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State of Connecticut 
Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities 

 
Policy re: Expense of Copies and Scanning of Public Records 

 
Effective August 1, 2018 

 
The Commission on Human Rights Opportunities (“CHRO”) has adopted the following 
policies with regard to the expense of copying and scanning non-exempt public records 
responsive to requests made under the Connecticut Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”). 
 

 
1. For copies of non-exempt records responsive to a FOIA request, the CHRO may 

require prepayment if the fee is estimated to be $10 or more.1  
 

2. Where a non-exempt record responsive to a FOIA request is only available in non-
electronic form, or the requester does not have access to a computer, the CHRO 
will charge a fee of 25 cents per page copied.2  
 

3. Where a non-exempt record responsive to a FOIA request is available in electronic 
form, the CHRO will provide an electronic copy of the record unless the requester 
does not have access to a computer or specifically requests that the record be 
provided in non-electronic form.3 

a. The CHRO will not charge a fee for the provision of electronic records in 
electronic form where such records may be readily searched for and 
retrieved without the need for formatting or programming.  

b. Where formatting or programming is required, the CHRO will charge an 
amount equal to the hourly salary of all CHRO employees that engaged in 
the formatting or programming. 

c. If the requester requests that the electronic records be provided on a disc 
or other electronic storage device, the CHRO will charge a fee consisting of 
the actual cost of the disc or storage device. 

d. If the requester does not have access to a computer or specifically requests 
that records be provided in non-electronic form, the CHRO will provide a 
non-electronic copy and charge a fee of 25 cents per page copied. 

 
4. Where certified copies of non-exempt records responsive to a FOIA request are 

requested, the CHRO will charge $1 for the first page of the certified copy, and 50 
cents per page for each additional page after the first.4 

                                            
1 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(c). 
2 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(a)(A). 
3 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(a); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(b); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-211(a).  
4 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(e). 
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5. Any individual may copy a non-exempt record responsive to a FOIA request 
through the use of a hand-held scanner.5  

a. To the extent the records being scanned are already in non-electronic form 
and do not require the production of a non-electronic copy prior to being 
scanned, the CHRO will charge a fee of $10 per instance in which the 
individual scans copies of records at the CHRO with a hand-held scanner.  

b. To the extent the records are in electronic form or otherwise require the 
production of a non-electronic copy prior to being scanned, the CHRO will 
charge a fee of 25 cents per copied page to be scanned, but not to exceed 
$20 per instance in which the individual scans copies of records at the 
CHRO with a hand-held scanner. 

 
6. The CHRO will waive any fee provided for in this policy when the requester is an 

indigent individual.6 
a. For members of the general public, an individual will be considered indigent 

by the CHRO if (1) such individual receives public assistance,6a or (2) such 
individual’s income is less than the Federal Poverty Level in effect at the 
time of the request. 7 

b. For inmates in the custody of the Connecticut Department of Correction, an 
individual will be considered indigent by the CHRO if such individual meets 
the definition of indigence utilized by the Department of Correction at the 
time of the request for indigent inmates making FOIA requests.6b8 

 
 
 

                                            
5 As used here, a “hand-held scanner” means a battery operated electronic scanning 
device the use of which (1) leaves no mark or impression on the record, and (2) does not 
unreasonably interfere with the operation of the CHRO. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(g). 
6 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 1-212(d)(1). 
6a As used here, “public assistance” includes, but is not limited to, state-administered 
general assistance, temporary family assistance, aid to the aged, blind, or disabled, 
supplemental nutrition assistance, or Supplemental Security Income. 
6b See Dept. of Correction Administrative Directive 3.10.8.b. 


