
       

      
                                

                                      
                                

                         

                             
                                 

                 

                         
                           
           

                 

                     
           

                     
                 

                 
               

               

               

                 
               

                 
                 
           

                 
               

             

                 
     

                 
       

               
         
           
             

               
             

                   
                 

          

Connecticut Insurance Department 
ConContinuatinuationtion ofof GrGroupoup HealthHealth CovCovereraaggee ExpandedExpanded toto 3030 MonMonthsths 

— Frequently Asked Questions— 

On May 5, 2010, the Governor signed Public Act 10‐13, as passed by the Connecticut legislature, into law. This 
law extended the maximum continuation period for certain qualifying events from 18 months to 30 months. 
Previously, Connecticut had followed the federal rule of 18 months for these events. 

Now, employees/group certificate holders under Connecticut fully insured plans who lose coverage due to a 
layoff, reduction of hours, leave of absence, or termination of employment (except for gross misconduct) can elect 
continuation of coverage for up to 30 months. 

The Insurance Department is providing the following questions and answers containing the Department’s 
interpretation of the new law to assist consumers, health insurers, COBRA administrators, producers, and 
Connecticut employers in understanding this law. 

1. What is the effective date of the law? 

This law became effective on May 5, 2010. Any qualified 
beneficiary who elects Connecticut Continuation coverage 
or Federal COBRA coverage on or after May 5, 2010 is 
eligible for continuation coverage under the new law. This 
law also applies to qualified beneficiaries who already had 
coverage through state continuation or Federal COBRA on 
May 5, 2010. (See example in item 5). 

2. Which plans are subject to this law? 

All fully insured group health insurance policies issued in 
Connecticut to employer group policyholders are subject to 
this law. This encompasses small and large employer 
groups of all sizes, including groups that employ both 
under and over 20 employees. 

The law applies to Connecticut group health policies issued 
to any type employer, including private employers, public 
employers, non‐profit employers, and church plans. 

Please note, this law does not apply to self‐insured 
employer health plans. 

3. What types of group health insurance policies are 
subject to the law? 

This law applies to group health insurance policies 
providing hospital expense coverage, medical‐surgical 
expense coverage, hospital indemnity coverage, major 
medical expense coverage, hospital and medical service 
plan contracts, and hospital and medical coverage provided 
to subscribers of a health care center. 

This law does not apply to dental or vision coverage 
(except where coverage is included under the group health 

policy).  Similarly,   separate  freestanding  prescription  drug  
plans   that  are  not   included  under   the  group  health  policy  
are  also  exempt.  

.  What  qualifying  events  are  covered  under  the  law?  

Qualified  beneficiaries  who  experience  a   loss  of  coverage  
due   to  a  qualifying  event  listed  below  are  now  eligible   to  
elect  continuation  of  coverage  for  up  to  30  months:  

• Layoff  • Leave  of  absence  

• Reduction  of  hours   • Termination  of  employment  

Please   note,   employees   terminated  for  reasons   of  gross  
misconduct  are  not  eligible  for   continuation   coverage  of  
any  kind.  

.  How  will  this   law  impact  qualified  beneficiaries  who  
are   already  on  Connecticut  Continuation  or  Federal  
COBRA?  

As  an  example,   if  a  former  employee   is   in  the  middle  of  a  
current  18‐month  continuation  period  as  of  May  5,  2010,  
that   individual   is  now  eligible  for  an  additional  12  months  
for  a  total  of  30  months  of  continuation  coverage.  

.  How  does  this   law  apply  to  other  qualifying  events  
such  as  death  of  a   spouse,  loss  of  eligibility   of  a  
spouse,  or  loss  of  dependent  child  status  under  the  
plan?  

The   law  applies  only   to   layoffs,   reductions   in  hours,   leave  
of  absence  or  termination  of  employment.    There  are  no  
changes  to  continuation  rules  for  other  qualifying  events.    
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7. How does this law impact the continuation rules for 
qualified beneficiaries who are determined to be 
disabled at some point during the first 60 days of 
continuation coverage and are subsequently 
awarded Social Security Disability? 

Under prior continuation rules, qualified beneficiaries 
who are determined to be disabled during the first 60 
days of continuation coverage and then are awarded 
Social Security Disability are eligible for 29 months of 
coverage (18 months + 11 month extension). 

Since the new law provides continuation coverage for a 
longer period of time than the maximum coverage 
available to qualified disabled beneficiaries, the 30 
months will prevail. There will be no additional extension 
of benefits beyond the 30 months due to disability, and 
the qualified disabled beneficiary may only be charged 
102% of premium during the 30 month period. 

8. How does the law impact the continuation rules for 
qualified beneficiaries who experience a second 
qualifying event? 

