirements 
A Connecticut licensed insurer that underwrites, collects premium or charges or adjusts or 
settles claims, except for its policyholders, subscribers and certificate holders is exempt from 
the bill’s requirements as long as they are providing TPA services for the lines of insurance for 
which that insurer is licensed in Connecticut.  These insurers must (1) be subject to the 
Connecticut Unfair Insurance Practices Act (“CUIPA)3, (2) respond to all Department complaint 
inquiries within 10 days of receiving the inquiry, and (3) obtain a customer’s prior written 
consent for advertising mentioning the customer.  The Commissioner’s authority to regulate the 
business of insurance activities as provided in ERISA continues to apply to these licensed 
insurers.  
 
Registration Requirements   
Section 31 of the Act requires that a person who is specifically exempted from being licensed as 
a TPA pursuant to sections 20 or 21 of the Act is required to register annually with the 
commissioner not later than October first on a form designated by the Commissioner. This 
includes the Connecticut licensed insurers exempted from TPA license requirements. 
This registration form can be found on our website at www.ct.gov/cid under “Forms”. The 
registration requirement enables the Department to identify those entities that may have similar 
TPA characteristics, but are not subject to licensing because of other state or federal regulatory 
oversight. There is no registration fee. 
 
The Department will be posting on the Department website those TPAs that are licensed and 
registered to enable individuals who may want to enter into business relationships to know 
which entities are operating lawfully in Connecticut.  
 

                                                 
3 Chapter 704 of the Connecticut General Statutes 

http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.ct.gov/cid/lib/cid/tpa_registration_application.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/cid


Annual Report Filing Requirements  
Effective July 1, 2012, each TPA licensed under this Act is required to file an annual report for 
the preceding calendar year with the Commissioner on or before July first of each year with a 
fee of $100 for each annual report filed.  The annual report shall contain such information as the 
Commissioner prescribes, including evidence that the surety bond required remains in force. 
The information contained in such report shall be verified by at least two officers of the third-
party administrator. The Commissioner must complete a review of each TPA’s annual report no 
later than September 1 and is required to issue a certification that the TPA is either in good 
standing or note any deficiencies, or update the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners electronic database to indicate that the TPA is in good standing or deficient in 
compliance with state law. The Department will use the annual report review as a major 
component of the license renewal review. An annual report format will be posted on the 
Department website annually under “Forms”. 
 
Renewal 
TPA licenses and registrations must be renewed annually prior to October 1. Renewal fee for a 
TPA license is $350 and a complete application must be submitted each year. There is no 
renewal fee for registrations.  
 
Examination/Enforcement 
TPAs will be subject to Market Conduct examinations and administrative actions.  
 
Questions 
Questions should be directed to the attention of the Consumer Services and Business 
Regulation Division at cid.tpa@ct.gov.      
 
 
 

                                                                                   
       Thomas B. Leonardi 
       Insurance Commissioner 
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