
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
 

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

BULLETIN HC - 77 

May 11, 2010 

TO:	 All Health Insurers and Health Care Centers Authorized to Conduct Group 

Health Insurance Business in Connecticut 

SUBJECT:	 Connecticut Public Act 10-13 

Continuation of Group Health Insurance Coverage 

The Connecticut Insurance Department is providing the following information to health 

insurers and health care centers doing group health insurance business in Connecticut 

regarding group health insurance policies issued in Connecticut to employer group 

policyholders. This Bulletin is the notice required under section 38a-477a of the 

Connecticut General Statutes with respect to this benefit. 

The Governor signed the above Act into law on May 5, 2010, and the Act is effective 

May 5, 2010.The law now permits employees/group certificate-holders who lose 

coverage under Connecticut fully insured small employer and large employer group 

health insurance policies to elect continuation of coverage for up to 30 months, in the 

event of layoff, reduction of hours, leave of absence, or termination of employment, 

except in the event of death of the employee or termination of employment due to gross 

misconduct. Previously Connecticut had followed the federal rule of 18 months for these 

events. 

The law applies to former employees covered under Connecticut fully insured small 

employer and large employer group health insurance policies who are currently on state 

or federal (COBRA) continuation as well as individuals who elect continuation coverage 

on or after May 5, 2010, due to one of the qualifying events described in the preceding 

paragraph. As an example, if a former employee is in the middle of a current 18 month 

continuation period, that individual now is eligible for continuation of an additional 12 

months for a total of 30 months (provided the individual pays premium on a timely basis 

and does not become eligible for other group health insurance). 

The law applies to group health insurance policies providing hospital expense coverage, 

medical-surgical expense coverage, hospital indemnity coverage, major medical 

expense coverage, hospital and medical service plan contracts, and hospital and 

medical coverage provided to subscribers of a health care center. The law does not 

apply to dental, vision or prescription drug coverage, where such coverage is in a 

separate free-standing policy. The law does apply if the dental, vision, or prescription 

drug coverage is combined with, and included under, the group health policy. 

Each health insurer and health care center that issues group health insurance policies of 

the types specified in the preceding paragraph in Connecticut must comply with these 

new continuation provisions. Such health insurers and health care centers, in 

conjunction with their employer group policyholders, must provide notice of the new 

continuation rules to impacted individuals within 60 days from the effective date of the 

Act (by July 4th). 
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The law applies regardless of the size of the employer group to which the Connecticut 

group health insurance policy is issued (under and over 20 employees). The law applies 

to Connecticut group health policies issued to any type of employer, including private 

employers, public employers, non-profit employers, and church plans. The law does not 

apply to self-insured employer health plans. 

The Department emphasizes to health insurers and health care centers that prompt 

action is required to comply with these new requirements. 

Please note that, although Connecticut has extended the maximum continuation period 

to 30 months as described herein, the maximum period of premium subsidy available for 

qualifying laid -off employees on or before May 31, 2010, under federal law, is 15 

months. Therefore eligible individuals would be responsible for full payment of the 

continuation premium for the time period after the federal subsidy expires (up to 15 

months). 

Please also note that the new Public Act only applies to the qualifying events listed 

herein, and there are no changes to continuation rules for other situations, including but 

not limited to, death of a spouse, and cessation of dependent eligibility. 

All entities are reminded that all policy forms are subject to prior approval. Policies are 

reviewed in the order of date received by the Insurance Department. For policy forms 

that are already approved, you are asked to file an endorsement or amendatory rider to 

be attached to the approved policy in order to expedite the review process. Entities 

should file a red lined version as well as two clean copies along with a postage paid 

envelope of sufficient size to receive a stamped copy. Please note, in view of timing 

issues, it is necessary for health insurers and health care centers to administer 

continuation in accordance with the new law immediately, prior to forms filings and 

approval. However, health insurers and health care centers are encouraged to file forms 

promptly showing the change from 18 months to 30 months. Please contact the 

Insurance Department Life and Health Division at cid.lh@ct.gov with questions about 

forms filing only. 

Please contact the Insurance Department Consumer Affairs Division at 

cid.ca@ct.gov or at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900 with all other questions. 
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