An extension of coverage is available to spouses and 
dependent children who elect continuation coverage and 
then experience a second qualifying event. To qualify for 
a second qualifying event, the plan must be notified 
within 60 days. The combination of the initial 
continuation period and the second qualifying event 
continuation period may not exceed a total maximum 
period of 36 months. 

For example, if the initial qualifying event is termination 
of employment (30‐month continuation period) and the 
second qualifying event is the death of an employee, the 
covered spouse and/or dependent children are eligible to 
extend the initial coverage period of 30 months to the 
total maximum period of 36 months. 

9. Does the law extend the premium subsidy available 
to laid‐off workers under the Federal COBRA 
Subsidy under ARRA? 

No, the Connecticut law is separate and distinct from the 
Federal COBRA subsidy program. Eligible individuals 
would be responsible for full payment of the continuation 
premium for any time period after the federal subsidy 
expires. 

10. What if my plan is self‐insured, will this law apply? 

No, this is a state insurance law and it will not apply to 
self‐insured plans. 

11. What if I am a Connecticut resident, but my 
employer  plan  is   issued  in   another  state?  Am  I  
eligible   for  the   30   months   of  Continuation  
Coverage?  

No,  this  law  applies  only  to  fully  insured  plans  with  group  
policies   issued  in   the  State  of  Connecticut.     Connecticut  
residents  will  not  be  eligible  unless  they  are  enrolled  in  a  
Connecticut  based  group  policy.  

12.  What  if  my   plan  is  issued  in  the   State  of  
Connecticut,  but  I  am  not  a  resident  of  Connecticut?   
Is  my  employer  required  to  offer  me  30  months  of  
Continuation  Coverage?  

Yes,  all  fully   insured  group  health   plans   issued   in  
Connecticut   to  employer  group  policyholders  are  subject  
to  the  law  regardless  of  where  the  employee  resides.  

13.  I  work   for   a   large  employer  who   provides  
continuation  coverage  under  Federal  COBRA.   Is  my  
plan  required  to  follow  the  new  Connecticut  law?  

Yes,  if   your   large  employer   provides   coverage  under  a  
fully  insured  Connecticut  plan,  it  is  required  to  follow  the  
new   Connecticut  law  and  provide   the   30   months  
continuation  coverage,  regardless  of  the  size  of  company.   

14.  How  much  may  my  employer  charge   me   for  
Continuation  Coverage?  

Employers   are  permitted   to   charge   the   full   cost  of  the  
premium,  plus  a  2%  administrative  charge,  for  a   total  of  
102%  of  the  premium.   

15.  What  if   my   Connecticut  Continuation  or  Federal  
COBRA  terminated  before   May  5,   2010?     Are  
employers  required  to  offer  me   the  opportunity  to  
re‐enroll  for  coverage  on  a  retroactive  basis?  

No,  the  law  applies  only  to  qualified  beneficiaries  who  are  
effective  on  Connecticut  Continuation  or  Federal  COBRA  
as  of  May   5,   2010.     There  is   no   provision  in   the   law  to  
reinstate  coverage  retroactively.  

16.  How  can  employers  and  COBRA  administrators  
provide  notification  of  the  Connecticut  law?  

The   Connecticut   Insurance   Department’s  website  
www.ct.gov/cid  has   further  information  regarding  Public  
Act  10‐13   including   a  model  “Connecticut   Continuation  
Coverage  Election  Notice”  that  details  coverage  under  the  
law.   

 

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact the Insurance Department Consumer Affairs Division at 
1‐800‐203‐3447 or e‐mail your inquiry with a daytime telephone number to cid.ca@ct.gov. 
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1.	What is the effective date of the law?
This law became effective on May 5, 2010.  Any qualified beneficiary who elects Connecticut Continuation coverage or Federal COBRA coverage on or after May 5, 2010 is eligible for continuation coverage under the new law. This law also applies to qualified beneficiaries who already had coverage through state continuation or Federal COBRA on May 5, 2010. (See example in item 5).
2.	Which plans are subject to this law?
All fully insured group health insurance policies issued in Connecticut to employer group policyholders are subject to this law.  This encompasses small and large employer groups of all sizes, including groups that employ both under and over 20 employees.  
The law applies to Connecticut group health policies issued to any type employer, including private employers, public employers, non-profit employers, and church plans.  
Please note, this law does not apply to self-insured employer health plans.
3.	What types of group health insurance policies are subject to the law?
This law applies to group health insurance policies providing hospital expense coverage, medical-surgical expense coverage, hospital indemnity coverage, major medical expense coverage, hospital and medical service plan contracts, and hospital and medical coverage provided to subscribers of a health care center.
This law does not apply to dental or vision coverage (except where coverage is included under the group health policy). Similarly, separate freestanding prescription drug plans that are not included under the group health policy are also exempt.
4.	What qualifying events are covered under the law?
Qualified beneficiaries who experience a loss of coverage due to a qualifying event listed below are now eligible to elect continuation of coverage for up to 30 months:
Please note, employees terminated for reasons of gross misconduct are not eligible for continuation coverage of any kind.
5.	How will this law impact qualified beneficiaries who are already on Connecticut Continuation or Federal COBRA?
As an example, if a former employee is in the middle of a current 18-month continuation period as of May 5, 2010, that individual is now eligible for an additional 12 months for a total of 30 months of continuation coverage.
6.	How does this law apply to other qualifying events such as death of a spouse, loss of eligibility of a spouse, or loss of dependent child status under the plan?
The law applies only to layoffs, reductions in hours, leave of absence or termination of employment.  There are no changes to continuation rules for other qualifying events.  
7.	How does this law impact the continuation rules for qualified beneficiaries who are determined to be disabled at some point during the first 60 days of continuation coverage and are subsequently awarded Social Security Disability?
Under prior continuation rules, qualified beneficiaries who are determined to be disabled during the first 60 days of continuation coverage and then are awarded Social Security Disability are eligible for 29 months of coverage (18 months + 11 month extension).
Since the new law provides continuation coverage for a longer period of time than the maximum coverage available to qualified disabled beneficiaries, the 30 months will prevail. There will be no additional extension of benefits beyond the 30 months due to disability, and the qualified disabled beneficiary may only be charged 102% of premium during the 30 month period.
8.	How does the law impact the continuation rules for qualified beneficiaries who experience a second qualifying event?
An extension of coverage is available to spouses and dependent children who elect continuation coverage and then experience a second qualifying event.  To qualify for a second qualifying event, the plan must be notified within 60 days. The combination of the initial continuation period and the second qualifying event continuation period may not exceed a total maximum period of 36 months.
For example, if the initial qualifying event is termination of employment (30-month continuation period) and the second qualifying event is the death of an employee, the covered spouse and/or dependent children are eligible to extend the initial coverage period of 30 months to the total maximum period of 36 months.  
9.	Does the law extend the premium subsidy available to laid-off workers under the Federal COBRA Subsidy under ARRA?
No, the Connecticut law is separate and distinct from the Federal COBRA subsidy program.  Eligible individuals would be responsible for full payment of the continuation premium for any time period after the federal subsidy expires.
10.	What if my plan is self-insured, will this law apply?
No, this is a state insurance law and it will not apply to  self-insured plans.
11.	What if I am a Connecticut resident, but my employer plan is issued in another state? Am I eligible for the 30 months of Continuation Coverage?
No, this law applies only to fully insured plans with group policies issued in the State of Connecticut.   Connecticut residents will not be eligible unless they are enrolled in a Connecticut based group policy.
12.	What if my plan is issued in the State of Connecticut, but I am not a resident of Connecticut?  Is my employer required to offer me 30 months of Continuation Coverage?
Yes, all fully insured group health plans issued in Connecticut to employer group policyholders are subject to the law regardless of where the employee resides.
13.	I work for a large employer who provides continuation coverage under Federal COBRA.  Is my plan required to follow the new Connecticut law?
Yes, if your large employer provides coverage under a fully insured Connecticut plan, it is required to follow the new Connecticut law and provide the 30 months continuation coverage, regardless of the size of company. 
14.	How much may my employer charge me for Continuation Coverage?
Employers are permitted to charge the full cost of the premium, plus a 2% administrative charge, for a total of 102% of the premium. 
15.	What if my Connecticut Continuation or Federal COBRA terminated before May 5, 2010?  Are employers required to offer me the opportunity to re-enroll for coverage on a retroactive basis?
No, the law applies only to qualified beneficiaries who are effective on Connecticut Continuation or Federal COBRA as of May 5, 2010.  There is no provision in the law to reinstate coverage retroactively.
16.	How can employers and COBRA administrators provide notification of the Connecticut law?
The Connecticut Insurance Department’s website www.ct.gov/cid has further information regarding Public Act 10-13 including a model “Connecticut Continuation Coverage Election Notice” that details coverage under the law. 
On May 5, 2010, the Governor signed Public Act 10-13, as passed by the Connecticut legislature, into law.  This law extended the maximum continuation period for certain qualifying events from 18 months to 30 months.  Previously, Connecticut had followed the federal rule of 18 months for these events.
Now, employees/group certificate holders under Connecticut fully insured plans who lose coverage due to a layoff, reduction of hours, leave of absence, or termination of employment (except for gross misconduct) can elect continuation of coverage for up to 30 months.  
The Insurance Department is providing the following questions and answers containing the Department’s interpretation of the new law to assist consumers, health insurers, COBRA administrators, producers, and Connecticut employers in understanding this law.
— Frequently Asked Questions—
Layoff
Reduction of hours
Leave of absence
Termination of employment
If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact the Insurance Department Consumer Affairs Division at 1-800-203-3447 or e-mail your inquiry with a daytime telephone number to cid.ca@ct.gov.


